We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$142
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$169
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$192
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kimpton Solamar Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kings Inn San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$192
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$296
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$279
US$260
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$247
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$236/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
171
148
57
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
148
57
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttleshuttle servicebedroom suiteshuttle vanclose to the airportfree breakfastamtrak stationlittle italyfire pitwalking distanceseaport villagefront desk staffcruise terminalstar of indiasofa bedconvention centergas lamp
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2017

It's an older and much more modest property than their sister locations, but it's well-maintained and is closely located to many of the waterfront attractions downtown. The included breakfast and small dinner/snack events in the lobby encourage mingling and an overall good community feel.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that you enjoyed some of our amenities during your stay. Our staff works hard to always ensure that our property is well maintained.

We would be honored to host you again sometime in the future.

Sincerely,
Steven C
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

We had a very good stay. The staff was very nice, especially a maintenance man who helped my husband with an AC issue. We had a bit of trouble maintaining the temp in the room, but that may have been our inability to work the thermostat! We had all the room we needed. I joked with my husband that I could downsize to a place about that size. The room attendants kept things very tidy and were friendly. Breakfast was included and there were a fair amount of choices. Located close to the airport and walking distance from downtown/Little Italy. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank idiganthro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

idiganthro,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn San Diego Downtown.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and that our staff took great care of you during your visit.

We would be honored to host you the next time you visit San Diego.

Sincerely,
Steven C
General Manager
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

The staff is so friendly and accommodating here. Great location next to Little Italy, too. The rooms were perfect and the complimentary breakfast was perfect. My colleagues and I loved having the space to socialize outside of our conference.Definitely will stay again when I am in San Diego!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank melcom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn San Diego Downtown.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Complimentary Breakfast and were able to take advantage of our social and meeting space.

We would be honored to host you again in the future.


Sincerely,
Steven C
General Manager
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

This was a good hotel for us to stay in in San Diego as it was so close to all the attractions. It was 5 minutes drive from the Zoo and Balboa Park and 10 mins from Sea World. We had a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen. There were two bathrooms which was great with 5 people. The guest laundry was a big plus and the price was very reasonable. The breakfast was adequate but the seating available to eat was a bit small to accomodate all the guests. Be aware that parking is available but it costs an additional $20 per night. There were not many places to eat near the hotel but they do run a shuttle into downtown.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Meegan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you found our hotel convenient to the many wonderful attractions in San Diego. We were also happy to hear that the Two-Bedroom accommodations worked well for your family. I will continue to work with our leadership team in an effort to resolve all challenges and ensure our guest have a comfortable and memorable hotel experience.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Steven C
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Rachel, working at front desk on the date of Thanksgiving, is a wonderful person, and good feeling flows from that very beginning.

My wife and I traveled with our dog, and this place is dog friendly meaning that they don't sneakily put cleaning fee on top of your bill.

Location wise, it's about 10 minutes distance to the mission bay allowing you to walk your dog in a spacious area. From room perspective, this is a simple U shape 4 story complex. We stayed at a room next to elevator, but we could have picked a suit instead of a studio to make our dog more comfortable because the noise level is rather sensitivity to dog than to human.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will share your nice complements about our hotel staff and make sure Rachel is recognized for her great service. She is a true asset to our team!

We hope to host you again the next time you visit San Diego.

Sincerely,
Steven C
General Manager
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews