We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn & Suites(Flat Rock)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mountain Inn & Suites(Flat Rock)(Great Value!)
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill House Lodge(Flat Rock)(Great Value!)
US$106
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Mountain Lodge(Flat Rock)(Great Value!)
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CedarWood Inn(Hendersonville)(Great Value!)
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
266
104
27
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
266
104
27
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswoodward houseseasons restauranthighland lakepaddle boatscabin roomspool tablebreakfast buffet isgrand oleon site restaurantbeautiful groundslarge cabinorganic gardenhammocks and swingsping pong tablefront porchsummer campfamily reunion
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2015

A coworker recommended I stay here to celebrate my anniversary for a weekend. We wanted to go hiking nearby, so we decided to go with it since we'd never been stayed anywhere like it before. It's a lovely area. Very scenic and quaint. We chose to have a picnic by the lake and read for a while. It was nice, but we got kind of restless so we went exploring the property and taking photographs instead.

The room we had was nice. I'm 28 and Nate is 33 though and we both agreed that it felt like staying at our grandparent's house. That's not a bad thing, it's just...it was our anniversary and that's not really the thought you want to have when you get there. Lol, the bathroom was absolutely amazing though. My grandma also has one just like it that I'm jealous of. There was a game room too which was nice, but as we were the only two people, possibly on the entire property, it kind of felt a bit eerie after a while so we left to explore town and night life instead.

Overall, I really do think it was a nice place and I'm sure a lot of people get exactly what they wanted to get out of staying there though. I'm sure business functions and weddings /catering would be great for it too. My mind was just a bit to stuck on the deserted feeling and Nate and I kept quoting lines from the "Shining", joking around with each other. :)

Room Tip: Go during October or November and the place seems virtually empty!
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CallieD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi S, Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2015

Hi Callie,

We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed a scenic picnic by the lake with your husband. That is one of our favorite spots! Did you know that the kayaks, paddle boats, and canoes are all complimentary, and can be used on our private 40 acre lake during your stay? And thank you for raving about your room’s bathroom…we agree that they are ‘absolutely amazing’ throughout our array of lodging options. We’re sorry that you felt a bit deserted because many people come to us in search of that freedom and solitude- a peaceful afternoon nap in one of our hammocks or a lounge by the pool is always just steps away. But if you decide you want something more fast paced, there are so many options available for that as well. We have complimentary bikes to ride and a tennis and basketball court (we can provide rackets, balls, etc.). Downtown Hendersonville is just a few minutes away (and Asheville is only a short 30 minute drive), there are easily accessible hiking trails, and of course, our delicious Season’s restaurant is right on property. As you can see…your stay with us, as with life, is truly whatever you chose to make it.

All our best,

Highland Lake Inn and Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Several of us in our family met at Highland Lake Inn & Resort for a long, relaxing Labor Day weekend. We were in search of peace and quiet, cooler temps, friendly people, small town life and lots of nature. We got all of those things and much, much more! As luck would have it, we also were in town for the weekend of the NC Apple Festival where the first Honey Crisp apples of the Fall took center stage.
Highland is a very serene, beautiful and SUPER fun property that is well maintained and staffed by people who love their work. The minute we arrived, we were greeted with a sign that welcomed us and invited us to relax. This is the kind of place that reminded me of easier days and a place that makes a city dweller feel free and unencumbered. There are acres to wander aimlessly, critters to pet including goats who love visits and carrots, a horse with his friend the donkey staffing a field ducks and chickens and geese oh my! There are gorgeous gardens that take you down to a calm lake complete with paddle boats, kayaks and canoes, long, old fashioned swings hung from very old trees, a refreshing pool, badminton, horse shoes and walking paths through the woods.
We stayed in the Periwinkle cottage which was a delightful little house complete with everything that we needed to feel very much at home. The beds were comfy. our showers were always hot and our cottage was well maintained.
It should be noted that Hendersonville and Flat Rock are adorable towns that boast local stores and restaurants and are nearby within minutes of the Resort. Fantastic off property hikes are also nearby and easily accessed by car.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLInnResort, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2015

Nicole B,

Thank you very much for the great feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We take great pride in maintaining our resort and delighting our guests so it's always great to hear when a guest enjoys it as much as we do. Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

The property is set beautifully naturally. The staff are friendly. But the stay was very expensive for what you get. In fact more expensive than our stay in New York for a week. Firstly the inclusions on trip advisor include breakfast but on check in your told it's 12.50. When we opened the cottage it was so musty that we had to air the room before could settle in. Everything is old. It really is set in the 70's and it looks like an old age home. The lake however was beautiful and the paddle boats were fun but two were broken. The cannoo was fun. The kids enjoyed the pool and the lovely big trees. I highly recommend that the lodge owners have a look at updating the decor and furniture. The place was clean but quite dissapointing it was so expensive and even more disappointing that the breakfast was not included. The hammocks were an added benefit.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Helen874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi S, Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Thanks so much for your input regarding your recent stay. We work very hard to ensure that all the cottages and rooms are not only immaculately cleaned, but well-aired prior to arrivals. The task is sometimes made more difficult when we have early check ins creating a short turn-around time for our housekeeping team, but we will keep working on this to make sure we continue to improve. Our buildings are indeed “old” because they are historic, but all of our facilities and furnishings are lovingly updated on a regular and continuous basis. As far as our rates go, they are higher on busier holiday weekends which was what you saw reflected in your bill. We were saddened to hear that you felt misled about our breakfast cost, as we do everything we can to ensure that it is communicated clearly. All rooms do include free breakfast at Season’s, our cottages however, are equipped with lovely full sized kitchens so they do not. However, guests staying in the cottages are given a generous 10% off at Season’s restaurant during their stay. Did you take advantage of this generous benefit? We are very pleased that you enjoyed the lake (with complimentary paddleboats and canoes), your kids enjoyed our large pool, and you got some relaxation time in our hammocks. And we are so happy that you appreciated the natural beauty of our surroundings at Highland Lake Inn & Resort and were taken care of by our friendly staff! We all really love what we do here and would love the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

All our best,

Highland Lake Inn & Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

That is the worst thing about the resort. Management says Monday is the lowest occupancy of the week and lawn care has to be done sometime. Naturally, Monday was our only full day there. Darn the luck because once we arrive we don't leave or why else would you go? The positives are: We stayed in a duplex cabin with King bed and porch (no issues), canoe paddled the lake together, played horse shoes with my non-competitive wife, walked the trails, used the pool frequently (better than any neighborhood pool at home) and ate all meals in the fine dining Seasons Restaurant. Everything was a very good value. But next time we avoid Mondays.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tedmc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi S, Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2015

Hi Ted,

Thank you for your kind words about our resort! We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay. Like you said, Monday is our grounds maintenance day because it is generally our lowest occupancy day of the week. If you are here next time on a Monday, why not go out and enjoy some time on the lake, or take a drive into downtown Hendersonville and check out all the nice shops? With those fun activities, the sound of the lawnmower is sure to be a distant memory. :) We hope to see you again soon!

All our best,

Highland Lake Inn and Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels and resorts and when we were quoted $225 per night for a duplex cabin I was expecting much much more for the expense. The room is extremely old as were the furnishings. The bed was as hard as a rock and the floors bounced when you walked from one side to the other. It is not a caning but one room and a bathroom. The exterior of the cabins and lodge were very old and starting to have signs of wood rot, pealing paint and broken railings. The game room at the lodge has a pool table from 1980 and a ping pong table that looks like it is from the 70s with water damage and a chunk of the table missing. The table isn't flat either. With the amount of money we were charged per night they could and should make updates to the rooms and amenities. The restaurant was good until I poured the maple syrup on my pancakes and found a heavily coated bug in the syrup. I actually spit my food out because I didn't know if I ate anything other than my breakfast. We had several bugs in our room too but the dog took care of them. The "resort" is something out of a movie about a group of adults coming back to their childhood summer camp only to find not one shred of evidence things were maintained, updated, cleaned, fumigated and repaired. Welcome to 1975! The pictures online do not represent what we saw in person. My wife and kids, along with me, are so disappointed and aggravated that we were duped into staying without having the option to leave early because we were told there's no refund because we didn't cancel during the allowable period. I would not recommend or say it's worth the price. My wife and I agreed that $125 per night is asking a lot but might be deemed acceptable. The actual rate was $249 per night but we got an AARP discount that still didn't make it worth the price. After two nights we're glad it's behind us. The management should reassess the rates and do the necessary updates required to command the top dollar they ask.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank 4lockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi S, Director of Sales at Highland Lake Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2015

We are very saddened by your review, but mostly shocked by your complaints that we are unable to substantiate after our careful inspection. As you can see by our responses on other reviews here, we seldom dispute a guest’s complaint, but rather look for the gift in the complaint that can help us improve for future guests. In this case, your claims just do not fit with our examination of the room you stayed in. Also, we have no record of these issues begin brought to our attention giving us an opportunity to help make your stay more comfortable for you.

Our cabin rooms, as well as our lodge and inn rooms, offer so many amenities for our guests’ use. Our rooms (excluding the cottages) offer our full breakfast in Season’s for each individual staying in the room as well as access to our 26 acres of fun and relaxation. The value of the room is not by the amount paid but by what is offered to each person staying with us and is all complimentary. We have canoes, kayaks and paddle boats, hiking trails, the tennis courts, and the pool when in season, and our full game room. We have bikes, walking trails that will guide you through our seasonal organic garden or by the friendly farm animals, and hammocks just outside of the cabin rooms! The 40 acre lake has a beautiful dam that is a popular photo opportunity in Henderson County and Western North Carolina as well, our guests are able to fish from our dock. Our large cabin room have more square footage than a standard hotel room, plus the porch with a swing and parking right in front of the porch! We have wonderful and reasonable rates to accommodate each of our seasons at Highland Lake Inn & Resort.

We immediately checked all of our cabin rooms for the items that were of issue to you as well as our dining room, with the following findings:

Our cabin rooms are unique in their ability to give the feel of being in a hotel room that has a front porch. They actually are the most asked for accommodations from our visitors. After checking the cabin rooms we found the beds to be very comfortable, the wooden floors to be stable with a little “give” in them as they are the original real hardwood floors, and our website pictures of the cabin rooms are actually prior to us replacing all of the linen and spreads. Also, we are very proud of our housekeeping staff as we routinely receive great compliments about them being the best in maintaining and cleaning the rooms for our guests. We were unable to locate a broken railing on our cabin room porches! Our cabin rooms have all been updated with new underpinning and any “peeling paint” we find on our historic buildings, is painted as part of our annual off-season upgrade and updating renovations that begin in the winter.

We don’t do bugs at our on-site restaurant Season’s! We go to a great deal of trouble to ensure this is not ever a problem for our guests and cannot recall any other serious complaint over the years. With such a serious occurrence purportedly happening for this guest, we are surprised that they failed to mention this the day of, as we would have gone above and beyond to make it up to them. Our chefs utilize fresh syrup each day and keep it warm at our breakfast buffet under “sneeze guard” plastic protection shields. We monitor our food closely and adhere to the strictest food safety policies as you can appreciate upon seeing that we receive and post the highest scores of sanitation given to us by regular Health Department evaluations. Guests can check the TripAdvisor listing for Season’s and make a judgment of their own regarding the quality of the food and service. We are VERY proud of the consistent compliments we receive from our guest’s there.

The Pool table is fine, the felt is in good shape, the pockets are all there and table is level. The Ping Pong table was just replaced after being ordered a while back, although the old one was usable, level and used throughout the summer with no complaints.

Our grounds are pristine! The grounds staff works continuously each day as well as year round to maintain our lawns, shrubs, flowers and roadways.
Our policy for cancellation calls for seven days prior to arrival. When given the opportunity to know our guests are “upset” we work quickly to accommodate their needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews