We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice rude management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Ranked #93 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Elsie. The manager here needs to go to hospitality school she was so worried about the bottom line she forgot that customers are the bottom line. Breakfast if there is any out after 845 was the same thing for three days the milk was always warm and if there was any yogurt. There wrere only a few.the pool was filthy they said they cleaned it everyday I watched till the pool opened Friday no one.Saturday. no one.Monday no one.the staff here tries to help bit they are affraid to.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank usdantravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Dear usdantravler,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 179 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

This hotel is great and is conveniently located next to I-5, I-805, and about 10 minutes from I-15.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are so delighted to hear that you thought our hotel was “great!” We strive to work hard in providing well maintatined rooms as well as exceptional quality service so we are glad that you took notice, As you mentioned, we are located just minutes away from our major freeways, making it very convenient for our guests to get to San Diego’s famous attractions. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here for spring break and loved it. At first we thought the pool was a little small, but because it was so clean and warm my kids were in it constantly. Same with the hot tub. Breakfast was they typical fair, but always kept stocked. Even the TV was porn free, which is often not the case for this franchise. Staff was very friendly, and there is plenty of eating options very close by (and a Chili's accross the parking lot). The place seemed new, and well kept. Very close to all the San Diego attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dadsthoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are very delighted to hear that we are a “great place and great for kids.” As you mentioned, we have a pool and whirlpool at our property and are so happy that your kids took advantage of it. We strive to work hard in providing well maintained rooms as well providing exceptional quality service so we are extremely satisfied to hear that our staff was “very friendly.” Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley and letting other travelers know about your stay. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Clean & quiet rooms. Great location, employees, breakfast, and best of all,...a GREAT pool that was heated and very clean. There's a Chili's restaurant in the parking lot. I highly recommend this property for all your San Diego plans. Only a few minutes to downtown and the Zoo.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are very pleased to hear that we are a “great hotel!” As you mentioned, we do offer a Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast, as well a heated pool and are glad that you took advantage of these amenities. We are also fortunate to be in a great location, just minutes away from Downtown and the World Famous San Diego Zoo. We strive to work hard in providing well maintained rooms and exceptional quality service and are glad that you took notice. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento and letting other travelers know about your stay. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My stay was OK but two areas that I was extremely disappointed with were the breakfast and environmental consciousness:

1. Breakfast: The food was very low quality and if you are vegetarian/vegan, there is absolutely nothing you can eat except for bread and a banana.

2. Environment: All the plates, cups, and utensils for both breakfast and in the rooms are all styrofoam or plastic and not recyclable. In the rooms, each cup and plate are also individually packaged in plastic bags. The environmental footprint of these hotels must be staggering. This was shocking to myself and others.

That said, I do agree with other reviewers that the front desk and staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vanc0uver-BC-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear Vanc0uver-BC-Canada,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to meet your expectation.

We thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the breakfast and the environment being set. Again, I would like to apologize and thank you for taking the time to write to us as we believe we can only improve our services through our guest feedback.

We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Sincerely,
Bon V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Diego North, CA
0.4 km away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
18 km away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area
6 km away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#73 of 286 in San Diego
785 reviews
44.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley

Address: 5925 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $160 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. Located in the heart of Sorrento Valley, a high-tech community of the U.S. with companies such as Qualcomm, Motorola, Sony Online Entertainment, and Texas Instruments. This San Diego hotel is ideal for the business travel visiting this dynamic area and is looking for first class accommodations that are centrally located to all that San Diego has to offer.If you are coming to San Diego for pleasure the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley is ideal for couples and families that want be near all the San Diego attractions, beaches and night life. Be sure to visit one of our treasured attractions such as the world famous San Diego Zoo Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld San Diego California, LEGOLAND California or soak in the sun at one of our prestige beaches like La Jolla Shores or Pacific Beach. If you re into the night life be sure to wine and dine your self in the Gaslamp Quarter in beautiful downtown San Diego. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley we like to make sure our guest receive excellent customer service. We provide a FREE Express Start Breakfast Bar, FREE high speed wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE Shuttle Service (within a 5 mile radius) and FREE local calls.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing