We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$118
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Fairfield Inn
US$101
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$101
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/02/23
Expedia.comUS$101
TravelocityUS$101
PricelineUS$119
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveller rating
241
247
108
19
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
241
247
108
19
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wall street rooms are small new york free breakfast lower manhattan yogurt tkts booth the breakfast area world trade quiet street front desk staff sized room min walk hotel room enjoyed my stay king bed mini fridge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 638 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2022 via mobile

This was the worst Marriott property I have ever stayed at. Don't let the Marriott name fool you.  This property doesn't deserve to be associated with the Marriot name/brand.   In my opinion it does not deserve 1 star. 

Where do I even start.  I checked in around 11 pm.  When the taxi driver pulled up to the front of the hotel I was instantly disappointed.  The picture of the hotel looked nothing like what was advertised on the Marriott website.  They had a great photographer.  The lobby is miniature and dirty.  It looked like a low end old hotel.  The attendant at the front desk was rude and lacked basic customer service skills.

I made my reservation 5 months in advance.  One of the perks of being a Gold Marriott member is a room upgrade, if available.  I had been requesting an upgrade during that 5 month period.  This had never been a problem with any other property.  An upgrade had always been given to me before my arrival.  However, this property said they were unable to upgrade my room until I arrived.  I knew those chances would be slim since I was arriving late.  At check-in I asked for an upgrade and was told no,  since they were over booked.  When I got to  my room I was disappointed again.  If I could,  I would have checked out.  The room was miniature.  My husband and I where in NYC for 5 days to attend a wedding.  We had 2 large suitcases, 1 medium, a carry on and a camera bag.  There was literally no place for the luggage and the closet was ridiculously small. Two people could not walk around the room at once.  One person had to stay in the bathroom or on the side of the bed.  There was no place to sit besides the bed.  Our view was the cement wall of the building next door.  There was literally no space in between for the sun to shine thru.  It was a challenge to put make up on due to the VERY poor lightening in the room.  The shower handle was broken/loose.  My husband could not get any cold water.  Only scolding hot water.  When I called the front desk to ask for help I was told I would have to wait until the morning. After a 7 hour flight we wanted a shower and sleep.   Only after much insisting was I told someone would be up to take a look at the shower facuet.  The gentleman who came was the nicest and most helpful hotel employee I met.  The room was unbelievable and not in a good way.  

I have traveled extensively and the majority of the time stay at Marriott properties.  What I have learned is a lot of Fairfield Inn's are franchises.  They are not living up to the Marriott name.  Not only in accommodations but customer service. They are lacking in all areas. Everytime I passed by the front desk there was a guest complaining.  The front desk staff were totally unprepared or trained adequately to handle these compliants. One gentleman said he had been trying to get a manger to call him for 3 days and it hadn't happened. 

The Fairfield Inn Financial District failed in every category.   I have visited NYC on numerous occassions and know rooms can be small but this room was miserable.  At least the bed was comfortable. The hotel is a block or two from the water.  Its in a fairly quiet location with a few resturants within walking distance.  I felt safe walking the area during the day.  

I also noticed that this property will charge you for the first night's stay on your credit card as soon as you book your stay.  I booked my stay thru Marriott.  Check your Marriot account to make sure you receive your reward points.  I didn't.  I had to call customer service. 

I would recommend staying at another hotel.  This property is not worth it.  In the future I will not be staying at any Fairfield Inn's.  My stays at this chain have been unsatisfactory.  The rooms and service are sub par quality.  

I realize we all have different standards and expectations. Pictures and reviews can be deceiving.  This property did not meet mine and was a disappoint on many levels.  

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adventure39054123737
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 August 2022 via mobile

I am a Marriott Bonvoy member as well as a past Marriott employee and I have never been to a worse Marriott hotel. Due to delayed flights I did not get to the hotel until very late, but I did check in on the app and gave notification of my late arrival. When I arrived the man at the front desk told me my room was not available anymore and there was only one room left that they could put me in. The window was open when I got into the room and it was 85 degrees in the room. There were bugs everywhere and the air conditioning did not work. The next morning when I expressed the issue to the supervisor on shift he told me he would not be able to comp my night but would only give me 25000 points. If you are a Marriott Bonvoy member you know that 25000 points will not even cover one nights stay at any hotel…let alone a hotel in NYC on a Friday night. When I told him that was not enough he told me I would have to talk to the manager. A manager was never available during my stay so I have sense tried calling multiple times to speak with someone but every time the front desk transfers me to the engineering department. It has been a month now and I have yet to get in contact with someone. On top of this issue, I have never been to a less secure hotel. When I arrived late the first night I was able to walk in without a key card and the man at the front desk did not even pay me any attention. All of the stairwells and elevators were unlocked giving access to anyone out on the street the floors above. This is a huge safety concern for families or anyone as random people could just walk in at any time and no one would even question it. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank I5366GUsarahw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 August 2022

I loved my stay at the Fairfield inn, the staff was amazing, the location was great. It was near a lot of attractions yet still in a quit area which was safe as well. We had to change rooms during the middle of the night due to our air-conditioning which broke down. The first room wasn't really nice, especially the bathroom. The second room was amazing with a modern and much cleaner bathroom as well and with a nice city view.
The breakfast was nice, there weren't a lot of options to choose from, and the hotel offered the same things every day (was kind of boring) and you needed to be very early for the breakfast since most nice things were gone really quick.
I definitely enjoyed my stay here at the Fairfield Inn :)

Room tip: Make sure to be present at the breakfast area at 7:00 since most nice things finish quickly!
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rohan747-400
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 31 July 2022

Likes:
- Day staff members were helpful and professional.
- Location was perfect in financial district/seaport area.
- Andrew, one of the night maintenance staff was resourceful and showed great care to customers.

Disliked ·
- Night staff members were rude, not helpful and unprofessional, except for Andrew which we felt should be overseeing the night operation.
- 2 incidents in first 2 nights, 1st night (07/06/22) TV stopped working and front desk staff told us we needed to change room, but to get the room key we needed to pack up, bring our bags down, hand the old room key and get the new room key, at midnight! When asked if anyone could swing by our room to drop off/pick up key, we were told no one was at front desk. I came down to front desk to find 2 staff members at the desk (zero guests, being it was midnight). Luckily a 3rd staff member, a night/maintenance staff named Andrew stepped in to assist, big help! The 2nd night (7/7/22) incident was to do with the room not getting cleaned/ made up, which we learned upon returning to the hotel. The front desk night staff was rudely insisting it was not his fault (well understood but not the point), and when asked how to ensure next day the room gets cleaned, the front desk staff hung up the phone on us, at midnight, again! I came down to the front desk to see if it was a problem with the phone, but the staff member rudely stated he hung up because I was mot listening to him. wow! Clear evidence of poor training and bad recruiting in my view.

Room tip: Pick a room on a high floor and street facing, otherwise you would be staring at a wall.
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alvincAPXIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 July 2022

was a nice big hotel but parking was very expensive
very clean and small fast breakfast, not many choices
staff was not available for questions or recommendations
no restaurant in the hotel or near by to walk at night

Date of stay: August 2021
Thank adrianaf114
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews