We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Daniel

Daniel
Ranked #11 of 16,015 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: Park Avenue
Transit: 68th Street stop, #6 Train.
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

What can be said about this fabulous restaurant?
From the moment you walk through the revolving doors to being seated at your table, to the food is an experience that one can describe but unless you're actually there is difficult to describe.
Our server Mynor was attentive, polite and always making sure your every need was looked after before you knew you needed the attention.
The food amazing!! Our cocktail was perfectly made, the wine choice excellent with our meal and extra treats came unexpectedly but welcomed.
If I lived in New York I'd be a regular patron, sadly I'm not and will keep Daniel in my heart forever.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank yeshiyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarimG505, General Manager at Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

We are delighted you enjoyed such a memorable dining experience at Daniel and thank you very much for your splendid compliments, as well as your kind words for Mynor. It is an honor to be thought of so highly. We hope you have the opportunity to visit NYC again and look forward to welcoming you then. Best regards, Karim Guedouar, Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 60 of 3,095 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

If you go to New York this is a must even check if Daniel come to say hello the food was amazing the service impeccable the ambience excellent!, I celebrate my birthday and it was worth it, The price is high but the reward is too.

I really recommend this place!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank alejandroaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarimG505, General Manager at Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear Alejandro, We are honored by your splendid compliments and absolutely delighted to know how much you enjoyed your birthday celebration. It was such a pleasure to help make it a special and memorable dining experience. Thank you for your high recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you again. Warmly, Karim Guedouar, Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Daniel would be perfect for a special occasion. The prix fixe with wine could easily run 250-300/person, but you’ll enjoy every bit of it. Service was phenomenal. Scallops appetizer with avocado, cream and caviar was delicious. Foie gras was flambeed table-side, which was a fun touch. The fresh brioche bread and butter tasted like dessert in between courses. The steak was delicious, and dessert and port hit the spot. They even gave us a special take-home menu listing all the items we ordered, in addition to some surprise desserts. Very nice touch. A top five food and wine experience in my life.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank jack0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarimG505, General Manager at Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Jack, It is wonderful to know how highly you regarded your dining experience at Daniel. We truly enjoyed providing an exquisite dining experience for you and are delighted you were so pleased with all the special touches that made your time memorable. Thank you for your very gracious compliments, as well as your thoughtful recommendation and it would be our privilege to welcome you again. Best regards, Karim Guedouar, Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

We dined here last week for my husbands 30th birthday celebration and we were not disappointed! We have eaten un a number of fine dining restaurants across the world and this was undoubtedly one of the best! We had the 3 course prix fixe menu and paired wines. The Cauliflower dish was to die for!
Beautiful dining room, great service, nice personal touches at the end.....I cannot wait to go to New York to dine here again!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kulbirks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarimG505, General Manager at Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

It was our pleasure to help make your husband’s 30th birthday dinner a special and memorable celebration. Thank you very much for all your lovely compliments! We wish you both all the best for the coming year and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to NYC. Best regards, Karim Guedouar, Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

This was a big birthday for my sister, so I decided to splurge. I am so glad we went to Daniel; we were made to feel very special. Everything was flawless. The decor lovely, the staff attentive and friendly and knowledgeable (special thanks to our server Elaine). The timing of the dishes was perfect. The food was beautifully presented and spectacularly good. We split the Dover sole (filleted & plated tableside), and I don't think I have ever in all my years eaten anything quite that good. With wine pairings and champagne to start, the bill (without tip) was almost $600 - more than I've ever before paid for a dinner. It was worth every penny, and we're going to meet again in NYC and eat again at Daniel for my next big birthday! Thank you Daniel.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NMTaosena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarimG505, General Manager at Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

We are delighted you chose to celebrate your sister’s birthday at Daniel, and extremely pleased to know how much you both enjoyed all the special touches we loved providing to make her birthday dinner exceptional from start to finish. Thank you for sharing your splendid compliments for your dining experience, as well as your kind words for Elaine and our team. We look forward to welcoming you back on your birthday! Warmly, Karim Guedouar, Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daniel also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing