We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best we could get for the money in NY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Court Hotel
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best we could get for the money in NY”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We were on the 6th floor, but it sounded like being on the street. The air con in the window was like having it open. NY is LOUD, so had to buy earplugs to sleep. Bathroom was very small, but when we inquired about seeing a quieter room, I saw an even smaller one. House keeping was bad, bed thrown together, often half done with blankets thrown in corner. Bathroom was not cleaned one the week we stayed. I wrote (on the envelope the leave out form you to tip them) to vacuum and clean bathroom, they only vacuumed. Once we came back and they had left their own rubbish in our room. The were no bed bugs so that's a bonus. Aircon was extremely loud but was so humid needed it.
They did have an ok laundry in the basement, which was made ok by the fact there is a hotel cat living there, we wen bought him some toys which he loved.
Hotel smells damp and old.
Cost us about $1800 USD for 6 night so I think that's expensive..... But NY is so expensive a d small rooms are common.

The location is great for central park and museum of natural history, plus the subway is close. Is 2 blocks off broadway.

The place needs major upgrading.

Also the staff seemed very non responsive, almost dazed and emotionless. Was very weird interacting with them.

If you want a relaxing hotel room to retire to at the end of the day, this is not it, if you can sleep through a tornado, go for it.

Would most likely not stay there or recommend.

Room Tip: They are all consistently bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    157
    155
    64
    88
See reviews for
89
205
46
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Hotel at really good location for sightseeing and shopping. A short walk to central park (10min), 3min to a high street with many restaurants and shops (for breakfast, dinner etc), also near two subway stations. Room size was ok and it was clean too but the bathroom was rather tiny. AirCon was really annoying loud so it had to be shut off at night. Outside noise was not heavy, a siren here and there and that was it. Free TV with 200 channels but no free WiFi (40$/week). Unfortunately unfriendly and grumpy desk staff.

Tax was not included in our booking arrangement so it came out more expensive (tax is about +17%). So check if tax is included when booking.

Airport transfer available (22$/person).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knutnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Kind people but bad rooms! We were looking for a three stars hotel. We booked the room via internet and we read the three stars. BUT one star is too much for this location. Little room, little bathroom, bad smelling. We don't like it even if we are used to spent our holidays in the worst places in the world. No way!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinghio75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Hotel room was terrible ... airconditioner was behind the bed and very noisy.
Room was not clean... there were coakcroaches and mould in the bathroom.
Fantastic location, close to shops, cafes, restuarants and bars. close to subway.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pariscoco9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I would have to say based on the photos this place looks like it is well worth the money, Well guess what your in for a SURPRISE. From the moment me and my partner arrived we looked at each other and thought we had made a bad decision. After a lengthy check-in, We got into the lift, which we thought we would need to go up to the room one at a time as it was so small. We entered into the hall which smelt like it had been sprayed hours earlier with bug spray and got to our room, "Thank God" i said to my partner after having to hold my breath in the hall while she figured out how to open the room door. We turned on the light and were like this is going to be bad. The room was dirty, the lock on the door did not work. Apart from all this on the first morning the cleaner entered our room while we were still asleep, I told the reception the next morning who said the lock would be fixed, well after our 7th night which was our last "Finally" the lock had still not been fixed. The Reception staff were disgusting and not helpful, one of the Staff members sat there blasting his music and would ignore the guests, one time i saw a gentleman wait 15 minutes before he got the attention of the ignorant bearded fool who was there staff. They had a homeless man sleeping in the Lobby, and after standing out the front i saw a sign say Department Of Housing. After a bit of expensive investigation on there internet i found something on The Imperial Court Hotel which said that they rent out there half there hotel as Department of Housing at $110 P/W, which then i questioned myself as to why i was paying $130 per night for the same facility's as what they would get. The cleaner would not change the sheets each morning he would simply flip them over. I would have been better sleeping on a plank of wood instead of the appalling bed they supplied. All in all a terrible experience, the only thing going for the place was the location.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MatthewC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Riverside Tower Hotel
Riverside Tower Hotel
#388 of 468 in New York City
647 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#196 of 468 in New York City
1,138 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#253 of 468 in New York City
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 468 in New York City
2,348 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 468 in New York City
3,571 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 468 in New York City
4,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Court Hotel

Property: Imperial Court Hotel
Address: 307 W 79th St, New York City, NY 10024
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 162 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price range (per night): $208 - $278
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Court Hotel, with its grand marbled lobby, offers newly decorated and well appointed accommodations for the business or vacationing traveler who requires an extended stay. Imperial Court is a unique hotel, appealing to those who do not want to stay amid the hustle and bustle of congested Midtown. Yet they can expect front desk and security service, room service, two elevators, laundry room, and baggage storage. The kitchenette found in each accommodation adds to comfort, convenience and the affordability of your New York City stay.Location-Location! Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts - Central Park American Museum of Natural History-Hayden Planetarium-Cathedral St. John the Divine-Zabar's, Fairway, Trader Joe's-Broadway Boutique & Discount Shopping Columbia and Fordham University. Strawberry Fields - Children's Museum of Manhattan. And...The nightlife of the vibrant Upper West Side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Imperial Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Court Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing