We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Nearby Hotels
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ameritania Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$238
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$251
US$179
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$185
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Conrad New York(New York City)
US$553
US$325
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,931)
Filter reviews
1,931 results
Traveller rating
850
805
186
40
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
850
805
186
40
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree laundrytimes squareport authorityfull size refrigeratornew yorkfridge freezeran extended staylaundry roomsmall kitchenfresh towelspenn stationfew blockscoffee makerthe empire state buildingqueen bedwould definitely stay here againaround the corner
Filter
Updating list...
1,066 - 1,071 of 1,931 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We chose the candlewood suites based on the reviews here although I was a little concerned due to the excellent price.

We arrived for a six night stay last week and I was totally blown away by how great this little suite hotel is.

I don't need to go over everything, but the rooms are fantastic, clean, fresh and welcoming with everything you would need.

Every member of staff we met was pleasant and always had a smile and hello. (A special thanks to David and Mohammed on reception)

Free Internet, Free Coffee, Free Cookies, Free Smile what more could you want!?

We have already booked our whole wedding party to stay here when we get married in April. A total of 68 room nights!

I've stayed in various NY establishments from Apartments in Chelsea to upmarket hotel chains, but I don't think I will bother staying anywhere else in future!

(PS. I see someone else noticed the fabreeze smell in reception, I must admit I didn't notice it, but my partner did and said it was a bit overpowering, just something to may be address)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for your review and for your repeat business. Congratulations on the impending nuptials and we look forward to seeing you and your loved ones here in April!! We are humbled and grateful that you have chosen to include us, in a small way , in such a happy and auspicious event! See you soon and have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

had a 5 night stay here in Feb,
fast easy check in the room was spotless, big enough for 2, close to times sq and within easy distance of walking to places,it had fridge freezer if you wantedto eat in or have breakfast before the long day ahead, found it safe at night no matter what the hour, honesty shop in hotel was great, Mohammed on the front desk what a guy so polite and helpful, pointed us in the direction of a few nice places to eat and drink, on saying that all the staff are a great credit to this hotel, i emailed a few request,s before i went there and i got a reply everytime off David, it also has dvd shelf if you just fancy relaxing in the room after walking and sight seeing, will i go back yes i will the next time i book nyc this is the place for me, a little building work over the road, but we never heard a thing. a gem of a find, cant see to be honest why people complain.
Thanks for a great stay see you soon

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1969blueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words and time you took to write this review. I am sure the entire staff here will be thrilled to hear of your satisfaction with what we offer at the Candlewood Suites Times Square. Thank you again for sharing the news about our little hotel and we wish you happy and safe travels wherever you are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Very pleased with our Feb 2012 stay here.
The staff are its greatest assett. From the reception staff to the housekeeping staff, all are helpful and polite. TV played up and they fixed it straight away.
Room was perfect for needs - didn't really use the kitchenette though. Bed comfy and large, bathroom worked well.
We were on 24th floor so didn't here noise of the city. The fridge was a little noisy which would be my only gripe - but that's minor.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonosmithuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Good day and thank you for your review. All of us here at the Candlewood Suites Times Square are very pleased that you had such a good time in New York City and such a great stay with us. We appreciate that you chose our hotel out of all the other options in New York and look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I stayed here with my significant other just before Christmas. What a find! Clean, helpful staff, rooms that were of NORMAL size (not the traditional shoebox sizes of New York City), and complete with kitchenete for those who don't want to spend a fortune on eating out every night. (Rooms come complete with 2 cooker electric rings, a full-size dishwasher, a sink, a microwave and fridge/freezer with ice-maker! All this for much less than we would have paid for with a 'recognized' hotel chain.

Please use this hotel when visiting NY...but don't tell too many people about it...Let's keep it our litltle secret! ;-)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph_260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

What a generous review! Thank you for that, and we would also like to thank you for choosing our hotel. Repeat guests often remark on how much Times Square and New York in general changes with each and every visit. Here at the Candlewood Suites Times Square we pride ourselves on consistent delivery of excellence to our guests. That is one thing about New York that will not change. See you again soon. Happy Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

For a NYC hotel, you can't beat the location and the price. Just a few blocks from times square/theater district/msg. Great location to get around the city. Rooms are actually pretty big when compared to others I've stayed in when in NYC - actually had room to walk around furniture in the room! Room had kitchette (didn't use), table w/chairs, another chair, bed and separate bathroom. Lobby offers coffee 24/7. Only downside of hotel is the construction going on in building across the street. They start work early (like 4 a.m.!) and it was noisy. Not constant noise, but enough to wake us a number of times. Request a room that doesn't face 39th street and you should be good to go.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face 39th Street! Construction on building across the street starts eaely (like 4 a.m.) and is very noisy.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosmom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Good day and thank you for taking the time to write us up on TripAdvisor.com!! The staff of The Candlewood Suites Times Square greatly appreciate your feedback and we know future travelers do too. Thank you again for visiting us and we hope you will consider us home the next time you are in New York City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews