We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Simply Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #69 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at the Distrikt in march and there is not a single negative comment I can make. Truly a lovely hotel, fabulous location and I know where I will be staying when I return to NY.

Reception were great, really helpful, warm and welcoming. It was extremely cold when we were there so the option of free hot drinks in reception were much appreciated.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We are very glad that you chose Distrikt Hotel for your New York City trip and thank you for your lovely review. We are very grateful for your promise to return, please allow us to assist on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,111 - 2,115 of 5,498 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

My daughter and I went to New York for spring break. With the advice of the Comfort Suites in New Jersey, we found this hotel. It may not look like much from the outside, but it was very nice on the inside. All the hotel personnel were very friendly and nice--I was expecting a little less since I was in New York. The room was clean and every night we had turn down service. Each day when we returned from our daily outing, we would be greeted by the staff asking how our day was. I would recomment this hotel to my friends and family.

Room Tip: We had just a queen size bed--so the room was a bit small. But it was just the 2 of us. I'm as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for choosing Distrikt for your mother/daughter trip! We truly appreciate your lovely words and are thrilled to have earned your personal recommendation. I do hope you will return in the future, let us know so we might assist in your arrangements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Cannot fault this hotel,the staff where fantastic could not be anymore helpful. The rooms where clean in fact spotless!5 min work to times square!! Our flight was cancelled due to snow and the staff where brill helping us!! First class, if I'm lucky enough to return i would defo stay here and recommend anybody to stay here ☺️✈️

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raedi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate your kind words and recommendations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just stayed at the Distrikt Hotel for 4 nights in a superior room which we found had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The room size was good, with plenty of draw and wardrobe space and comfy beds, that we slept like logs in. All of the hotel staff were helpful and cheery, and always greeted you whether you were coming in or going out. It was our 10th anniversary whilst there and we received a cake and card in our room. The hotel location is good and only a few streets away from Time Square. We would definately book here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alfie321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you chose Distrikt for such a special trip and that we were able to help celebrate. Thank you for promising to return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I spent 4 nights at Distrikt Hotel over Easter. It's perfectly fine, without having any particular 'x' factor.
My room (a superior King Room) would have been a bit of a squeeze for 2 people with lots of luggage, but I was alone, so no problem there. The room size was on a par with other New York hotels I've stayed in. In-room wifi is fast and free - a definite bonus. The bar/restaurant is good for a couple of beers - especially good value during happy hour. The staff are friendly and helpful.

So all in all, fine for a few days in NYC.

One word of caution - don't use the driver service through the hotel. I needed to meet colleagues at a hotel next to the airport early in the morning, so asked the front desk to organise a taxi to take me there. What I got was a car driven by a disheveled driver who barely spoke English, charged more than a yellow cab and didn't have a clue where he was going. I had to give him directions using Google maps on my iPhone. And I'm not the first person to have had this experience, judging by other reviews.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteMissingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for choosing Distrikt and for your lovely review. We are very disappointed to read about your car experience, and are troubled by the inconsistencies in service. We are very particular about who we recommend to guests, and if they do not live up to our level of service, we will stop allowing them to solicit our guests. Your experience assists us in this decision. If you would contact me at jrota@distrikthotel.com, I would like to try to get your money returned for the car service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#88 of 470 in New York City
479 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 470 in New York City
1,095 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#43 of 470 in New York City
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 470 in New York City
11,800 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#172 of 470 in New York City
3,911 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 470 in New York City
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $217 - $753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing