We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual dining inside or on the screened porch”
Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Closed for the winter. See you May 2017 When we first opened Moby Dick’s in ‘83, we had no idea we’d become an establishment on Cape Cod. We simply wanted to start a BYOB restaurant that had fresh seafood, a relaxed environment, and a friendly staff that would make people feel at home. Well, three decades later, we’re still doing exactly that, opening every season in May to the delight of locals and visitors alike. Some people stop in for our lobster rolls while others come for an old-fashioned bucket of steamers. But everyone knows they can come to us for fresh family fun and a dining experience in Wellfleet they'll never forget.
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Always great food and friendly responsive service
BYOB always reduces any tab and allows you one more meal out
Freshest seafood prepared the way I would cook it at home... perfectly

Thank SharonLynnRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

It's a pleasure to have you as a fan, Sharon! We can't wait to have you back for more fresh seafood next season.

Till then,
Todd B, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2017

Thought I had reviewed this already since we ate there 3 times during our visit this spring. We loved it almost every time. Whole belly clams were just great. Order at the counter and they bring your dishes to the table. My wife did get a lobster on our last visit and was disappointed with it being tough however. Everything else we had was great. This was also recommended by our friends who live in the area.

Thank rkw321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thanks for leaving your review -- I'm so glad you're a fan! We can't wait to see you both next season.

Till then,
Todd B, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

If you love seafood this is the place for you! If you don't love seafood your choices are very limited. The grilled chicken was so dry I couldn't cut into it. However the blue cheese wedge salad was great as was the key lime pie. So all is well that ends well. They do not server beer or wine but you can bring your own

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Linda, we know we reached out on another platform, but we wanted to reiterate how much we appreciate your feedback. Your seafood should always be served to perfection, so we hope for another shot at those five stars next season!

Best,
Todd B, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Have driven by over the years,glad we finally tried it out! Beef tips were very tender and tasty, as we're the scallops. The corn on the cob and a baked potato rounded the meal out. Friendly staff, clean resturant, good food, we'll be back next time we're in the area.....try the blueberry cobbler

Thank bill_of_prospect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thanks for giving us a try! Glad it was a hit. Hope to see you next season!

Best,
Todd B, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Have ordered lobster on two visits, one year apart. The lobsters were tough on both occasions and not at all sweet. Also disappointing were the tasteless steamers. Will not return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Barry O, Sorry to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations. We buy only the best - local hard shell lobsters and Chatham steamers. That said, I wish you had let us know that you were not happy and we would have fixed the problem immediately. If you choose to give us another try please ask for me and I will personally take care of you and show you how good we really are. best, Todd Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing