We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS MUST BE THE PLACE!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #64 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We really like this hotel. The staff here is really friendly and helpful. We ordered room service this morning(classic breakfast on the menu) and it was delicious. They kept a bottle of champagne, that we purchased at the liquor store down the street, cold for us over night and delivered it in the morning with our breakfast. I thought that was really nice of them considering they have a full service bar in their restaurant that is located in the lobby.
The rooms are the perfect size and very clean. When we booked the room we told them we preferred a higher floor and that's exactly what they gave us. The location is perfect, with everything at your reach.
If you want a nice boutique hotel with friendly staff, clean rooms, and good location....look no further.
We will definitely come back!
Don't forget to tip the house keepers, they leave us chocolates on the pillows, it's only right that we leave them bills on the pillow too! :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropicallia06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you very much for taking your time to write your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stayed thoroughly! Our Collage Restaurant & Bistro serves breakfast and dinner with a full bar daily, including room service as you mentioned. We're glad to hear our attentive staff was able to assist you in making your trip enjoyable; our complimentary chocolates and weather cards at every turndown service is a quite popular aspect, along with many other complimentary amenities. Being just two years old, our building and rooms are extremely tidy, comfortable, and modern. Having only five rooms per floor also provides for a very quiet and private stay. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you for your next stay in the Big Apple! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,632 - 3,636 of 5,593 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

Let´s go Distrikt!! Thanks so much! We had a super time in NYC, the best city in the world! "Home" was the Distrikt Hotel and the staff did make us feel very much at home. Great rooms, VERY friendly staff - who gave us so much information on the city and help when needed. We were a group of friends (10) nearly all of us staying at the Distrikt. Rooms have a fantastic view (of course that depends on the floor) The Hotel and the rooms are very clean, the location of the Hotel is just perfect. Walking distance to a lot of places. We also loved that warm Apple Cider which you can get in the lobby free of charge. We also liked the breakfast and enjoyed a drink with friends at the bar. All in all a great, small Hotel which makes you feel right at home whilst visiting the BIG APPLE.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that have a fantastic view of Empire State: 30th, 31st and 32nd floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dolly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you so much for taking your time to write your review. We're so glad to hear you and your group of friends thoroughly enjoyed your stay and were able to get to know our fantastic staff. As you pointed out we are within walking distance to many attractions, such as Times Square, the Theater District, all major subway lines, and more. We're glad you were able to take advantage of our complimentary apple cider in the lobby, one of many amenities we offer. Our Collage Bar & Bistro offers both breakfast and dinner with a full bar, which we're happy to hear you experienced during your stay. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to the Big Apple! Best regards from the Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This hotel is just a few minutes walk from Times Square, and yet the rooms are so quiet you can hear a pin drop! The staff were extremely courteous and friendly. I also loved the extra little touches that made me think I was staying in a luxury hotel, but paying less than half what a luxury hotel would charge. The next time I visit New York, this is where I'm staying!

Room Tip: My room faced the back. No view, but it was so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you for staying with us at Distrikt Hotel! We are very conveniently located just minutes away from Times Square and all major train lines, however on a quiet street that provides comfort upon returning after your long day of exploring the Big Apple. We also only have five rooms per floor, which provides absolute privacy and quiet. We are very glad to hear you were able to get to know our attentive staff, and you were able to take advantage of our many fantastic amenities. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip to New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights here on the 26th floor and had a great view where we were able to see the Empire State Building. Upon check in, the you lady who checked us in was friendly and sweet. We then went on to see the show Stomp! and had a blast and came back to different faces who were equally as friendly as earlier in the day. We spent time walking around Manhattan and seeing the sites and enjoying the foods recommended by the staff and then came back to see the Lion King that night. We were running a little late, so the hotel grabbed us a cab so we could make the show on time, which was a huge help.

As an assistant manager of another Ascend Collection property in the outskirts of Philly, I can see why this property won the Gold Award for this year. The little things the staff did, paying attention to detail, remembering little things about my wife and I and our need for a little "Us" time away from the kids was awesome. The staff at this hotel are top notch and it is well managed and maintained to exceed any industry standards.

This is a great place to stay if you are looking to be centrally located to everything that NYC has to offer...just a few blocks from Times Square and 2 blocks from the Subway, it was easy to get around and see as much as we could see in 3 days and 2 nights....only wish we could have stayed longer!! Kudos to not only this hotel, but the staff is definately top notch...may be one of the best staffs I have encountered in a long time.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to get a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrummingDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We're very happy to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay. We do pride ourselves on our very friendly staff, so it's great to hear they were able to assist you during your stay. We do believe that the little details make the difference; it is truly a pleasure to have made a difference in your stay. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to the Big Apple! Warm regards from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Just back from 5 night stay and could not fault this hotel staff very friendly and very helpful just couldnt do enough for us. We had a room on 25th floor which gave us a brilliant view out over city and the room was big enough to accomodate 3 adults and the facilities in the room are some of the best we have experienced. Some reviews mention location is a bit dubious but we didnt find any real concerns and it is really close to times square and subways. If i go back or when i go back i wouldnt hesitate to book this hotel give it a go you wont be dissappointed

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you for staying with us during your New York City visit. We're glad our friendly staff was able to assist you thoroughly during your time here. Our rooms are designed for both comfort and modernity, and boast fantastic amenities, many complimentary. As you mentioned we are located very conveniently just minutes away from Times Square and many other major attractions. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to New York City. Please contact us directly so we can make your trip even more enjoyable! Best wishes from the Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#107 of 471 in New York City
520 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#46 of 471 in New York City
648 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#78 of 471 in New York City
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
728 reviews
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#32 of 471 in New York City
1,779 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 471 in New York City
11,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $176 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing