We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The best location in NY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #313 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brno
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best location in NY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

+fantastic location
+very trendy
+comfy bed
+iphone speakers for playing music
+nice food in the hotel restaurant

-it's very big hotel and doen't feel very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvinkaBrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear IvinkaBrno,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted you took advantage of our convenient location and enjoyed your accommodations. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

All the best,
Lauren Schubert
Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,463
    2,826
    1,593
    663
    417
See reviews for
1,855
2,143
394
2,064
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,083)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

When we stayed here in February we were able to use upgrade vouchers to get one of the large suites which was well worth it. The room was very large (with a bar, dining room, living room, two bathrooms, and bedroom). The service was great and was overall a wonderful place to spend the weekend. It is worth the upgrade coupons to use at this location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexonboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear alexonboard,

We are so delighted you were pleased with the upgrade you received. Thank you for your kind review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

All the best,
Lauren Schubert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

The Grand Hyatt New York recently completed a complete, and much needed overhaul of its common areas and guest rooms and I must say that I was blown away by how nice the property looks now. Over the past couple of years, I avoided the property, electing to stay at the Hyatt Andaz properties in New York and the new Hyatt Lex. Having now had the chance to revisit the Grand Hyatt, I will likely make this my top choice for hotels in New York City. It sits right next to Grand Central Station and is an easy walk from Times Square.

As a Diamond level Gold Passport Member for many years, this was probably my 25th time at this property and it has never looked better. I would describe the lobby as deluxe modern, with a casual lite fare market and a great restaurant which literally sits over 42nd street and is a great place to watch the world go by while having breakfast or lunch. The food is actually quite good and the service in the restaurant is fast and friendly. The check in process seems much more streamlined now with the lobby redesign. Kudos to Patty (a long-time front desk employee) who is always so friendly and welcoming to guests and the fact that she remembers my name adds a personal touch to a city which always runs in 5th gear. The bedroom that I had was a deluxe king and it was wonderful. The renovations somehow made the standard size NYC hotel room seem a good bit bigger and the bed was very, very comfortable.

The Regency Club lounge at this property may now be one of my favorites and the 2 Regency Club attendants who have been at the property for years, and whose names now escape me, welcome you to this deluxe lounge in the sky, with a big smile and an offer of a drink! I would highly suggest that you spend a few extra dollars for a Regency Club room because they offer continental breakfast, snacks throughout the day, pre-dinner appetizers, and dessert in a knockout facility that now has an outdoor garden overlooking the hustle and bustle of the city!

I can't say enough good things about this property and for those of you had stayed here in the past and felt that it was outdated and beyond its time, you will be astounded at the re-design of this place!

Room Tip: Splurge for a Regency Club room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PTelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear PTelan,

We cannot say enough about your detailed and extremely kind review of your most recent stay at Grand Hyatt New York. We are beyond pleased that we are now your top choice of hotels in New York City, it is truly an honor. Since our biggest undertaking yet, our recent $130 million renovation, we love to hear the reactions such as yours, to our complete transformation. From the modern lobby, to our food and beverage options, Market and New York Central, to our comfortable accommodations, we aim to provide authentic hospitality every step of the way and I am glad you thought this. I will pass along your kind note to Patty, I am positive it will put a smile on her face. Our new Grand Club is an extremely exciting addition to the hotel as well. I am so delighted to hear you enjoyed this “getaway”!

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you again for your 5-star review.

All the best,
Lauren Schubert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I'm a Manhattanite, so when choosing a hotel for out-of-town my parents to spend a long weekend, I began searching for a well-located, upscale, modern, affordable, and friendly hotel. The Hyatt is adjacent to Grand Central Station on E.42nd Street at Park Ave. Grand Central has a beautiful marketplace, shopping, and easy acess to trains and subways. And unlike the 24/7 chaos of the Theatre District streets, the Grand Central area stradles Murray Hill and the Upper East Side. And the 42nd St crosstown bus to the Broadway theatres is right outside the hotel's door.

As for the hotel itself, check-in was a breeze, and everyone we encountered, from Reception to Club Room Concierge and Housekeepers we passed in the hallway, was very pleasant and helpful. Appearance-wise, lobby has been nicely renovated, as has the Club Room. My folks stayed on the Club Floor, so I can't speak to the other rooms, but their room was spacious byYC standards (king bed, L-shaped sofa, walk-in closet). The bathroom was small, with a decent shower (no tub). There were no views to speak of, due to the height of surrounding buildings. I imagine there might be better views on uppermost floors, but I chose proximity to the Club Room, which is on 16. Hallway and room decor was a little dated, but passable.

My folks loved the Club's breakfast. Unlike other Hyatts I've stayed at in the past, this Hyatt's Club went a little light on the afternoon and evening Club offerings. However, when I brought this to the attention of the Front Desk, they immediately asked what they could do to makethings right - and they did. For a "big box" chain, Hyatt tries hard to to get the personal touch right.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt for one night when I was in NYC for a meeting. I was so looking forward to my stay, I had not stayed at this location yet. The lobby is very nice, it is modern looking and attractive though it seemed a little busy. Registration was prompt. However, as a high ranking member of their Gold Passport Program, I was used to asking and receiving upgrades when a better room was available. In this case, I was told that an upgrade was available but for a surcharge. I stood my ground and was then offered the upgrade. Is that policy--to try and get the surcharge? Nevertheless, the upgrade option was rather disappointing, it was 2 rooms but had no desk or work area nor did have a "comfy chair". Instead it had what looked like a kitchenette table with a cushioned bench seat and extra TV.

So i switched back to my original room. Again it has a modern decor. Room size was pretty good for NYC and bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was also modern. It was a little small compared to the room itself but still functional and fine.

My gripes:
1) Why boast to have flat screen HD TV's when all of the TV channels are in regular analog? The picture is actually worse when you try to use an HD TV without HD channels
2) The set up could have used a little more practical design. The desk area has a single outlet and one of the receptacles was taken up by the lamp. The night table also had one outlet and one of the receptacles was taken up by the Ihome clock radio plug which unfortunately obscured the other receptacle. This was not very conducive to the current times where everyone has electronics and is need of places for charging.
3) Personally, I believe the decor is too modern. While I like contemporary design, the furniture is no longer comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srk3465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear srk3465,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review as we use it as a way to continually improve our service and product. To address your point about the TV quality, we are aware of the reception and are in the process of upgrading the TV systems in the coming months. Again, we appreciate your detailed feedback and if you would like to address anything further, you can email qualitynycgh@hyatt.com. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back upon future travels to New York City.

All the best,
Lauren Schubert
Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square
Hyatt Centric Times Square
#50 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,108 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#227 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,978 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
#322 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,616 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway Hotel New York
Millennium Broadway Hotel New Yo...
#275 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,956 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#199 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in New York City
#194 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $315 - $700
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing