We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame on Chuck Bass”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #346 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I stayed there for one reason and one reason only - Chuck Bass "bought" it.
What a let down!! small room, tiny bathroom, narrow hallways, super slow elevators, lousy AC.
Though the bed is nice.

DO NOT GO UNLESS U REALLY LIKE CHUCK BASS

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireManagement, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear Haoyu R,


Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your most recent stay at the Empire Hotel. As the Assistant General Manager I would like to apologize for the challenges you experienced with your room. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the Hotel as I would be more that happy to assist in arranging your reservation the next time your travels bring you to NYC. I know we have rooms that will exceed your expectations as they are more spacious and are the main reason why Chuck Bass bought the Empire! I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,079 - 5,083 of 6,321 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time at this hotel, rooms were small and the view was bad, but the decor and the hospitality made up for it. Trouble started after check out. Every day for the past 3 days they've been charging my card $100+ and they are failing miserably with helping resolve the issue. They claimied we used multiple bottles from the mini bar even though we never touched it.. And continued to charge the card after they resolved a booking issue with bookit.com. We are very disappointed, we liked this hotel and planned to come back, however after that incident we absolutely will not.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank jdvc1389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireManagement, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear jvdc1389,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Empire Hotel. As the Assisstant General Manager I am disappointed to hear that your positive experience at the Hotel has been overshadowed by the challenges you are experiencing with billing. Please contact me directly at the Hotel so I may assist inrectifying the problem immediately. I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We had a great stay at the Empire Hotel in May for 2 nights. We had a lovely junior suite on the 10th floor and it was an L shaped room with bed on one end and sofa in the other. We had a good view of Lincoln Center on one side and normal busy NYC streets on the other with hint of park on the other. Room was nicely decorated and bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was nice size and the shower area may need to be freshen up but overall it was fine. Housekeeping was great and we did not have any problems with towels like other reviewers.

The staff at the front desk were very friendly and efficient, Aretha checked us in and Victor who renewed our key card after we left the roof bar in the early hours, was still there at noon and checked us out - I hope he has managed to get the time back =). Concierge on the other hand was not great, I wanted to leave an envelope with one of the room keys for my cousin who was arriving later at Concierge but was told - 'see reception' which at that time had a que of people. I was due to meet friends to go to the Metropolitan Museum so just had to rearrange for my cousin to dump her bags at the porters and meet us instead of being able to get in the room. I have stayed in other hotels before and this was never in issue.

You have Starbucks and Duane Reade around the corner and then Century 21 (good for shopping for some bargains) and Bar Boulud are pretty much next door. Highly recommend going to the rooftop bar for some great views, drink and dancing. The pool on the roof was closed for renovation but on a sunny day this must be a lovely place to hang out in. Apart from concierge, the hotel is lovely and in a great location, would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We came into town to see a show and decided to stay the night.The location is the best feature, it's a short walk from Columbus Circle so there are several subway trains you can use, and it's right across the street from Lincoln Center. The rate I got on Priceline was pretty good. Rooms in older buildings are going to be small, there is no getting around it. I agree with others, the shower half-wall is not practical. The mini-bar items are horrendously expensive. $9 for a bottle of water? When NYC tap water is among the best water you can get? We checked in at 5pm on a Saturday, went right out, were back around midnight, and before 8AM Sunday there was a bill slipped under the door for several mini bar items that we hadn't used--even if we had used any, how would they have known during that timeframe? I wouldn't expect any staff to enter the room on a Saturday night unless I asked. The front desk staff took care of it right away but I have to wonder how and why that happened. Being cynical I can only say "Nice Try"...I also agree with an earlier comment about there being no flat sheets on the bed-so it's a comforter or nothing. In NYC rooms tend to get dry and stuffy, but then the A/C is blowing right on you as the rooms are so small. Having a top sheet would be more comfortable. The bar is attractive, and there is a mezzanine above where you can take your drink & people watch, and some of them are entertaining to watch! The rooftop pool area closed at 10pm so we weren't able to check it out.I would stay here again if I couldn't get a different hotel for the same $$ or less, but I would check availability at other properties I have used in the past first.

Room Tip: If you are on the 10th floor, make sure you aren't under the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kells0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We had a great weekend at this hotel. The location is great - it's only a few blocks from Central Park, across the street from Lincoln Center, and close to a lot of cute restaurants and stores. It's right by the subway to take you downtown. The hotel is very trendy, with cool couches in the lobby. The rooms are clean and have enough space, especially for a New York hotel room. The bed is super comfortable! The rooftop is a great place to hang out - there's a pool and lounge chairs with drink service. At night, there's a rooftop club that's really popular, and you don't have to wait in line if you are a hotel guest. I highly recommend this hotel, it has great amenities and service!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHH_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#124 of 471 in New York City
5,549 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
4,999 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#393 of 471 in New York City
6,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#187 of 471 in New York City
5,665 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#356 of 471 in New York City
4,498 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#60 of 471 in New York City
3,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $144 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. Fun fact, The Empire Hotel was featured in Gossip Girl. Join us for a Chuck Bass cocktail in the Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing