We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #88 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed in the Andaz 5th Avenue for 10 nights in May/June 2011. We enjoyed our stay and the position of the hotel is very convenient. It is walking distance from Times square and from Macy's.
The rooms are very contemporary but we felt that they lacked a bit of the comfort factor because of this. The desk chair was very uncomfortable and there were no other chairs to sit on. The closet is tiny and there was not much room to put our clothes.
The bathroom was very large, but extremely dark and the shower was difficult to operate.
Having said that, the bed was extremely comfortable and the free non-alcoholic drinks and snacks were a bonus. It was also nice to be able to ask for a cup of coffee or a bottle of water in the lobby when we wanted one.
The staff were attentive and helpful and we thought that the hotel was good value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mgaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,190 - 2,194 of 2,601 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2011

My husband and I decided to spend the weekend in Manhattan as a small getaway over Memorial day weekend. From the moment we stepped into the hotel to the moment we left we were treated to top notch service and amenities. Check-in was a breeze, there were no lines, and we even got a complimentary glass of wine during the process. The hotel has free wine for guests (and their friends) from 6-9 every night...great perk! The rooms were very contemporary (a little too contemporary for my taste) but none the less top quality. Bathroom was beautiful, all top of the line & luxurious. You can control all the lights and window treatments from a control panel next to the bed...pretty cool. We ordered room service which arrived promptly and was deelish (although a bit pricey). Minibar was stocked with unique items (organic chips, interesting beverages), all free except the alcohol. Upon checkout we received complimentary lollipops for the kids and apothecary lip balms for us. All in all a wonderful stay, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladyk76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed at the Andaz 5th Ave. on recent trip to NYC. The trip was for an audition-so we wanted to be able to relax, concentrate and rest to prepare. Tho hotel did not disappoint. Upon arrival we were offered beverages and our bags were whisked away into storage and we geared up to enjoy the day in the city. Upon returning to the hotel-our bags had already been delivered to our room-which had been upgraded to a corner suite. A note and candy had been left with warm wishes for the audition. A very nice touch...chocolate animal crackers and hand made Brooklyn hard candies-very cute. The room has a varied supply of complementary drinks and snacks...wonderful!
The bed and linens were perfect. Nice fluffy comforter and high quality sheets. The bathroom was awesome-wonderful shower, foot bath and beautiful decor. shampoos and soaps were generous and smelled wonderful.
Room service was excellent. Food was beautifully presented and delicious. The murals in the hallways were whimsical and I enjoyed seeing them. The staff was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Upon our departure they made sure a taxi was ready and waiting for us. I strongly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJH101969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2011

Great to hear that we provided a very relaxing backdrop to your audition in New York! Thank you for your kind comments, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

What an exciting hotel experience The Andaz provides. A great location opposite the magnificent N Y Library. I was fortunate enough to look on to it from my room. Such a nice touch too are the books lining the hotel shelves on loan from the institution.
Gone are the days of the cool reception because there is none. Hosts
with monitors are in position to cater for your every need.
The staff are so helpful and stylish. The restaurant boasts contemporary cuisine and the breakfasts and coffee are amazing. No more overladen cluttered plates.
The Happy Hour is generous with an interesting wine list and the bar below ground is very cool.
No wonder American Vogue used The Andaz as the venue for their party.
I can't wait to return

Room Tip: Request view to New York Library
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 255093Traveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Outstanding stay again in one of NY'sbest kept secrets. The Andaz is a perfect location for work and play. The food is out of this world, great hidden bar downstairs in the cellar. The staff actually remembers your name, unheard of in NY.
Can't wait to visit again

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KK50HHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#73 of 473 in New York City
6,769 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 473 in New York City
4,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 473 in New York City
3,845 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#153 of 473 in New York City
3,075 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#73 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $444 - $1,012 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing