We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time new york”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #288 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 28 June 2012

part of bus group did city tour very interesting visited empire state three hours que check if busy before going there,holiday in breakfast good but about 75 people in a very small room, one toilet only, would go out for breakfast next time, great burgers at the sandwich shop on nearby corner.

Room Tip: I think the location is good but manyyy guests. elevators busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank warren k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Hi Warren! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate you choosing our hotel for your recent trip to NYC. It seems like you encountered several issues during your stay, for which we sincerely apologize. We strive to offer the best service and value to all of our guests so we are disappointed in ourselves when we allow a guest to leave unsatisfied. We are always improving our hotel and services, so we hope you get a chance to return and witness our improvement. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,254 - 1,258 of 2,234 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

the location is perfect, Times Square, minutes from all means of transportation, even easy to reach in a car (if you must drive in Manhattan...) right out of the Lincoln Tunnel. rooms are a bit small, the hotel is thin , there are only 6 rooms in a floor but has some 35 floors, so rush hours can be annoying while waiting for the elevator. efficient front desk and knowlegable concierge take care of good service. gym is shared with a neighbor hotel so you better do your exercise on the avenues...coffee machine in each room, free wifi working fine, a bit messy breakfast, what can i say: welcome to Manhattan!

Room Tip: get a room up to 5th floor and avoid the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Hello and thank you for your review! We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your recent trip to NYC and hope you had a great time. We apologize for the pitfalls with your stay as we dedicate ourselves to ensuring our guests receive the best service and value. We are constantly working around the clock to improve our hotel for our guests and hope you get a chance to stay with us again so you can see for yourself. Thanks again and we wish you safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Perfectly located in midtown NYC. Comfortable beds. The fact that there are only 2 elevators is a problem, but once they come, they are fast. Recommended!

Room Tip: Lower levels may be better due to elevator shortage, but higher may have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Hi Rachel! Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your time here and that our location was convenient for your activities. We apologize for any delays you may have experienced with our elevators, but greatly appreciate your patience and understanding. We are humbled by your recommendation and hope other travelers will benefit from your review. Thanks again and we wish you the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My family just returned from NYC where we spent 6 nights at the Holiday Inn Express - Times Square. The rooms are very small, about the size of a cabin on a cruise ship. We had a room with 2 double beds, the beds are not a standard double size, they are shorter. My husband is 5 '9" tall and his feet hung over the end of the bed. Fortunately, for maybe the first time in my life being short worked to my advantage and I fit. If you sleep curled up this might not be a problem.LOL. The bathrooms are also small, hardly any counter space. The hotel is in a great location easy walking distance to many attractions, the subway, and about 2 blocks to Times Square. There is a taxi stand just around the corner to catch a cab if one is not easily available out the front door. The included breakfast each morning was good enough for us and one of the main reasons we booked this property. It saves a little money and time not having to look around for a place to grab some breakfast. There was plenty of hot coffee - "fancy gourmet." There is a concierge in the front lobby and a couple of computers for your use as well. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. When you said "Thank you" their typical response was "My pleasure." After a hot, fun- filled day out and about in NYC we always came back to a room that was clean, beds made up, fresh towels and the room was cooled down with the air conditioning blasting refreshing cool air for us. Enjoy your time in NYC.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank sandiegogirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Hello and thank you for reviewing our hotel! We greatly appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to NYC. We do apologize that our room size was not what you expected, but we hope we were able to make up for it with great service and value! We hope you get a chance to stay with us again so you can see how we’re constantly working to improve our services and better train our staff. Thank you again for your kind feedback and we wish you the best! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

On a rescent trip to NYC, my wife & I stayed at this hotel. We found the service was excellent and the staff were all very friendly and eager to help to ensure that our stay was a memorable one. Breakfast is included in the price and the food was of a very high quality, with staff on hand to ensure that we had all that we required. The hotel is well located and allows easy access to the city and to the tour buses as well as other transport links.
It has to be said that, prior to our departure from home, there was a "glitch" in our arrangements. Although this was the fault of a Third Party, and not the fault of the hotel, every effort was made by the hotel to "right the wrong!" We were met on arrival by the Manager and everything was done to ensure that our stay was a pleasant one.
We were delighted with the service and would recomment this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim602012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Hi Jim! Thanks so much for taking the time to share you experience with us and other travelers! We are absolutely delighted to see you and your wife enjoyed your stay and time here in NYC. We certainly hope you were able to take home some happy memories of your visit. It is our mission to ensure all of our guests have a positive experience with us and are completely satisfied with their stay. We greatly appreciate you choosing our location over the numerous others in the city. Thanks again and we look forward to serving you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#202 of 473 in New York City
1,222 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#259 of 473 in New York City
2,105 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#246 of 473 in New York City
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#184 of 473 in New York City
750 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Mi...
#213 of 473 in New York City
1,129 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#228 of 473 in New York City
1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#163 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#201 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $182 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing