We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and tasty”

Estiatorio Milos - Midtown New York
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 27/07
20:00
Ranked #306 of 13,424 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: N,R,W,Q,and F to 57th St. B,D,and E to 7th Ave.
Description: It was in 1980, when Chef-Owner Mr. Costas Spiliadis opened the first Estiatorio Milos on Park Avenue, Montreal.The reason seemed obvious to him: the need to elevate the sophistication of Greek cuisine abroad far away from its stereotyped forklorization. 'I wanted to change what people thought about Greek cuisine,make sure it's being appreciated and awarded with its rightful place on an international level!' As a small restaurant, Milos gained the trust of the Montrealers in no time. The menu being always simple and impeccably fresh, drew the attention of the media and food critics from around the world. NY Post has triumphly started that 'Milos fish could only be fresher if it swam to your plate!' What was the secret that made Milos stand out? Its focus in finding the purest Mediterranean products and cooking with the freshest ingredients.Through 35 years of intensive research, we have managed to build lasting relationships with growers and small-scale fisheries at the shores of Greece, Morocco, Tunisia and Portugal, flying in our fish and seafood daily by plane! Milos has since then taken the world by strom and opened in 1997 in NYC, in 2004 in Athens,in 2010 at the Cosmopolitan Hotel in Las Vegas and in 2012 in Miami Beach and in 2015 in London! We invite you to live the Milos experience and celebrate with us our 35th year anniversary!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was fresh and tasty. Beautiful environment. The fish was the best. We will definitely go there again.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CGinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve eaten here many times in the past, and have had outstanding meals and service. Last night’s terrible service ruined the whole experience.

We were there for over 3 hours, and maybe saw our waiter 2x in that time. It’s not like we were just nursing drinks and got an appetizer… we got 2 bottles of wine, the salt crusted branzino, multiple appetizers, and our bill was over $800 for 3 people.

We waited at least 40 minutes before the waiter even came over to take our order, and since we knew the branzino takes an hour to prepare, we wanted to get the order in as soon as possible.

Rarely was anyone coming to refill our water and wine, so we just did it ourself.

I don’t know if it was because we were outside, but it just was disastrous service.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Ihearttravel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021

The fish is simply excellent. You will not find better fish nor better prepared. And the service was also tops. This is one of those places that makes NY City so special.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank O8803LGdavidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2021

It was our first time.. our waiter was amazing, very kind and professional. The food was incredibly fresh and simple - my favourite was the milos special and lobster pasta.. a must try!

Date of visit: April 2021
2  Thank Sissi-azar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2021

Milos has always been a good choice for superb grilled fish, but the other day I let myself be persuaded to try the lobster salad. Bad idea. Although it was a whole lobster, there were four of us and, as good as the lobster was, there just wasn't enough. The problem was the waiter -- clearly new -- who should have warned us more directly. Unfortunately, although we eventually got enough food with a plate of meze and an order of frites, along with dessert (quite good) and cold much-delayed coffee which had clearly sat around for too long, it all took too long as our waiter had vanished. Wasn't the kitchen's fault, as they were experiencing an underflow crowd. When we return (hopefully soon) said waiter will also hopefully be gone. I would also suggest that management had taken its eye off the ball. We were seated at the reception area, but got no attention from any of the staff who were standing around.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bobmarieclaudemyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Estiatorio Milos - Midtown New York also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Estiatorio Milos - Midtown New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.