We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dream stay :) great hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #74 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

sorry for late review guys but we would like to say that we loved this hotel , wow fantastic great location right on top of times square but tucked away so you dont get the noise. the staff were amazing couldnt have been more helpfull. The room was was beautiful very nice decor and a massive shower that you would never wanna ge out off, could fit 3 people in easy the bed was so comfy and changed on a daily basis with fresh sheets was a dream to fall back into every night after a long day in NYC. The only negative i have and i really dont want to use because this place is amazing our room only had a window on to a brick wall so we didnt know what time of day it was . if you are looking for a chic , beautiful botique hotel that is close to everything and has great staff the sanctuary is not to be missed. Thankyou for making our week stay a great 1 .

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bradley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,186 - 3,190 of 4,104 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

The Sanctuary is right off of Times Square. The location affords one visiting New York the ability to get to and from anywhere in Manhatten very easily. Beware however that everything in the vicinity is touristy and grossly overpriced.

The Sanctuary is a small and intimate hotel. The decirating has been done in such a way as to make the hotel look and feel very hip. Smart design tricks have been used to make the place asthetically appealing.

Our room which contained two double beds was adequate but in no way shape or form luxurious. The bathroom was tiny but well designed except for the lack of a shower door. Just note that there is no privacy - none. If your coming on a romantic trip this factor could prove challenging.

Coming to New York one must understand that physical space is sold and rented at premium. Our room was perhaps a total of 200 square feet. The room was quiet (we heard no road or crowd noise) but had absolutely no view whatsoever. The window faced a wall that was approximately 4 feet away. Therefore there was very little daylight. The lobby and public spaces are lit by artificial light which sets a very nice mood BUT, there is absolutely no day light in any of the public spaces. If one is looking for a nice place to sit and enjoy the view, any view, or to soak up some natural light this is totally impossible in this hotel - it does not exist here.

The service at The Sanctuary is EXCELLENT. One night I asked the concierge to assist me with discount theater tickets and he walked to the TKTS booth a block away and called me to say which shows we could get tickets for and the prices. Amazing! The staff was top notch from the front end to the back. A1. In 53 years on the planet I have not received better service in a hotel. You have to go to a high end - very expensive - resorts to find service as good.

Don't miss Amy's Bakery just a few blocks away off ninth for out of this world baked goods - cake - for a reasonable price relative to NY.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I went to NYC on part business and pleasure and stayed at Sanctuary 3/22 - 3/24 2012. Sanctuary is a relatively new hotel (about 1 year old) and is beautifully decorated and designed (very funky and modern) and very clean. Located in Times Square on W47th between 6th and 7th, you are literally steps from Times Square. If you like boutique hotels, you will love this hotel. Like most boutique hotels it is small and the rooms are small, but UNLIKE many boutique hotels they make very good and practical use of the space so it doesn't feel small at all. The staff is incredibly nice and genuinely happy to see you every time you walk by them...almost every person we encountered that worked there started talking to us and asking about our stay and our time in NYC. The entire hotel atmosphere has a lounge feel with great music playing at all times...it literally makes you feel like it is a Sanctuary in the middle of NYC. The only thing that takes a little getting used to is the lighting. Because of the lounge feel, the common areas (only) are a bit dark because there is mostly accent lighting rather than general lighting. So it feels like evening at all times...it is an interesting experience when you walk out the front door and realize it is daylight. It took a little getting used to and even with our short stay, we got used to it very quickly. My wife and I actually liked it because it does make it feel like a sanctuary and an escape, even while being in the middle of NYC, so we found it calming. I would like to emphasize that only the common areas are a bit dark, the rooms themslves are NOT dark at all and are very bright and have great lighting. Lastly, I would like to give a shout out to the bartender, Rudy. Rudy was one of the first staff that we met (obviously because he works at the bar :). Rudy was very sociable and customer-service oriented. He has a great, fun attitude and is one of those bartenders that you can have long conversations with. I asked if he could make a pear martini and he said they didn't have the exact ingredients but immediately said "don't worry I will make you something". He used a combination of different ingredients (not sure what), and I loved it because it was unique. After that first night, he always remembered my name and would call out my name and say hello everytime I passed by. He encouraged us to come back for another drink. When he saw me and my wife approaching the bar area the next night, Rudy was already half way into making my martini before I even got there or said anything to him. This is the kind of service that you get from all the staff. They make you feel special. So I highly recommend this hotel and when you go to the bar, ask for Rudy and tell him Jason sent you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on tripadvisor.com.

Many would agree that our rooms are well appointed and we make every effort to maximize use of space in our design. I would also like to suggest that you try our deluxe rooms the next time that you stay with us. I trust that with the additional space and upgraded amenities, you will find more comfort for you stay.

We make every effort to try and create a Sanctuary experience for all our guests. I am glad that we were able to achieve this with your visit. We are also happy to hear that you and your wife thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. Our goal is to ensure that all experiences at the Sanctuary, are memorable, unique and genuine.

Rudy will be so ecstatic to read about your great comments and knowing that he was able to connect with you and make you feel at home brings a smile to all our faces.

We hope to see you and your wife back with us soon, especially for our rooftop lounge opening very soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed at The Sanctuary and was so impressed, we got home and booked it for another stay. Great location for a weekend theater getaway. Hotel within walking distance of all theaters. Took the train into Penn Station and hitched a subway up to hotel area. Very convenient as there is a subway stop within one block of hotel. Staff was wonderful and even received a free upgrade. Very clean and calming atmosphere. We would highly recommend anyone going to NYC to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DAE364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Knowing that you booked a return stay with us immediately after you returned home, is that biggest compliment that we could receive.

We can't wait to have you back again with us. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

For a short stay this hotel is an excellent choice, really close to the heart of Times Square. Liked their staff, their service and friendly environment. Excellent bedding, clean and comfortable room, needed for travelers like me that do a lot of walking and need a pleasant rest in your hotel.

Only suggestion, but understand is kind of a unique design style, is have either the lobby or other places with more natural light.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rcherre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed the comfort of our bed and linens. Thank you for the suggestions in regards to the lighting. Our design is constantly evolving, so suggestions are always appreciated.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#68 of 469 in New York City
3,272 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#85 of 469 in New York City
467 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 469 in New York City
3,103 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#28 of 469 in New York City
2,428 reviews
Midtown
The Premier Times Square by Millennium
The Premier Times Square by Mill...
#170 of 469 in New York City
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $307 - $772 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing