We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
Ranked #284 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Chicago
1 review
“Excellent Hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

If you are looking for a good value in this area, I would highly recommend 6 Columbus. I booked my room through a last minute travel app, so the price was extremely reasonable. The room was the typical NYC tiny size, but it was spotlessly clean, the furniture appeared to be new, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was surprisingly spacious, had a heated floor, and quality Kiehl's soap/shampoo/conditioner was provided.

I was a bit surprised not see an iron or ironing board in the room, but I'm sure the hotel staff would have brought one to me had I asked. The staff were quite prompt in providing the extra bed sheet that I requested.

The front desk staff and doormen were extremely friendly and gave me some excellent tips on nearby entertainment options. On my next trip to New York, when considering my hotel options, 6 Columbus will be at the very top of my list. I cannot emphasize enough how pleasant my stay here was.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PN_Chicag0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph R, General Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear PN_Chicago

Thank you for your kind words! I am very happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us.
in regards to the Iron and Ironboard, we do have them available upon request. Please contact me directly for your next reservation and i will make sure to place an Iron and board in your room prior to your arrival.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you to 6 Columbus again soon.

Kind regards

Ralph Renz
General Manager
6 Columbus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    352
    137
    92
    47
See reviews for
151
333
130
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

From check-in to check-out the staff at 6 Columbus was top notch. The property reminded me of a stay in a boutique hotel in South Beach Miami. I booked with an internet travel site for a last minute deal, and was supposed to move to a different hotel for the last two days of my stay. I enjoyed the first night so much, I asked if they had availability to extend, and they did, so I cancelled the other stay. The location is amazing, at the top of W 58th just as you enter Columbus Circle. It was an easy walk to Times Sq/Broadway and Hell's Kitchen resturants, A subway stop is directly across the street.

I was in a king room and did not find the room to be loud from street noise as I have in past NYC hotels. Also found the room size to be bigger than what I normally expect from NYC. Room was nicely decorated, not over the top with a good color scheme. The heated floor in the bathroom was a nice surprise. Be sure to check out the roof deck, it wasn't open for the season for service, but was open to sit and work from, it was a nice quiet "retreat" from a busy day of work.

As others have mentioned the restaurant is supposed to be amazing, but it was full each night I wanted to try it. People waiting to go in did also rave about the food.

The staff can truly make or break your experience, and as mentioned in the opening they were just amazing. Welcoming you back each time you returned, and consistently checking to make sure everything was top notch.

I'll be sure to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig_Finley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph R, General Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear Mr. Craig_Finley,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We love that you enjoyed your stay so much. You are correct that Blue Ribbon offers amazing sushi and it is very popular, however should you choose to return (and we hope you do!) please contact our Concierge as it is our pleasure to make a reservation for you. We also offer many of the same options on our Room Service menu. Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to write this positive review, and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Location: Fantastic! Right on the south west corner of Central Park, across from the Time Warner Center and Columbus Circle/59th Street subway stop. Easy walk to most Broadway theaters and Times Square is just a smidge further. Seemed like there were several great restaurants nearby as well.

Service: Superb! All attendants were very responsive and enthusiastic. The concierge also provided two great recommendations as well.

Room: Very nice. Decor was fabulous. The bed was very comfortable.The main unfortunate thing was that the bed platform juts out just enough to make a sharp edge. Both my companion and I hit our shins on the edge---ouch! The other issue was the lighting in the room was a little dim for anything detailed, but sufficient for general use. The bathroom was surprisingly spacious. And the tiles were heated, which was awesome!

WiFi: Unfortunate---$15. There's a Starbucks next store with free WiFi and ample seating.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atxgal718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph R, General Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear atxgal718,

I appreciate your feedback and am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the location. We are very proud that you felt that we offer such great service - this is the best compliment! I will be sure to look into the bed platform; thank you for the information. Once again, thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

BRILLIANT: Blue Ribbon is the hotel restaurant. You will stay in a lot of hotels. Very few of them will have a hotel restaurant as good as Blue Ribbon.

NOT SO BRILLIANT: A television that didn't work for my stay, with the wrong remote provided and no access to cable channels.

APPRECIATED: The hotel offering me free wi-fi as a result.

NOT APPRECIATED: That it took talking to two different managers on two days to get that discount taken care of. The first manager offered an upgrade to another room the following day, which isn't really all that much fun when you've already unpacked two suitcases.

GREAT LITTLE THING: Heated bathroom tiles! No, really! There's a little knob in the bathroom to adjust the heat, although I couldn't figure out how to work mine.

UNGREAT LITTLE THING: No public ice machine, so the doormen would be summoned to bring up ice (requiring a tip in the process)

GREAT BIG THING: A nice variety of pillows, both firm and soft, even for a full-size bed.

UNGREAT BIG THING: The stairs smelled like vomit.

THE BEST THING: The hotel's location, facing the Time Warner building, means that you're about 20 yards away from some fantastic restaurants (including Per Se! Come on!). There's also a Starbucks next door and a 24-hour Duane Reade (and a NY food cart that's open till 3 AM!) on the corner, and multiple subway lines are within two blocks. So it's a great place to stay in the sense of having both things around and ways to easily get away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank latrell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph R, General Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear latrell1,

Thank you for your very honest critique. I will be sure to look into the television issue immediately. We recently upgraded our entire television system to not only have several channels, but also with the best high definition resolution. I am glad that my team was able to offer you compensation since you were inconvenienced. You are correct that at Thompson Hotels we do not have ice machines and our bellmen gladly deliver the ice to you room. Overall, we are pleased to receive your review and will address all "yin" issues right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

My first trip to NYC and I can't say enough good things about it, and the stay at the hotel was a great bonus. I went in Feb so super low season in NYC so hotels were having sales left, right and center. (On a side note, if you can put up with the cold, great time to go! all the good things NYC has to offer without the pesky tourists)
I wanted to shop in NYC so as a concession, I decided to cut the budget for expensive five star hotels and opted for more affordable boutique options. 6 Columbus was suggested to me and i booked a pod thinking that if I can survive in Tokyo living in their pods, I can definitely survive in New York. Fortunately, I didn't have to find out. I was upgraded without asking as I checked in. Room didn't have a view but was spacious and clean. For one night, it was great.
The service was extremely good and everyone is super friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

Only one little thing, you have to pay for wifi... felt a little 2008ish. Who charges for wifi anymore? Forked over my $15 and that was that.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taipeiworldlywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph R, General Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear Taipeiworldlywise,

Thank you for your feedback. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your first trip to NYC and the hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back for hopefully a second trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#380 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,618 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#102 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#52 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#318 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,478 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#240 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#219 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel

Property: 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
Address: 308 W 58th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#181 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#240 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#249 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $316 - $713
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown chic comes to bustling Midtown Manhattan at 6 Columbus. Providing a sophisticated retro escape, the hotel's soothing color palette provides a feeling of tranquility. Teak and chrome furnishings compose a look inspired by the 1960's modernist decor with a 21st century sensibility, as imagined by designer Steven Scarloff. Steps from Columbus Circle and Central Park, the eighty eight room hotel includes sixteen stunning suites. Artwork by Guy Bourdin adorns the walls of all guestrooms. With uniforms designed by Theory, 6 Columbus drops downtown edge into the center of uptown Manhattan. Blue Ribbon Sushi Bar and Grill, located off the lobby, serves Japanese cuisine and classic grill favorites for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests and members can enjoy access to Above 6, an exclusive indoor/outdoor rooftop lounge, overlooking Central Park. 6 Columbus is part of SIXTY Hotels, the new, innovative brand of luxury inns in New York, Los Angeles, with Miami debuting soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Booking.com so you can book your 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Columbus Hotel
6 Columbus New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing