We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No bedbugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #151 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I searched high and low for a place in NYC that was nice, in a good location and with NO bedbugs. I found it.

Pros:

It was clean!
Loved the bathroom mirrors -- a girl's dream. Huge and well lit...perfect for putting on your makeup for a night on the town.
Pretty good food from the restaurant downstairs (Rare Bar & Grill) and great service.
Quiet! Sometimes it was so quiet you'd forget you were in NYC (until we opened the window!).
Plenty of cable channels. More than I'm used to in a hotel.

Cons:

The bed was pretty firm. My BF and I both have bad backs so we were pretty stiff by the time we left.
Parking sucks...because there is none. The hotel charges $55/night. The garage across the street charges $36. I know it's NY but geeeez!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayellejaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,453 - 3,457 of 5,003 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

We booked this hotel for a family (extended family) weekend and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay in nice area (Lexington and 37th). The location was perfect - we walked everywhere and found many great restaurants within a 2 block walk for the most part. The rooms were perfect - big for NY and clean, modern, etc. Nice enough lobby and the staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank OttoMom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Dear OttoMom_11,
Thank you for your recent stay and positive comments on Comfort and Location including our clean, spacious and modern rooms. Thank you for the comments on our convenient location, "nice" lobby and pleasant staff.
We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely
George Drepaul CHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This is a good comfortable hotel to stay in Manhattan. The quality of service provided was well worth the price that we've paid. So.... please keep it up. Only down side I can think of is some walking is required (<10 mins) if you plan to use the metro. But for a family of 4 like us, taxi is abundant and cost the same in the end.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank I_K_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Congratulations Affinia for a great stay. Staff with welcoming smiles and willing to go that extra distance to make ones stay that much more comfortable. Rooms with great appointments , good linen on the beds and windows that open 6 inches if you , like me, prefer to go without aircon. Had a studio which even had a view of the river in the middle distance. Utilized the kitchenette as a great deli , Delmonico's, was a couple of blocks away. And the location was superb, a quiet part of Manhattan but close to Grand Central. What more could one want?

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CourteneyGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We chose the Affinia Shelburne primarily for the price, as we did not want to spend over $300 a night for a hotel room. On checking in, we were upgraded to a suite, which was a delightful surprise. We got a complimentary yoga mat and special pillow which was a very nice touch. On Sunday, we were given a complimentary NY Times. They really go all out for guests. The bed was very comfortable, and the sheets were wonderful. There's a terrific espresso bar just steps from the hotel that the concierge told us about.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank McGillMomAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#181 of 473 in New York City
1,475 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 473 in New York City
479 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signatu...
#100 of 473 in New York City
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#89 of 473 in New York City
1,954 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#144 of 473 in New York City
945 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#135 of 473 in New York City
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#31 Green Hotel in New York City
#40 Family Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#100 Business Hotel in New York City
#115 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: S$221 - S$597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing