We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE HOTEL in Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #74 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The rooms are fantastic- the service is four-to-five star, the location is in the Time Square mix . I will only stay here when i want to stay in Mid-Town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNBounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,413 - 3,417 of 4,100 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

We were there during Hurricane Irene...the staff was wonderful to us, it was like staying with family. The hotel is right off Times Square and is close to all Broadway Shows and convenient to everything. Everything you will want to do is close by.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The Sanctuary was a great experience from the moment we checked in. Angie greeted us and made us feel like she was excited we were there. Lenny arranged dinners for us both nights at two wonderful restaurants, The Oceana and Le Masseria. He also personally walked us over to 48 a great cocktail lounge pror to going to the theatre. We will definitely come back and stay there. The room are small, typical NYC but just perfect. Great bed, Large TV and nice shower. It was a half block walk to the middle of Time Square...thank you for making our two nights special.

Room Tip: Make sure you call Lenny prior to arriving he can really make your time special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

So I stayed at the Sanctuary for a couple of nights. I had been with contact with the hotel over Twitter and had let them know I had an early flight into NYC. I showed up at 7am and was immediately given a room. For some reason, the room was occupied, but due to a Do not Disturb sign on the door, I never entered the room. I came back downstairs and was immediately given another room which I was told was bigger than the previous occupied one. The room was kind of small, but I have to admit, I didn't need more. The free wi-fi, great mattress and ipod dock to the alarm clock were very welcome. The only thing which I couldn't figure out was the light switches. I must be dense, but half the time, they didn't work. I stubbed my toe going to the bathroom in the middle of the night. Another weird thing, was the door man. he was always really nice and helpful, but half the time wasn't at the door.
Also, they keep your luggage for free after check-out.
All in all coming in for a conference, I couldn't ask for more. I hate chain hotels. They're non personal. This was a great stay with a few bumps.
I was told the hotel hasn't had it's official opening yet, I couldn't tell. this hotel was amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olivier_Amar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed 5 nights in August. The renovations in the main lobby are AMAZING! Place looks and feels a million bucks. We seemed to have a room in the older, still being renovated part of the hotel. There was a decent hole in the wall (wasn't actually a wall, had just been boarded up) straight to the outside right next to our door and we were constantly dodging workmen every day in the hallway and stairway. However once inside, the room was amazing. Shower - LOVED! Decently sized for New York. Only complaint was that the air conditioner was very loud. Didn't sleep very well most nights as when the air conditioner was on it was too loud to get to sleep but when it was off the room was just too hot!

Customer service was amazing, staff offered maps and gave suggestions of places to visit which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicDingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#69 of 469 in New York City
3,271 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#86 of 469 in New York City
462 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#28 of 469 in New York City
3,082 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Premier Times Square by Millennium
The Premier Times Square by Mill...
#168 of 469 in New York City
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $307 - $775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing