We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Ranked #298 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Our room was charming, the staff, extremely helpful, and the hotel feels like a timeless and classic apartment building. The breakfast/dining room is beautiful and the food is delicious. The bar is famous and a great place to listen to live music and have a drink in a historical and magical setting. An absolute must if you are in NYC.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fourth floor and was lovely and perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank josie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2015

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to New York. I’m thrilled that we were able to provide you with a unique experience, and that you enjoyed Bemelmans Bar and the Carlyle Restaurant as well.

I can only hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Carlyle in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 268 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Old world touches like a manned elevator, wonderful piano bar with great talent performing live, delicious buffet breakfasts and very spacious rooms and bathrooms. Definitely our hotel in New York City from now on!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dcgomez01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2015

On behalf of the entire Carlyle staff, I would like to thank you for the kind words expressed in your review. It has filled me with immense pride and has left me unable to truly express my gratitude, which is a rarity. But I do know that your comments serve as a reminder as to why I love working for this hotel and for its valued guests, like you.

Thank you for allowing us to be your preferred hotel in New York City and for your continued support. We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours,

Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

This hotel is my favorite in NYC. The rooms are quite large for NYC, and the service is exceptional. It is low key but very refined. One block away from central park and located on Madison Ave for shopping.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2015

Our staff prides itself on extending only the highest levels of quality, service and hospitality, and I take great pleasure in sharing your very kind comments, regarding your recent stay, with them.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely yours,

Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

The Carlyle is for me one of the best hotels in NYC. I come often and I enjoy every stay. It has this out of time ambiance with lift operator and old school and outstanding service. Last time, I was there with my new born baby and a nanny. The hotel was helpful and caring. I highly recommend it.
Needless to say the rooms were super clean, the bed very comfortable and the breakfast delicious.
With the Plaza, the Ritz on the Park and the Pier it's one of one of the best high end hotel in NYC.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuloup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2015

I would like to sincerely thank you for the kind words and for staying with us this past March. I am thrilled that we were able to provide you and your family with outstanding service.

It was a pleasure having you with us, and I speak for the entire staff when I say; we look forward to welcoming you back to The Carlyle in the not so distant future.

Sincerely yours,

Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015

We have stayed here before and the hotel staff still goes out of their way to make your stay great. The rooms are beautiful and housekeeping does a fantastic job keeping the rooms clean. Love that they have the elevator operators.
Patrick in Customer Relations was wonderful. We were celebrating our Wedding Anniversary and the Champagne and dessert sent to the room made it even more special.
The restaurant's wait staff was friendly, courteous and prompt and the high tea was fabulous as well.
In Bemelmans Bar Sharif and Laurie are the best! You always get excellent service and they are very helpful and friendly. They really make your stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gymtandrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2015

On behalf of the entire Carlyle staff, I would like to thank you for the kind words expressed in your review. It has filled me with immense pride and I will be happy to share this with Patrick, Sharif, Lori, and the rest of the team. But I do know that your comments serve as a reminder as to why I love working for this hotel and for its valued guests, like you.

Thank you for your continued support and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours,

Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#33 of 470 in New York City
755 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#87 of 470 in New York City
1,916 reviews
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#185 of 470 in New York City
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#146 of 470 in New York City
327 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#54 of 470 in New York City
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Address: 35 E 76th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#94 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#152 Business Hotel in New York City
#192 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $567 - $1,908 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the elegance of the Upper East Side - from the vibrant culture and elite shopping to the oasis of understated luxury - The Carlyle has become a "home away from home" for sophisticated travelers. Offering a first-class combination of discretion and grace - the 193 rooms and suites feature elegant views of Central Park and Manhattan's skyline. Gracious and romantic formal dining awaits guests in The Carlyle Restaurant while legendary entertainers create the quintessential New York cabaret experience in the famed Café Carlyle.Step outside the elegant marble lobby and into a new level of sophistication. The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel is surrounded by galleries and designer boutiques on New York's posh Madison Avenue. Blocks from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim, the Whitney and the Frick, the hotel is within easy reach of what is commonly referred to as "Museum Mile." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing