We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Decor and Food”
Review of Tao

Tao
Ranked #280 of 14,015 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$80
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: Park & Madison
Transit: 4, 5, 6 Trains at 59th Street R, N, W Trains at 5th Avenue
Description: A 16-foot Buddha, which floats above a reflecting pool filled with Japanese carp, presides over the scene at Tao. A favorite destination for celebrities and athletes, this Pan Asian restaurant specializes in authentic Hong Kong Chinese, Japanese and Thai cuisines. Tao has three levels of dining including the prized "Skybox" which offers views of this former movie theater unparalleled in New York. In addition to its 300 seats, Tao includes a sushi bar, lounge and two bars at which to enjoy the food and the show. Appetizers range from $8 - $18; Entrees: $16 -$39. Offering $27.50 Prix Fixe Lunch Menu year round.
Reviewed 9 May 2017

We visited Tao on a Friday night after a recommendation, prebooking before we left the UK - a table was easy to book a few weeks in advance for our preferred time. We were only waiting around 10 minutes before being shown to our table so the wait time at the bar was minimal, we still had time to enjoy a delicious cocktail there. The decor is great, the venue is much bigger than expected but still feels personal. Our waiter was great, and was very helpful with explaining the menu and also gave us recommendations of where to go after which was really appreciated. The food was delicious and in good sized portions, we couldnt finish it all. Yes its not a cheap establishment but you expect this and the service was very good. Highly recommend the Satay of Chicken and pan fried Chicken Gyoza to start followed by the Kung Pao Chicken. Would visit again when back in New York

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle P, Marketing Coordinator at Tao, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Vanessa,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us at TAO during your stay in Manhattan. We appreciate your kind comments about the food, ambiance and overall service and hope to welcome you back at TAO or one of our sister venues during your next trip to New York!

See you soon!

Sincerely,
Kyle P.
TAO Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 91 of 3,080 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2017

We went to Tao for my wife's birthday and it was an amazing night. The decor is beautiful and the food matches the decor. One of the best meals that I've ever had in manhatten

Thank JMR1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle P, Marketing Coordinator at Tao, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear JMR,

We are grateful to receive such a kind review! Thank you for sharing your experience at TAO with us and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Sincerely,
Kyle P.
TAO Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

I believe this is the original Tau restaurant. I've been here many times. It's an Asian Fusion restaurant with a 'Night Club' atmosphere...trip hop beats in a classic 'see and be seen' location. Always filled with models, minor celebs and athletes, and a chance to hand with the hip and beautiful folks of NYC. I prefer Tau Downtown b/c it's larger and newer. Same theme with the giant Buddha in a large open dining area. Lovely Asian decor.

The food is very good along with the Lichee martinis (order a Rum version - yummy). We had a number of appetizers and a lamb chop dish that was delicious. We had to send back the PadThai w/Shrimp b/c the shrimp had gone bad. They gave us free desert which was nice.

Very friendly and helpful staff there. They gave us complementary cocktails to leave our table and move to the bar after we were lingering for an hour after we completed our meal. The manager was very friendly and apologetic for asking us to turn our table for other guest, but we didn't mind moving to the bar.

It's a great restaurant of NYC. Highly recommended for locals and tourist.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Had amazing cocktails at the bar followed by a wonderful dinner.

This place has an amazing "Buddah Bar" feel and the choice of food is wonderful. Staff was very professional and helped us choose the best from the menu.

Not cheap but worth it

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PrugnoloGentile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle P, Marketing Coordinator at Tao, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thanks for taking the time to share your review! We hope to welcome you back to TAO soon and often!

Sincerely,
Kyle P.
TAO Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Tao is a classic in NY, not surprising its high quality and unique atmosphere. We enjoyed a 20 people lunch at the 2nd floor private room, still open to the cool main space but with some need it privacy and allowed for some conversation. Starters were excellent (shrimp and lobster roll, tuna sashimi) maybe portions a bit small...but then mains are large besides being delicious.

Thank Paolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle P, Marketing Coordinator at Tao, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Dear Paolos,

Thank you for sharing your review following your experience in one of our Skybox rooms! We hope to welcome you back at TAO Uptown soon and often!

Sincerely,
Kyle P.
TAO Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tao also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing