We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1871 House
Nearby Hotels
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$302
US$217
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$297
US$239
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Conrad New York(New York City)
US$374
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$120
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
134
52
15
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
52
15
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomupper east sidelexington suitehome away from homeantique furniturecentral parkle pain quotidiennew yorkelectric kettleno elevatoraround the cornerfourth floora wonderful staylexington avenuebathroom sinksmall kitchenettegreat neighborhood
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017

I can't say enough about 1871 House. Not only is the location the absolute BEST in the city of New York, but the hospitality of the staff is above and beyond. Zoe the office assistant helped us with our bags upon arrival and was available as a resource throughout my stay.

My family had an awesome time in New York and used the books in the lobby of 1871 house to guide us in our NYC expeditions.

The room was historic, beautiful, clean and quiet. I will definitely be coming back soon!

Room Tip: excellent location, perfect cleanliness
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1871House, Manager at 1871 House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thanks so much for your kind words. We try our best to make all of our guests feel at home during their long term stays!! I am so glad you enjoyed your time in New York and at 1871 House. It was so nice to meet you and your family, will look forward to the day you come back to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

You can read about their policies in other reviews on this site, and while they are extensive, you have proper expectations in advance. We read all of them before we got there, and it was helpful for us! The staff was gracious to us at every turn (we talked with James mostly, and he was so kind!), and we felt very comfortable staying in the Rear Library. If we needed something or had any questions, we felt comfortable knocking on the "office" door and asking during office hours. The room itself was full of books and beautiful things! It had a floor a/c unit which we had running when we were sleeping = it kept us cool (in 85-degree July) and the white noise blocked street noise. The kitchen contained plates, bowls, flatware, teacups, coffee mugs, a French press coffeepot, a full-sized 10-12 cup coffee maker and filters, some coffee (but if you're a coffee snob, bring your own), salt and pepper, tea bags and a teapot, water glasses, wine glasses (but remember the red wine policy), a microwave and toaster oven and tea kettle. The fridge/freezer was suitable for our week, and the stove/oven was too. The market on the corner has a LOT to offer for stocking the fridge for breakfast if you want to provide your own. Or we liked the omelets at the burger place across the street (no really!) and La Pain Quotidien is a short walk.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank TravelingAdvice4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1871House, Manager at 1871 House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

We really appreciate you taking the time to share you experience at 1871 House with the TA community! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Rear Library and that you were able to get the most of the area. We do hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

A beautiful, clean and well kept B&B. I love that they have kept the decor and furnishings as close as possible to the era the building was built. We were in the Rear Library which was away from the street so quieter. It is in easy walking distance of Central Park and a subway station is only 2 minutes walk away. James was very welcoming and made us feel happier after our delays in getting there. This was very much appreciated.
Only downside is if you have mobility issues then I don't recommend you stay here as there are quite a number of stairs and no elevator.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mobstar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1871House, Front Office Manager at 1871 House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Mobstar007,

Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay at the 1871 House! We are always delighted to hear positive feedback from our guests. We're glad you found our decor lovely, and that you appreciated our great location & easy subway access! We're also so happy to hear that you found James so friendly & welcoming- we are lucky to have him on our staff! Should you return to New York, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Thank you again!

Kindest Regards,
1871 House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

I enjoyed my stay at 1871 House. My room was large with high ceilings and windows I could open. All things that I like. The bathroom had quite a lot of commonality with 1871 but was fine. The house does have some rules that suggest no fun, such as no red wine allowed in the house. Also you have to pay for internet which is a bit much. Fortunately I didn't have a kitchen so I wasn't tempted but as that is my favourite colour of wine it would have been bad. Overall very good, supportive but unobtrusive staff, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: You have to negotiate stairs so if you are challenged with mobility think twice
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We found 1871 House far more comfortable than a hotel. Our rooms had the feel of a serene apartment, welcome after the energy of the city, and we enjoyed not having to eat every meal out. We were there in unexpectedly hot weather and found air conditioners placed in each room after we came back on our first day. We climbed A LOT of stairs to get to our 4th floor hideaway, but considered it part of the adventure. This is no cookie-cutter lodging! We felt a real connection to the house, its history, and the helpful folks who hosted us.

Room Tip: If you love stairs, stay on the fourth floor! There are plenty of other room options for those who prefer their exercise in other ways.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1871House, Front Office Manager at 1871 House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Dear Helen,

Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay at the 1871 House! We are always delighted to hear positive feedback from our guests. We are so glad to hear that your stay was serene and adventurous, and that you felt such a connection to our house, its history, and our staff :)

Should you return to New York, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Thank you again!

Best Regards,
1871 House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews