We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel thus far” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #206 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best hotel thus far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed Feb 7-11 and I must say I was very impressed. I was searching for months last year in hopes that I would find a great hotel at a reasonable rate. I came across this hotel and the awesome rate, I had to take advantage. The hotel is two blocks away from 42nd and everything is within walking distance. The only time we had to use a cab was for the transportation to and from the hotel. The staff was super friendly; the front desk agent that checked us in was probably one of the nicest individuals I have met in a long time. The rooms were very clean, the lobby was beautiful and it also smelled so good (flowers). The pantry was very cheap compared to other hotels we stayed at ( 4 dollar soda in d.c). I don't have anything negative to say about my stay at this hotel, everything was great and it was probably the best hotel we have stayed at thus far. I would tell anyone to give this hotel a shot and you won't be sorry! Keep up the good work guys; I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor, awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glamvamp0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you so very much for your kind and generous review. Word of your praise will be shared with the staff and I am sure they will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay and decided to tell the world about it!! Please keep us in mind the next time you visit our fair city, as we are always here for those who consider us home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    750
    168
    34
    40
See reviews for
255
873
151
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We chose the candlewood suites based on the reviews here although I was a little concerned due to the excellent price.

We arrived for a six night stay last week and I was totally blown away by how great this little suite hotel is.

I don't need to go over everything, but the rooms are fantastic, clean, fresh and welcoming with everything you would need.

Every member of staff we met was pleasant and always had a smile and hello. (A special thanks to David and Mohammed on reception)

Free Internet, Free Coffee, Free Cookies, Free Smile what more could you want!?

We have already booked our whole wedding party to stay here when we get married in April. A total of 68 room nights!

I've stayed in various NY establishments from Apartments in Chelsea to upmarket hotel chains, but I don't think I will bother staying anywhere else in future!

(PS. I see someone else noticed the fabreeze smell in reception, I must admit I didn't notice it, but my partner did and said it was a bit overpowering, just something to may be address)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkKirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for your review and for your repeat business. Congratulations on the impending nuptials and we look forward to seeing you and your loved ones here in April!! We are humbled and grateful that you have chosen to include us, in a small way , in such a happy and auspicious event! See you soon and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

had a 5 night stay here in Feb,
fast easy check in the room was spotless, big enough for 2, close to times sq and within easy distance of walking to places,it had fridge freezer if you wantedto eat in or have breakfast before the long day ahead, found it safe at night no matter what the hour, honesty shop in hotel was great, Mohammed on the front desk what a guy so polite and helpful, pointed us in the direction of a few nice places to eat and drink, on saying that all the staff are a great credit to this hotel, i emailed a few request,s before i went there and i got a reply everytime off David, it also has dvd shelf if you just fancy relaxing in the room after walking and sight seeing, will i go back yes i will the next time i book nyc this is the place for me, a little building work over the road, but we never heard a thing. a gem of a find, cant see to be honest why people complain.
Thanks for a great stay see you soon

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1969blueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and time you took to write this review. I am sure the entire staff here will be thrilled to hear of your satisfaction with what we offer at the Candlewood Suites Times Square. Thank you again for sharing the news about our little hotel and we wish you happy and safe travels wherever you are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Very pleased with our Feb 2012 stay here.
The staff are its greatest assett. From the reception staff to the housekeeping staff, all are helpful and polite. TV played up and they fixed it straight away.
Room was perfect for needs - didn't really use the kitchenette though. Bed comfy and large, bathroom worked well.
We were on 24th floor so didn't here noise of the city. The fridge was a little noisy which would be my only gripe - but that's minor.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonosmithuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Good day and thank you for your review. All of us here at the Candlewood Suites Times Square are very pleased that you had such a good time in New York City and such a great stay with us. We appreciate that you chose our hotel out of all the other options in New York and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I stayed here with my significant other just before Christmas. What a find! Clean, helpful staff, rooms that were of NORMAL size (not the traditional shoebox sizes of New York City), and complete with kitchenete for those who don't want to spend a fortune on eating out every night. (Rooms come complete with 2 cooker electric rings, a full-size dishwasher, a sink, a microwave and fridge/freezer with ice-maker! All this for much less than we would have paid for with a 'recognized' hotel chain.

Please use this hotel when visiting NY...but don't tell too many people about it...Let's keep it our litltle secret! ;-)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph_260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
What a generous review! Thank you for that, and we would also like to thank you for choosing our hotel. Repeat guests often remark on how much Times Square and New York in general changes with each and every visit. Here at the Candlewood Suites Times Square we pride ourselves on consistent delivery of excellence to our guests. That is one thing about New York that will not change. See you again soon. Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,385 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#233 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#251 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,849 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Property: Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#170 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $245 - $527
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the new, all suites Candlewood Suites Hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center,Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and IHG so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing