We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Ranked #201 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2010

I was reluctant to stay here, because I assumed the hotel would be overrun by noisy tour groups. But we had no problems at this hotel. Our room was very quiet. Comfortable bed, very clean, large bathroom. Great location if you want to be near Times Square. Even though the hotel was fully booked (according to the man at the check-in desk) there was never a long wait for the elevator and we never had any problems with noise from other guests. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLRS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,031 - 7,035 of 10,002 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2010

We arrived a little early and only had to wait an hour, so we had lunch then our room was ready. It was great to get in before check in time. The location was great. Close to so many things, we just needed the subway to go to the museum of natural history. The hotel staff was wonderful from the front desk to the tremendous help from the concierge desk. There were 4 of us in the room, my husband and my 11, and 15 year old and there was plenty of room. The room was clean and comfortable. It was a great experience and I would recommend this hotel. Jaw 8

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights with our 15 year old daughter. This was our first visit to NYC. The hotel is in the most amazing position, you walk out of the door onto Broadway/Times Square.

We had a club room on the 43rd floor, with a corner window which had an amazing view over the Hudson and we could see Concorde in the aircraft museum located by the harbour (a must visit if you are a Concorde fan. You can actually go on it and can even walk underneath it. Hubbie was in his element!) We have stay at several CP's previously (and Club rooms) so we knew what to expect. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. The only thing it lacked was a fridge, which in the august New York heat, would have been welcome. However, they do have an ice bucket in the rooms and an ice machine along the corridor.

The reception/lobby area was so busy (as you would expect in NY) that it felt very impersonal and not at all cosy, but that wasn't a problem as you perhaps shouldn't expect that from a hotel situated right on Broadway.

Having a Club room, we had access to the Club lounge and the complinetary snacks and breakfast. The view again was great and a lovely setting to sit and have your breakfast. The breakfast itself was standard continental and they only served bagels with it, so if you are not a bagel fan, your cooked meat and cheese seemed a little lonely! We did have an evening meal in the hotel restaurant overlooking Broadway and it was a very good quality 'restaurant' meal as opposed to the majority of ribs/chicken/sandwich eateries in NY, though we had a very nice meal in a little italian restaurant off Bleeker Street.

As we were on the 43rd floor, the outside noise was not an issue for us, though we could still hear sirens etc in the distance, so I don;t know how noisy lower floors would be. The position of this hotel though, has to be it's jewel in the crown.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northamptonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We always review comments on tripadvisor.com before booking a hotel. So once again this was a great stay. Nice hotel, great location and used priority club points for a free stay. Plays, pizza at John’s (on 44th @ 8th) and Cosi (1633 Broadway @ 50th).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicopeeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

it was nearly a year ago since we went but it was amazing then and can't see it changing that much... we arrived on black friday (night) the hotel was decorated for christmas, it was beautiful with a huge tree just by the restaurant. the view out of the window by reception ,of times square at night was breath taking. our room has two double beds so for just me and my husband it was great !!! very nicely decorated and clean. beds were also very comfy. the tv was big and useful as the news came on and told us about the black friday sales (which we didn't know about) !!!!
as we were still on english time we got up at 5 am and went out for a wonder, it was FREEZING !!!!! very windy. but star bucks is next door nearly and i remember it opening early so we grabbed some tea, coffee and cakes and had them for breakfast. SAME PRICE AS HOME REALLY !!! just under £10)
we went to toys R us which was just over the road and the sale was very good. take some extra bags with you !!!! and as we were in there so early we pretty much had the shop to ourself where as when returned a few hours later it was crazy !!!
if your sightseeing take the subway, we were a bit wary at first but for a few dollars you can go everywhere !!! just ask the locals people were always willing to help us, we got the hang of the map after a while anyway. we went to ground zero whilst there go into ( century 21) designer outlet (really cheap) just by st pauls. also the statue of liberty is within walking distance from ground zero, the boat trip to liberty island is a must !!! and really good value for money :)

if your planning on catching a broadway show, right by our hotel is the famous red steps here is where you can pick up last minute tickets to shows at a discounted price.

all in all i thought the hotel was fab, i think mainly for it's location but i really enjoyed my stay reguardless. one warning, the hotel restaurant is very expensive !!! i can't remember how much breakfast was but when he told us the price we both thought OMG how much ??? lol
we ate at mcdonalds a few times, starbucks and spalshed out on a few meals in times square. new york can be expensive but it depends on where you go like london. me and my hubby wanted some pancakes and fresh orange so popped to a lovely local cafe just off times square, i think its where all the locals go. but the pancakes were huge !!! one plate would have done us two but for breakfast there i think it cost £17 dollars, big difference from the hotel. so my best advice is get out there !!! and shop around :)

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkhairbubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 471 in New York City
7,465 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#183 of 471 in New York City
8,353 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#305 of 471 in New York City
5,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#180 of 471 in New York City
11,494 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#115 of 471 in New York City
7,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Address: 1605 Broadway, between 48th and 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in New York City
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#143 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#146 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $199 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you've come for a meeting, you'll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you're here for an event, you'll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing