We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsavoury noisy street and poor quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #66 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 September 2017

The hotel is directly opposite the largest bus terminal in the city. This means constant stream of loud noise. 40th street seems a major thoroughfare of buses cars and noise!!! The bus terminal proximity brings out the cities worst vagrants who clamber outside a few doors down. The street stinks of urine. The vagrants at times brawl loudly. Not the hotels fault, but no sure who thought it was a great place to put a hotel. Room rate WAY overpriced for the location and general poor quality of the hotel. I found everything to be sub par. Service was like a Faulty Towers trial run, both front desk and house keeping. Bed linen of the cheap scratchy polyester kind with holes in it. Bathroom was the one saving grace as it actually worked. Internet was intermittent. TV was tempts,metal, No Signal on half the stations. I am in NYC monthly, but will not choose to return.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the front facing rooms......they vibrate with the traffic and noise below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley A, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Distrikt. We at the Distrikt pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service and we apologize for not meeting the high standards that not only you expected, but that we also expect from ourselves. Our staff and immediate neighborhood are two of our most celebrated assets, so we were surprised to hear that our staff did not perform up to your expectations of a boutique hotel. In regards to our immediate neighborhood, most of our guest find it convenient and exhilarating since we are across from the Port Authority and in between the bustling streets of Times Square and Hell's Kitchen however, we are sorry it was unsatisfying for you. Again, we are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay and appreciate your feedback nonetheless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 388 of 5,655 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017

Friendly, courteous staff. Clean rooms with great shower. Excellent location as it was close to Time Square. Not very appealing for breakfast, drinks etc quite dark, lacked atmosphere as no one there.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Hotel is located in walking distance to Times Square. But it is also located close to very busy bus station. Since our room was located very low basically since 5 am in the morning you have to forget about sleep. Room is nice and cozy and - what is rare in NY- not "used". It is good for private travellers- I had to work for some hours during stay in NY and with a wifi it was almost impossible- it is very unstable and the signal in our room was very weak. Basically each 3 min it was disconnecting and the network had to be manually connected again. Generally it was a good stay, but if you travel for business or assume some work - you should reconsider.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annazS8583SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

This hotel is in a busy corner just off from time square. The bus station is around the corner. A number of hotels and night clubs are next to it. Plenty of food within walking distance. The hotel itself is nice and clean. Enjoyed our time. Wish wr could have stayed longer

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Loved this hotel and would definitely stay again. For New York we were pleasantly surprised with the size of the room and loved the location. 5 minute walk to Times Square and 10 minute walk to Penn Station. Great bathroom and really good shower pressure. Staff at the hotel extremely friendly and helpful and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank AnniefromEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley A, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for your awesome review! We are truly overjoyed to hear that we've managed to surprise you and exceed your expectations. So great to hear that our room size, shower pressure, and staff were beyond accommodating. We certainly appreciate your consideration for future stays and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#103 of 473 in New York City
554 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#53 of 473 in New York City
693 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#74 of 473 in New York City
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 473 in New York City
477 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#34 of 473 in New York City
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $222 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening to rave reviews in early 2010, Distrikt Hotel New York City - is a one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of the Midtown West, Times Square area. The Distrikt hotel towers 32 stories tall and offers guests a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. Our exceptional hospitality and customer service has launched Distrikt to be one of the highest rated hotels in New York City. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing