We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Ranked #270 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 16 August 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our first trip to NYC. It is about 1 mile from Times Square, so pretty good location. The room was nice, and for the most part clean. The staff at the front desk was not all that friendly. I did not feel comfortable approaching them to ask any questions about the area. Their amenities state that they have blackout curtains, however, the ones in our room had a stopper and could not close all of the way?? Very strange. Not much noise from neighbors. Breakfast only offers bagels and muffins, and coffee. That's it.

Room Tip: Decent location
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank muchlove32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017

If you enjoy those thin cotton coverlets from 1970s roach motels, sunken beds, thrift store furniture, peeling wallpaper, stained carpets, incompetent staff, and poor temperature control, this is the place for you! Please be sure to request the fraudulent overcharge you will have to fight for a week to have refunded special to your reservation.

Room Tip: I wouldn't advise touching anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elthewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

The rooms were very clean, but was quite old. There was some noise as well. The location was good, there was a train station nearby. The breakfast was ok, but limited. The wifi was quite slow there. The price quite compared to other hotels.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Oliver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

If you are looking for a cheap stay and good location... Keep looking! The location is great, but the hotel was really depressing and definitely not worth the money!
When we arrived our room smelled like toilet and there were some fruit flies in the bathroom. While searching for an outlet by the bed I discovered that the carpet around nightstand has not been cleaned in any way for a long time. Aside from the dirt and dust there were some used tissues and some flyers lying on the floor behind the nightstand. The bed was old, uncomfortable and smaller than expected. At some point of our stay when the cleaning lady changed our bedding there was an unspecified stain on my side. With all the experience in this hotel I was not surprised, but it was a little bit gross not knowing what it was.
All of the above would be kind of tolerable, but one thing wasn't. The Wi-Fi! It DID NOT work! I could get in from time to time and then it froze and disconnected. No matter how hard I tried or where I was trying to catch the signal. I noticed that there was another WiFi network available under the name of the hotel so I went downstairs to ask for the password. The lady? receptionist was incredibly, incredibly rude. She insisted that there isn't another network (hello, can you see that?), that the issue was in my phone (it didn't work on my phone, my boyfriend's phone nor a laptop) and that it's not her problem and can not do anything about it. If the place is stinky and dirty and old, could you at least try being friendly even if that isn't in your nature? Hotel with very very poor WiFi connection in 2017, in Manhattan, that is really something.
If you are wondering about the breakfast, there were some muffins and bagels to grab and -if you were lucky- coffee :)
And if I have to think about any other pluses beside the location.. I haven't seen any roaches. But it doesn't mean they aren't there.

Room Tip: get a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Looking for a nice hotel in New York that doesn't cost an arm and a leg, try the Chelsea Savoy Hotel. Great location, close to all public transportation, easy walk to shopping and restaurants. Comfortable, clean rooms and a friendly staff.

Room Tip: off the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#307 of 471 in New York City
1,271 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#260 of 471 in New York City
2,093 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#328 of 471 in New York City
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#188 of 471 in New York City
3,548 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#155 of 471 in New York City
1,976 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#218 of 471 in New York City
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Savoy Hotel

Address: 204 W 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2301
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $159 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chelsea Savoy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget hotel in NYC that is located in the vibrant Chelsea neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chelsea Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chelsea Savoy
Chelsea Savoy New York City
Chelsea Savoy Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing