We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but...”
Review of The Milburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Milburn Hotel
Ranked #210 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good but...”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Its kind of old, needs a bit of refurnishing. Old bathrooms, small and old towels. We spent one day there with no hot water, winter time! Reception, oh god!, rude, rude... Put a smile on their faces, please! Breakfast is a joke, right?!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shoelovest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    496
    132
    39
    48
See reviews for
434
300
69
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
moodymcsue
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I traveled to New York with my son and husband. I've visited the city before, but it was their first time. We chose the Milburn for its very reasonable rates, great location and thanks to many great reviews on TripAdvisor. We stayed in a modest room with two double beds and a mini-kitchen (fridge, microwave, sink, dishes) on the 5th floor of the hotel. It was great! We had to juggle a bit to stow all of our clothes and toiletries. Three women would be hard pressed to make do in the small bathroom and with one dresser and a small closet, but we did just fine. The room was clean and completely serviced every day. The beds were comfortable and the TV new, with many cable channels, and the internet worked fine, even with 3 devices all online at the same time.

The hotel has a fair sized breakfast room with a very basic continental breakfast. Loads of carbs if you like them (fresh bagels, bread, coffee cake), coffee, tea, apples, bananas and yogurt sometimes. I augmented this with a few items from the glorious Fairway Market just a block away on Broadway. Another block farther south there's Trader Joe's. Between these two stores you'll find everything you need. Oh, there's a wine store across the street and Andy's Deli on Amsterdam has cold beer. Best of all, you're just 3 blocks from the 72nd St Subway station, where you can catch a fast, safe and easy ride to wherever you want to go, whenever you want to be there. You can also walk to Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. Up and down Broadway there's good shopping and lots of restaurants. We spent some time just exploring this neighbourhood, which is a definite step up from the Times Square area, much quieter, and with more variety and less tourist glitz.

The best thing about the Milburn is the staff. We were greeted warmly upon arrival and served with a smile every moment. We got extra towels, a corkscrew, a taxi, directions to the post office, a yoga mat (to use on the floor in the small but functional exercise room) promptly when we needed them. There's a lovely man who presides over the breakfast room. Even the housekeepers are friendly.

We didn't make use of it, but the Milburn has a partnership with the Jewish Community Center, just a block away, so you can swim or use the gym there. The notes in our hotel room also said they have DVDs and books at the front desk to borrow and enjoy. If you're not finished the book by the end of your stay, take it home and bring it back next time. They know you will be back.

We'll go back to the Milburn, I'm sure. It's great value and a warm and welcoming home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moodymcsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just back from New York City, staying for a week at the Milburn Hotel. This is the second year we've spent a week there in January. We travel to NYC by train, and the Milburn is just a short subway ride from Penn Station. What a great location; a few blocks from Lincoln Center, across Central Park to the Metropolitan Museum and the Guggenheim. For food, you are between Zabars and Fair Way! We were upgraded, and got a very nice big suite. Bed & bedding extremely comfortable, bathroom was perfect, we were on the 11th floor so quite quiet. Very good breakfast served downstairs, 6:30 -10:00. But the best thing about the Milburn is the home-like, relaxed ambience. All the staff are considerate & friendly. The guy in the breakfast room remembered us from last year, as did the front-desk staff. Highly recommended - we'll be back!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoma Park, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

For our January weekend in New York, we wanted to stay in the Upper West side to be closer to museums and in an area that was perhaps not as touristy as midtown. Based on reviews on Tripadvisor, we chose the Milburn. What a delight across the board! We reserved a standard suite with a king bed, but, although I never confirmed this, I'm pretty sure we got upgraded to a "premium" suite (14th floor). It was HUGE - a great living room area, a teeny kitchenette (no need for it to be any larger), and then a long hall that connected back to a large bedroom with windows on EACH side. There were a total of THREE closets in the suite - more than we'd ever need. A few more details:
-There were TWO separate thermostats - one in the living room and one in the bedroom
- The bathroom was lovely, although quite small, as one might expect in an older hotel. If a person were of wide girth, they'd probably have a lot of difficulty in it. However, tall people would definitely appreciate the height of the shower head. I saw some reviews about the water not getting very warm. We didn't have this problem at all, although the temperature controls were extremely sensitive. The walls are covered in mirrors in the bathroom, so it does not feel confined. There was a phone in there, too :)
- The bed was wonderfully comfortable. There was an iPod dock on the bedside table which I didn't use but was a nice touch
-Our girls (12 and 9) slept on the sleeper sofa. Seemed like about what you'd expect from a sleeper sofa, but they had no complaints and slept extremely well.
-FREE Wi-fi (say no more) - this is NOT a given in NYC
-FREE continental breakfast (standard hotel continental breakfast fare, no better, no worse than other places) - this is also NOT a given in NYC
-Two flat screen TVs in suite (didn't use them too much - there are better things to do in NYC)
-Room was very clean and nicely decorated. VERY tempting just to stay there...
-QUIET - I'm sure being on the 14th floor helped, but no issues of street noise
-Hotel employees - every single interaction was great, from the nice man from housekeeping who brought us robes to the helpful people at the front desk (one man spent a good 5-10 minutes helping me to identify a great restaurant that I'd forgotten the name of (Celeste - on Amsterdam - yum!) and the super nice guy in the breakfast room.
-Lounge - pleasant and cozy with a fire in the fireplace
-Location - GREAT

This is my new favorite NYC hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VickiOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, VT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The Milburn Hotel is in a great neighborhood, is really affordable and has a friendly staff. Also, they offer a continental breakfast, which allows you to relax a bit before the day begins. I have stayed here three times when I am in NY for work and have turned co-workers on to it as well. Having a refrigerator and microwave in the room also allows you to buy food in the shops nearby or bring back your leftovers from dinner to have later.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DGP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,530 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#58 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,693 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milburn Hotel

Property: The Milburn Hotel
Address: 242 W 76th St, New York City, NY 10023-8232
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $278 - $551
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a tree-lined street on the Upper West Side, The Milburn Hotel offers a welcoming atmosphere within a lovely New York City neighborhood. From the traditional lobby to the spacious accommodations, our affordable NYC hotel is perfect for couples, families, and other groups of travelers seeking the comforts of home, right here in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Milburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milburn Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing