We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,598)
Filter reviews
4,598 results
Traveller rating
2,647
1,130
447
202
172
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,647
1,130
447
202
172
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachmission beachbelmont parkrescued sealsjulie deebtangier barbay view studioroller coasterbay frontsea worldtennis courtssister hotelgreat resortlounge chairssea lionssmall kitchenfamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 4,598 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Proximity to Mission Bay is terrific. Hotel is reasonably priced, though the furnishings look a little dated, and dilapidated and there's that musty old-hotel smell in the main building in the back. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Overall, a good budget choice if proximity to Mission Bay and a decent kitchen is on the top of your list.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JohnL2387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Upon arriving to the resort, the property is welcoming and well kept on the outside. We got to check in a little early which was nice. We reserved a bay view room and paid extra as such. We had a TINY view of the bay and a LARGE view of the parking lot, a dumpster and a construction truck. Totally disappointed! In addition, I later learned we were on the old side of the resort which definitely showed in the room. It was not only dated it smelled of chemicals and I don’t even know what else. Traveling with a child who has severe asthma this was not acceptable. We let the front desk know our concerns and after quite a bit of back and forth we ended up with a bay front room on the other (renovated) side of the resort. This was a totally different room and honestly felt like a different resort. Unfortunately, it only had one bed so my spouse had to sleep on the pull out couch and myself on a rollaway. It was certainly worth it as this room was SO much cleaner and much better view. I just think it’s ridiculous that the girl at the front desk showed no understanding whatsoever with our frustration about our lack of view and even responded with “we know you have views of the parking lot.” Wow. Alex ended up making our room change. We did appreciate the extra space you get with booking a suite, especially when traveling with children. We ate breakfast at the restaurant and were satisfied. The pool was fine- too cold for me but all the children enjoyed it. The hot tub was spacious. The seals on property were fun to see. Local friends in San Diego recommended we stay at the Catamaran instead of Bahia but unfortunately we couldn’t book a suite there. I would definitely next time try the Catamaran instead. The Catamaran is also in walking distance to many more restaurants, etc.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank lmcg0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Pluses for our stay:
-- 1 of the 2 queen beds was reasonably comfortable
-- shower was good
-- coffee maker made 2 good cups of coffee at a time in just a couple of minutes
-- view out the back was pretty
-- reasonably quiet
-- Tangier Bar was very nice with a good selection of wine and pleasant waitstaff
-- Cafe Bahia serves huge breakfasts (enough for 2 people to walk away full)
-- although our room wasn't ready at 4, we were comped for dinner that evening
-- although my husband's wedding ring mysteriously disappeared one day when we were out, the hotel took the reported disappearance of the ring seriously and security staff promptly filed a report
-- Within walking distance of the boardwalk and the beach, the Belmont amusement park, and several casual restaurants
The negatives:
-- inadequate lighting in the room, making it difficult to see what was in bureau drawers or to find items dropped on the floor - good thing I had a flashlight!
-- room cleaning was a bit haphazard - nuts and chips under the bed, dust in the corners of the room, the coffee pot wasn't cleaned; one day during our stay we had to ask twice after 4pm to have our room cleaned which it finally was by 5:30pm
I would not stay here again -- not a good value, too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank khhass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan N, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Bahia. We are happy that you enjoyed Tangier Bar and a large breakfast at Café Bahia. We are deeply concerned to learn of the disappearance of your husband's wedding ring. We are deeply sorry that it was lost on the property but glad to know that our staff promptly filed a report. We thank you for your feedback regarding your guest room. We are always working to improve our property for the benefit of our desks. We hope that you can give the Bahia Resort Hotel another chance in the future. We would love the opportunity to earn back your trust and deliver service that better reflects the Bahia Resort Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

This is a family owned hotel with a sister hotel across the waters. Modestly priced it appears reasonable for large families. The room was very large with small dining table for 2, large couch. There was a small separate kitchen with full sized refrigerator, sink, stove, and microwave, stocked with dishes, cooking ware and cutlery. The bathroom and it’s anteroom were small by comparison. Because it’s family owned, not a hotel chain, the furniture is quite dated, without the typical upkeep seen in large hotel chains. Oddly there was no hairdryer. It is right on a beach which is a secluded alcove with large circular beach beds. There is a complimentary ferry boat that takes you to their sister hotel nightly. Did not have time to check out the pool but there is one. Good for families with several children and reasonably priced. Overall quality is 3 stars.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan N, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Bahia. We are glad to hear that you found your guest room to be large with all the kitchen amenities you need. We appreciate your comments about the furnishings in your guest room as we are always working to improve our property. Thank you for staying at the Bahia. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Our family just finished a week at the Bahia Resort. I attended a class Mon-Fri while my family (husband and 2 kids) spent the week enjoying the resort and local area.

The resort has several small conference rooms which were perfect for our class - you really can’t beat looking out over the water at sailboats while trying to learn something new.

The resort has everything a family needs to enjoy San Diego - there is one large swimming pool and a separate hot tub. The pool is 10 ft deep but goes as shallow as (I think) 2’ for a kids area that is roped off. There were many families there with little ones who seems to be enjoying the pool which was heated to 82 degrees. The hot tub is separate from the pool but in the same area and seats a lot of people. The entire pool area is sheltered by concrete/glass walls so it keeps the wind out on the chilly days. Plenty of clean towels and seating.

We didn’t spend much time on the beach at the resort due to the weather being a little chilly but it appears really nice. Someone sweeps/rakes the beach every morning. In fact, the entire resort is exceptionally clean.

Our room was a little outdated but still very clean and had everything we needed to enjoy the week. We were in a room with 2 double beds (I wish they were queens!!!) and a sleeper couch, a small kitchenette and very large balcony. The kitchenette had basic amenities but we brought extra paper plates, cups, wine bottle opener, etc.

Food was good. I had a catered breakfast and lunch daily in my class that was acceptable. Breakfast was definitely tastier than lunch. There is a bar, restaurant and outdoor patio that serves food and alcohol. There are several TV’s in the bar area to watch games on. Again, everyone was very friendly, helpful and the place was clean! Less than a 10 minute walk to the beach. The road/sidewalk is well lit - we were all going out before sunrise to walk/run and I felt very safe.

My biggest issue was the small beds and flat pillows but it appears they are gradually updating the rooms so hopefully bigger beds are in the future!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank VTTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan N, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your recent week-long stay with your family at the Bahia. We are glad to know that while you spent time learning in the classroom, your family was able to enjoy the property and explore beautiful San Diego. We are happy to hear that you found our property to be clean and have many amenities the whole family can enjoy. We thank you so much for your detailed feedback as we are always working to improve our resort. We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews