We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Worth a whole day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of USS Midway Museum

USS Midway Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.00*
and up
Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum
Ranked #1 of 419 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The USS Midway Museum is San Diego’s newest visitor attraction, this real naval aircraft carrier offers a once in a lifetime opportunity for everyone. Guests of all ages can enjoy a self-guided audio tour featuring 60 exhibits highlighting this “city at sea” and 25 restored aircrafts. Explore galleys, officer’s country and sleeping quarters of a 69,000 ton ship, naturally located in Navy Town USA, a visit to the Midway is uniquely San Diego!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Worth a whole day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

A lot to see. Exciting, interesting, spectacular... allow the whole day, whether you have kids or not, you will enjoy it.
The people who handle the tours and explanation are great!
People at the shop are not.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank LaurentBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16,828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,839
    3,555
    391
    25
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“uss midway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

this was interesting and is on a massive scale but easy to get lost in, after 2 hours was enough.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank geordiegirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schrocket
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A sense of military history and life on the sea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Our visit to the Midway happened on their busiest weekend of the year and yet the very enthusiastic volunteer docents kept things very interesting and moving smoothly. Most of our guides had direct experience on a military vessel and their insider insights gave us a real feel What happens on an aircraft carrier and how it works.

The deck houses many historic aircraft and the ship is anchored in San Diego Harbour with great views of San Diego and the Pacific. Visitors can operate flight simulators on one deck for an additional fee. There's also a canteen where meal and snacks are available. Allow at least two hours for a complete tour. There are a few areas without handicapped access, and some fairly steep stairs to areas within the ship.
Our group aged from teens through retired thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Schrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
296 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice Morning to Tour an Amazing Ship”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

My conference was over and I had all day friday to see the sites of downtown San Diego. I decided I was going to see the USS Midway. I read online about February being Museum month and you could get a pass at Macy's for 50% off most museums in San Diego so I picked that up earlier in the week. I got to the Midway at 10am when it opened and paid my half price ticket and preceeded to tour the ship for the next 2 hours. Make sure you take the Island tour. it is guided by retired navy gentlemen. The rest of the tour is self guided, but they have an audio system for you to use and return. I didn't get that, but wish I had. The flight deck was covered with all types of carrier planes and helicoptors for you to see also. I would recommend this experience. It was facinating.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank RLMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville, FL
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A step back in naval history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

As a US Navy veteran, I thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to show my wife what shipboard life was like 50 years ago.

The audio tour is well constructed and full of interesting facts. There are plenty of docents throughout the ship who can answer any question. Get there early before the line to visit the flight bridge get too lengthy.

I actually found a photo of a former neighbor who was an aviator aboard the Midway.

This was the highlight of our vacation in San Diego.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank jc95164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed USS Midway Museum also viewed

 

Been to USS Midway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing