We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice convention hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #44 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice convention hotel!”
Reviewed 21 March 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in early March as I was attending a conference at the SD Convention Center. We stayed in the South Tower on the 24th floor. Got a pretty good view of the bay and the city ~ it was awesome. The only downside is that even being that far up, we could still hear the train nightly.

Ate breakfast at the hotel. The breakfast buffet is pretty good with made to order omelettes and waffles. Also had dinner at Roy's which was good however portions are small for the price you pay. When the restaurant fills up, it gets pretty noisy.

Check in was a breeze and the employees are very friendly and helpful. Room had two double beds and the bathroom is huge. Shower pressure was weak. Coffee maker was nice.

The walk to the convention center took about 5-8 minutes. Could pick up coffee on my way to the center since the Starbucks was in the South tower.

All in all, this is a very nice hotel in an area where you can walk to many restaurants or just stroll along the waterfront.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank livitup10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,945
    1,328
    369
    133
    99
See reviews for
706
771
116
1,794
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This is what a business hotel in a big city should be. Modern attractive decor, clean comfortable rooms and gorgeous city and harbor views. You can't beat the location, right on the harbor promenade and across the street from Gaslamp Quarter.Breakfast is good, but the hotel gets a lot of business traffic being located right next to San Diego Convention Center, so you may have to wait to be seated between 8-9 a.m.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with harbor views. The North Tower has balconies in most harbor facing rooms. The har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlafBig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Just returned from a mini vacation in SD this past week and stayed at the San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina. We stayed in the North Tower and our room overlooked the water & the northern part of SD (it was so pretty at night). Our room was right by the elevator which worried me at first, but we never once heard the elevator, so it was not a problem!

The hotel is right beside the Convention Centre, and is a 2 minute walk to the Gaslamp District which has numerous bars, pubs, classy restaurants, regular restaurants, burger joints, nightlife...pretty much anything you are looking for and more! Hotel is right in front of the Trolly stop, and about a 5 minute walk to Seaport Village, 5 minute walk to Petco Park, 5 minute walk to the mall and to a grocery store, and a 10 minute walk to the USS Midway. No need for a car!

Pros of Hotel Stay
-room was very very clean (I am very particular about the cleanliness of hotel rooms I stay in)
-easy to get everywhere in SD from this hotel
-safe available in room
-balcony overlooking the water
-large & clean bathroom with a large shower
-actually get hot water in the shower which is not always the case in hotels
-property is smoke free
-fridge in room
-hair dryer in room is a normal one, not one of the mini dinky ones that are useless
-staff very friendly & helpful with directions & suggestions
-restaurants & lounge in hotel looked decent and were busy, but we never ate at them; we ate in Seaport Village and Gaslamp District restaurants
-coffee in the room is actually drinkable! Who would have thought?

Cons of Hotel Stay
-wifi is NOT free (this is my first hotel I have stayed at where it wasn't free! wft!)...limited free wifi in SD actually which was a surprise for us
-mattress is not the most comfortable, but it is a hotel after all, and nothing compares to your own bed
-the trains in the middle of the night are LOUD...woke us up each night; rail yard is just to the south of the Convention Centre...and a train goes right through the city at night honking its horn non-stop for about 10 minutes. We live close to a rail yard and have NEVER experienced noise like this in the middle of the night or even during the day for that matter!
-low water pressure...we were on 16th floor, not sure if this had anything to do with it, but shower was lacking water pressure

I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again. We had a great experience except for the trains at night and the lack of wifi. If we were to return, I would ask for a room that is quieter and protected more from the sound of the trains at night (probably a pool view room would be fine). My overall rating for this hotel would be a 5, but I have given a 4 because of the train noise at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room that overlooks the pool - should help cut down on train noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blu_eyes00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

No matter if you have city view or bayside view rooms each one offers it's own visual delight! Service is excellent. The hotel is right next to Seaport Village which has cheap and expensive food and shopping. Also a few blocks away from the Gaslamp district which offers more food and shopping. No reason for a cab....except back to the airport ...which a one way cab ride is less than $15.

Room Tip: Any room would be fine! I was nervous as my room was right next to the elevator but never heard any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warminmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Spent one night in the hotel for a workshop. Beautiful property. Numerous restaurants within easy walking distance. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,322 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#79 of 278 in San Diego
4,888 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
1,999 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Property: Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): $301 - $941
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing