We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, comfortable and in a great location!”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #347 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We loved our stay at the Empire. It is situated in our favourite NYC area, the "lower"upper west side, very convenient for Lincoln Center, Columbus Circle Whole Foods and shops, and to the new Century21 store. The rooms are nicely decorated, clean, comfortable and with enough space. We were given rooms with views to Lincoln Center, a lovely plus for us, opera fans! The lobby can get busy in the happy hour, due to its bar, but it is, indeed, a nice place for a drink!

Room Tip: Ask for a view to Lincoln Center!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marciopsiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear marciopsiq,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Empire Hotel on Trip Advisor. Thank you as well for including the fantastic pictures in your review. It is amazing to hear the location of the hotel, comfort and cleanliness of your room and area attractions met your expectations. If you should ever need assistance at The Empire, please contact me directly at jrauer@empirehotelnyc.com. We look forward to hosting you the next time you visit the opera.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,737 - 4,741 of 6,318 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

During my recent stay at The Empire Hotel in New York, two specific individuals stood out from the rest: Chris the concierge and Andrea Pesic at the bar. They were friendly and attentive, which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Scott C,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. I am delighted to see that Andrea and Chris made a positive impact on your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to New York.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We recently visited the Empire Hotel bar after a Philharmonic concert and had a very nice experience. The server, Heather, was pleasant and engaged us in conversation about our evening. We ended up staying much longer than planned and will definitely go back. If you visit, be sure to ask for their delicious nut assortment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancypaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Everyone was so helpful from the start. We came here on a mini honeymoon and when they found out Jerry from the front desk sent up some proseco which was a wonderful touch! The rooms were very clean and we had a great view. Overall it was the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpicariello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear tpicariello,

Thank for the great comments in your review. I will be sure to share your feedback with Jerry and the front office team. They love to hear recognition from our guests. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire Hotel soon.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We have stayed at the Empire before, but this is my first review. First of all, you really can't beat the location, steps away from Central Park, Columbus Circle, and Lincoln Center, plus Subway lines. The evening crowd on the roof is young and happy and loud! The staff is very accommodating and the rooms are neat and clean. My only complaint about this hotel is the bathroom. There is not a full shower door or curtain so that the entire bathroom gets fairly wet when you take a shower. There is also limited space to put toiletries. In my opinion it is not an efficient use of space. However, I'm sure I will stay there again, just be aware of the bathroom situation if that is important to you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#125 of 471 in New York City
5,541 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
4,993 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#394 of 471 in New York City
6,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#187 of 471 in New York City
5,660 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#356 of 471 in New York City
4,493 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#62 of 471 in New York City
3,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $147 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. Fun fact, The Empire Hotel was featured in Gossip Girl. Join us for a Chuck Bass cocktail in the Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing