We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, love!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #70 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the sanctuary 2 nights and LOVED the whole experience. The location is phenomenal...situated just 1/2 a block East of Times Square. We arrived early on Friday, around 1:30, and immediately were escorted to our room. We loved that we could check in early as we wanted to freshen up a bit before hitting the city. The lobby was great - it smelled like cinnamon and was decorated beautifully creating a swanky and soultry atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and anxious to answer questions and make your stay perfect. The room was just right. A lot of reviews dubbed the rooms small...but I don't know what else you'd expect in the big city. We stayed in a superior king room and it was just perfect. All the amenities you need for a comfortable stay and the bed was amazingly comfortable. It was a little noisy at night as you're in the heart of Times Square, but I enjoyed falling asleep to the hustle and bustle of the city and my hubby wore ear plugs :-) we were on the front of the building on the 4th floor...such a cute view of the street below. The room was incredibly clean and linens were replaced each day - even though we hung them up as we don't mind reusing towels. Breakfast every morning was just right. Again, it's a continental free breakfast and people will complain about anything. We enjoyed both mornings. They had cereal, fresh fruit, pastries, muffins, bagels, spreads, hard boiled eggs, oj, water, coffee...and a toaster to toast your NY bagel :-) if you love a boutique hotel and you're looking for a great place to stay in NYC, look no further! The Sanctuary Hotel is a great little find in the city!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

We are so glad that you "loved" your experience with us.

The goal is to always go beyond expectations. All efforts are put in to create a visit that is tailored to each guest's specific needs. Our S.T.A.R. (Service Tailored to Any Request) philosophy is something we pride ourselves on and I'm delighted that we didn't disappoint you.

Should your travels bring you back to NYC, please think of the Sanctuary Hotel. We would love for you to come back to your second home.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,818 - 2,822 of 4,142 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2012

Location is perfect for Times Square which is a 2 minute walk, because you are not directly on Times Square the noise level is not too bad at all. The beds are amazing, never have I experienced such a comfortable bed in a hotel and I have stayed in quite a number over the years.
The breakfast is a simple continental but included which is quite unusual for New York, this saved quite a bit of time when we needed to be up and off to see the sights.
the rooftop bar is amazing especially at night
However, what makes this hotel stand out is the superb staff team, who maintained the personal touch throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they really cared about us enjoying our time in New York, they managed a delivery of a package for me which arrived before we did, accommodated my room request and even threw in a complimentary upgrade.
the concierge services provided by Brandon and Jacob were second to none.
Karen Chi was friendly and helpful throughout .
I don't know what the general manager pays them but I hope he realises what and asset they are to his business and rewards them well !

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We recently stayed at the Sanctuary during our trip to NYC to see The Who and do a little Christmas shopping. We had never used at the hotel but relied on the reviews we saw on Trip Advisor and booked our stay. The rooms are very nice - clean and well appointed with a funky/fun design - a real boutique hotel. What truly differentiates this hotel, though, are the people. We have travelled a lot and I can honestly say this was the friendliest group of hosts/hostesses we have ever encountered. It felt like they were having fun and that was very clearly conveyed in their interactions with us and, I'm sure, the rest of the guests. The other hidden gem, at least in our view, is Haven, the rooftop restaurant/bar. We spent time there both evenings and we really enjoyed ourselves. Being on the roof in winter (yes it is protected and heated) with the city lights as a backdrop was wonderful. They have adopted a ski-lodge theme which was a lot of fun.

We highly recommend Sanctuary!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This hotel is a little gem of a hotel in Times Square. It has a great location and the room was actually bigger than a lot of the rooms I had stayed in (especially in NYC). I decided on the deluxe queen. They had a great deal-- less than $200 for a Sunday night stay, two free cocktails, and free breakfast in the morning. The staff was very helpful and really easy to deal with, the room was clean, and it was in a great location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I had a wonderful time last week while staying three nights at the Sanctuary. I selected the "Arrive in Style" package and was treated like a king-- picked up at the airport in a Bentley and then assigned a personal concierge (Brandon) to help with making reservations and recommendations for food and attractions during my stay. The room size was great for NYC, very comfortable, and stylish. The rooftop restaurant/lounge was a fun place to relax and the servers went out of their way to make me feel "at home". The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. The location was perfect-- half a block from Times Square, near excellent restaurants, and close to the subway. I will definitely stay at the Sanctuary again and recommend it to others. -- Louis M.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#83 of 471 in New York City
3,317 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#26 of 471 in New York City
2,455 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#107 of 471 in New York City
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 471 in New York City
3,308 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $226 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing