We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn & Suites(Flat Rock)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$126
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mountain Inn & Suites(Flat Rock)(Great Value!)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Mill House Lodge(Flat Rock)(Great Value!)
US$106
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Lodge(Flat Rock)(Great Value!)
US$115
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
265
103
27
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
265
103
27
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswoodward houseseasons restauranthighland lakepaddle boatscabin roomspool tablebreakfast buffet isgrand oleon site restaurantbeautiful groundslarge cabinorganic gardenhammocks and swingsping pong tablefront porchsummer campfamily reunion
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

We always end up in a chain hotel in Hendersonville when we take the kids to camp so this year we decided to branch out and we’re glad we did. This property isn’t fancy but it’s pretty and quirky in a nice mountain way. Here’s a nice pool and kayaks and canoes you can take on the lake. Lots to do with kids and plenty of space for them to run around. We stayed in the lodge which isn’t fancy but it was comfortable and clean. The bathroom is minuscule but the fresh smell of the sheets matters more to me so I was happy. Dinner at seasons was fantastic. We were the last diners in there at 8:45 so not exactly a happening scene but I’m sure you wouldn’t be in Flat Rock if that’s your thing.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLInnResort, Front Office Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you very much for the pleasant review! We're glad you decided to branch out this year and hope you come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We only stayed here for one night while celebrating our anniversary, but it was a very nice stay. Highland Lake is similar to a church retreat in that it has numerous buildings spread out over several acres, with an outdoor pool, volleyball courts, a small lake, farm buildings, and even a waterfall. Everything is walkable, but some may prefer to drive between activities. We stayed in the Woodward House. Our room had a rustic feel, but was large and furnished with luxury items. There was a small porch outside the room. The building has a lovely lobby area with a mountain lodge feel, and also a large screen porch area.

When we checked in, we found a complimentary bottle of Spanish cava in our room to celebrate our anniversary. Nice touch. We found the restaurant (in a separate building) to be excellent----fine dining at dinner, and a great buffet spread for breakfast. We travel extensively, and the breakfast buffet here was on a par with some of the upscale European hotels we've stayed in. Overall, we were impressed with the service, food, and family orientation here. The price (in mid-May) seemed quite reasonable. Very nice stay.

Room Tip: No unique views from the Woodward House.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLInnResort, Front Office Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thank you and Happy Anniversary! We're pleased you decided to celebrate your special occasion with us and hope you'll come back to stay longer next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We led a weekend retreat here and it was magical. Beautiful grounds- a lake, kayak, ampitheater, trails and firepit. Good accomodations- clean and spacious. The only drawback is lack of group kitchen facilities on the part of the property we rented. Amazing event coordinator. Easily Accessible and so helpful!

Stayed: June 2018
Thank stebbed2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLInnResort, Front Office Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thank you for the great review! Your kind words have been shared with the team and we're delighted you chose us for your weekend retreat. Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the lodge and visited the pool and walked the grounds, canoed the lake had a great time. The free breakfast at Seasons (right next door) was some of the best food selection and quality I have seen.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLInnResort, Front Office Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you for your great review! Please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Quaint and homey! Clean and comfortable! Stayed in room 9, with a king bed, at the Woodward House. Handicapped accessible room, with carpet, as my husband just had knee surgery. Didn’t have our own porch, but enjoyed the Woodward House’s large, wrap-around one, several times. My son and I, also had fun playing pool and ping pong, in the lodge. The outdoor pool was great, too. Most amazing part of our stay was the food at Season’s! Be sure to make reservations, and ask for Jay to be your waiter. Staff everywhere on the property was courteous and helpful!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank crifasi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLInnResort, Front Office Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you for the wonderful comments! We're glad to hear you had a quaint and homey stay and hope you'll come back for many more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews