We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIGHTMARE”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #449 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Horrible customer service. They gave me the wrong room in the basement w no bathroom, next to the maids lounge, washers and cots. When I told them it was not what I booked, I was offered $50 a nite. It took me 2 hours on the phone with Expedia to get a refund. They either overbooked or thought they could take advantage of a women. I was appalled and felt I'd been conned. Stay away.

Room Tip: Don't go there. Tell everyone you know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 117 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed four nights and was pretty satisfied with the stay. It's a smoking hotel, so all of the rooms smell like smoke, the hallway, lobby and elevator smell of it, too. The carpet in our room seemed like it hadn't been cleaned in awhile, but the hotel must have heard this one before because they provide complimetary slippers.

When I first sat on the bed it was like sitting on a block on cement. It was so hard that when I plopped down, I hurt myself. There is absolutely no cushion, no bounce, no movement to this bed. But surprisingly I had one of the best sleeps I've ever had. It's the strangest thing...

The wifi was hit or miss. I asked the front desk to help and they were pretty useless. If you're expecting good customer service, you're not going to find it here. The front desk doesn't have any interest in telling where to go, how to get there, or provide any general information about the property. This wasn't a problem for us since we got in late every night and left really early.

It's a prime location for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamilleAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

the place is great near to soho, little italy...
BUT our room was not clean and the bathroom also..
it was terrible...
never again for this money..

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yasemin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Great location - in walking distance of the Metro, Little Italy, East Village - very basic amenities.
You may need to ask for extra towels, or toilet roll- Happy with Clean beds. Bathroom could be updated - as with the carpeting throughout the property. Located on Forsyth Street opposite open community space/park. Nice change from being boxed in.

Room Tip: Some corner rooms have double windows with views of the NYC skyline.Worth the extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HalBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here 3 nights, the first night I had a really hard bed and would have done better sleeping on the floor. The night shift clerk "starting at midnight" is a real jerk and does not help or know anything. had message light on the phone and he said there are no messages "written" for you. asked how I listen to my phone messages and all he could say is call back in the morning to talk to the manager. The room is very clean, it does not have a fridge as stated by write up and are very small. The price is right for $70.00 per night but I would not pay any more for it. It is in china town which is very run down, I never had any problems walking around even late at night when returning at 2am. There is a corner store across the street which is open til 12am and the hotel is close by to little italy and is in china town. It is right on the Grand street subway D line with access to anywhere you want to go. There is an excellent cafe about 3 blocks away called the cup and saucer which has 2 greek cooks. It is a small place with limited seating but the food and prices are awesome. You can easily get filled up for breakfast for about 7.00 here including your coffee "remember I said greek so it is thick and strong coffee". Over on allen st there is an excellent bar that has live country/folk music nightly with each band playing for about 1 hr sets. Over all for my first time to NY it was a clean, safe and comfortable room with really good front desk staff in the morning and afternoon who are quite knowledgeable and helpful with directions.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the first floor, it is noisey with the front desk close by. the only added amentity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 469 in New York City
652 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#443 of 469 in New York City
863 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#435 of 469 in New York City
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#397 of 469 in New York City
1,640 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#399 of 469 in New York City
31 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#415 of 469 in New York City
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: 108 Forsyth St, New York City, NY 10002-5102
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #449 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $129 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Windsor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing