We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed At All”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base
Ranked #191 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Room had a musty smell and wasn't very clean. I was reluctant to even climb in the blankets. There wasn't any shampoo in the room so I went to the front office to ask for some and they lock the door. I guess for security purposes - but that didn't make me feel safe at all. Left me wondering what kind of area I was in. The breakfast "room" was so small and tight and the staff was not friendly at all. Never again.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelnmom31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Manager at Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review our Hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2016

Very easy to find. Hotel is in a good location for those with a car. San diego zoo, la jolla, mission bay, sunset cliffs, gaslamp quarter are all within 25 mins away by car.
Room is spacious, clean, safe and comfortable.
There was always ample parking outside the room. Reception staff were helpful and friendly. A very good 2 day stay.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fayevictoria333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Manager at Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review our Hotel regarding your recent stay.

We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

The hotel location is I think in the middle of nowhere next to a petrol station. Bus stop was close by (1 minute walk) and trolley station was approx 20 minutes walk. There was no restaurants or groceres nearby.

Bed was comfortable, bathroom not quite clean but still OK. Coffee maker, fridge, microwave and AC were worked well. Breakfast was ok, with toast, eggs, waffle, beef patty, hot chocolate, juice, yogurt, fruits, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OinK_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Manager at Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel regarding your recent stay.
I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We always strive to provide the best service to our guests. Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Mario who was working there went above and beyond to make my stay as great as possible. I was not aware that the room that was booked was through another site and placed me in a smoking room, which was going to ruin my stay, but he moved things around for me to get me in a nice non-smoking room. Was very happy with everything!

It's also very close to Comic Con, so taking an Uber there and back was a breeze vs. worrying about the traffic and crazy parking rates.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Manager at Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Daniel Ali | Area Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We stayed at this Quality Inn location on our recent trip to San Diego. I searched and searched for a reasonably priced hotel that had good reviews from travelers who commented on Tripadvisor.com. Well, when I found this hotel, I was pleased that the review were overwhelmingly positive and the price was definitely reasonable as compared to other hotels in the area. The hotel is about five minutes from the downtown area. When we arrived at the Quality Inn, we found our room to be very accommodating, clean and comfortable. We were very happy with our choice and, on top of that, we discovered that they offered a free hot breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was great (waffles, sausage, eggs, bagels, yogurt, etc.) and a very welcome bonus as we were rushed in the morning with no time to eat elsewhere. I would definitely recommend the Quality Inn I-5 Naval Base to any weary travelers looking for a nice, clean, comfortable, reasonably priced hotel option in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Manager at Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Daniel Ali
Area Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Quality Suites San Diego SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#182 of 286 in San Diego
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base

Address: 3878 Dalbergia Ct, San Diego, CA 92113-3809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $101 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a great stay at the Quality Inn(R) I-5 San Diego Naval Base hotel in San Diego, CA! Our hotel in San Diego is near Naval Station San Diego and the historic Gaslamp Quarter. You can head to Comic Con, located at the nearby San Diego Convention Center, and also explore such points of interest as Coronado Island, Old Town San Diego, Qualcomm Stadium, Petco Park and USS Midway Museum. The Quality Inn in San Diego is your ideal lodging choice, as our convenient location gives you easy access to San Diego's top attractions, including San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld San Diego and Balboa Park. For your convenience, we provide access to copy and fax services. As our valued guest at this San Diego hotel, you can enjoy such amenities as Free hot breakfast & free coffee, Free WiFi, Business center, Free parking and Exercise room. We invite you to relax in your guest room, which features a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, TV, down pillows, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Enjoy the combination of cozy accommodations, friendly service and wonderful amenities at the Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base hotel. Book now - we look forward to hosting you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn San Diego Hotel San Diego
San Diego Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing