We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tapas”
Review of La Fonda del Sol

La Fonda del Sol
Ranked #2,758 of 14,811 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Between East 44th Street and Vanderbilt Avenue
Transit: 4, 5, 6, 7 & S trains to 42nd Street/Grand Central Station.
Description: Indulge in vibrant Spanish cuisine and an expansive selection of tapas at La Fonda del Sol. A modern reincarnation of the iconic 1960s restaurant, we are conveniently located just steps away from Grand Central Terminal on the east side of Vanderbilt Avenue at 44th Street. In our tapas bar and lounge, choices include tuna tacos, garlic shrimp, croquetas, patatas bravas and albondigas. Or enjoy a more intimate experience in La Fonda del Sol’s elegant main dining room, with paella valenciana, whole market fish, braised short ribs and suckling pig. La Fonda del Sol’s private dining room is also an excellent setting for your next business or social event.
Reviewed 23 July 2017

If you know how to find your way through the train station and the Met Life Building, you have to take only a few steps outside, under cover, to go to La Fonda Del Sol. There's a regular menu, but we both wanted tapas so we ordered from their separate tapas menu. The two of us split six tapas. I thought the best were the meatballs, the garlic shrimp, the pork tacos and the spinach and cheese empanadas which had a wonderful flaky crust. Our waitress was friendly and helpful, and our selections came quickly.

Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2017

We were here for appetizers and drinks. The food was good although the portions are smaller than I thought they should be. Best to come during happy hour as you get three appetizers for 18.00. It is very expensive however, it is NYC. Wait staff was very accommodating.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patina_Group, General Manager at La Fonda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Jane,
Thank you for your feedback! We are currently featuring $7 Sangria and $7 margaritas all night on Mondays and Fridays. I hope you have a chance to stop in and take advantage of our promotions.

Thank you again!!
Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

While some reviews have said that the upper-level dining room area was dead on a Monday night, we found it half full last Monday and, unusually for a New York restaurant, still atmospheric but conducive to quiet conversation. Most NYC places are so noisy that you have to shout at each other but here we really enjoyed talking while sharing delicious tapas with our New York friends in La Fonda del Sol.

We ordered two pieces each plus two spares for four people and this was more than enough. Each dish was very well-prepared and promptly served. Service was efficient and friendly. We ordered a nice bottle of white wine which was a good example of its type and served in good glasses at the right temperature.

The restaurant sits on the west side of the Metlife Building at Grand Central Terminus and was not easily found by our taxi driver. It sits on a rather drab street with little to enjoy looking out. Otherwise, we very much enjoyed our visit and will certainly come back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TACustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patina_Group, Manager at La Fonda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us! We have a promotion in the Main dining room on Fridays that features bottles of wine that are 50% off! I hope you have a chance to join us again soon!!
Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

Fonda del Sol is located right next to Grand Central which is a perfect location for MidTown and commuters who need to dine. It has two sections: a large casual bar/tapas section and a formal fine dining dinner room. After work, the front room is packed with young workers after work drinking and snacking. The back room attracts an older, more formal crowd. The menu is classic Spanish. Tapas can also be ordered in the back room. I had patas bravas, which lacked seasoning, and jamon iberico, which was great. Also, this is a well located place to meet people for lunch in MidTown. There is an outdoors section as well that overlooks the Yale Club on Vanderbilt Avenue. ( This place is not related to the former Fonda del Sol which in the '60s was one of the best restaurants in NYC).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank seanworc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patina_Group, General Manager at La Fonda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for the review! We have just added a new promotion in our main dining room on Fridays that features some delicious HALF-PRICED wines. I hope you have a chance to join us again soon!!
Ed O’Grady
General Manager, La Fonda del Sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

We are staying around the corner at the Grand Hyatt and wanted a place that was close by after a busy day. La Fonda del Sol had an interesting menu so we decided to try it. Both my wife and I chose the prix fixe option which offered choices of four appetizers and entrees for $39. The quantity of food was just right and we both thought our food was delicious. Add in drinks and coffee and the bill climbs, but not unexpectedly. The service was good for us as were wanted a leisurely pace. Oh, the gin & tonic was unique and delightful.

Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patina_Group, General Manager at La Fonda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you so much for your review. Our entire team is so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. We have a great promotion on Mondays featuring $7 Margaritas with a complimentary tapas. I hope to see you again soon!!!

Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Fonda del Sol also viewed

 
Merrick, Long Island
 
Wantagh, Long Island
 

Been to La Fonda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing