We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #126 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NYC hidden gem”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed at the Affina Shelburne with my sister for my 21st birthday and it was fantastic. Clean and comfortable and incredibly quiet. The oversized rooms was perfect for our shopping escape. The room was emmaculately serviced daily. We enjoyed and took full advantage of the experience packs they had on offer - esp the picnic pack. The staff were so friendly and ready to help. The location was great also a very short walk from the crysler building and empire state, a short walk to times square. The resturant downstairs was amazing, the breakfast was great as was the dinner. Can not fault it. Highly recommend it. It was safe and outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChloeL019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,443
    1,717
    366
    134
    85
See reviews for
1,493
1,466
215
578
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We found this hotel on internet and searched for a hotel within walking distance of main attractions but quieter location. Decided as a weeks stay to upgrade to a delux 1 bed suite -it was worth every penny! The hotel rates we felt were very reasonable for the area. Spacious with the wonderful views that we requested. We only used the well equipped kitchen for breakfast, a real bonus as only wanted cereal and coffee. However, UK visitors need to be aware that cutlery, dishes etc not provided in hotel. We had a friend who loaned them to us but a good idea to pack picnic style plates and cutlery if booking room with kitchen. All the staff were incredibly polite, helpful and always cheerful. This hotel made our first stay in Manhatten a real experience and one we won't forget (along with the amount of walking we did to keep fit, American portions are huge!). It was great after a long day to relax in the living room with cold beer or spritzers before embarking on the night life. This hotel is within an easy stroll of Broadway, Empire State and Chysler building and we even walked to the Guggenheim beside Central park and down to Greenwich Village for evening jazz.. Lots of good reasonable restaurants close by and the Rare on site also worth a visit. I have already recommended to friends hoping to visit the City this Autumn.

Room Tip: Suite with view. We had 15th floor and balcony but unsure whether this might be noisy when roof top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheelagh25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Good:
- Wonderful clean room and bath.
- Kitchen with convection oven (much better than a microwave, folks, you can make a whole meal in the room if you have the time). And our maid even did our dishes. I brought pop tarts and other snack foods with me to make for the kids in the morning.
- Our maid on the 15th floor during the week was so fantastic that we felt like our mother was taking care of us. Every night we looked forward to walking into that quiet room that was so well kept. Delightful lady.
- Door man extremely helpful.
- Front desk staff extremely friendly and helpful. I cannot remember the name of this gorgeous young lady who was such a delight (you know who you are, honey) who was embarassed that our room wasn't ready but made it right with a couple of free drinks and that award-winning smile of hers. We gave her a bottle of champagne as a gift as we left.
- Gym on floor 2 had very modern equipment for a real workout
- Fantastic location, we walked home almost every night
- Great places to eat right by

Just so you know issues:
- Just like all older buildings, not enough elevators, there is a wait but not a horrible issue
- Just like most older buildings, air conditioning is an "all building" affair. If the hotel chooses to turn air conditioning on, you have it in your room. But if the hotel chooses to keep the heat on, then you get no air conditioning in your room. We managed by opening windows at night to cool the room, but we had a quiet room. Don't know how that would have been on the street in front of the hotel.
- If you want a fabulous view, I'm sure they have decent views, but we didn't have that. We looked in to other rooms' windows. We didn't care. You have views all day long while you walk your feet off in Manhattan. In our case, staring into other windows meant we had QUIET at night. So quiet, we couldn't believe it.
- Rollout sofa is not comfortable. I am sure they would bring a rollout bed if we asked. Instead I had packed a blow up mattress for my son anyway in case the sofa was uncomfortable. We put it on the rollout sofa. And our fabulous maid simply made up the sofa each day with the mattress on it!

A wonderful haven and refuge in the middle of Manhattan. We will absolutely return.

Room Tip: Hi floor, and if you don't care about a view, tell them so. They might give you a better room b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Upintheairtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Overall a good experience but with some niggles. Room was a good size, clean with good bathroom. Had a fitness centre on the 2nd floor as well which was a nice bonus. The restaurant attached to the hotel also had a great atmosphere with beautiful burgers!
The mini bar was never re-stocked and then couldn't get an itemised bill at the end of the stay. Try and get a room away from the lifts if you can.
In addition, the air conditioning wasnt working although it was unseasonally warm during our stay. The request for a fan took some time to sort out. Like I said a couple of small issues which didn't detract from the overall experience.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Benno1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Excellent service and great room with a full kitchenette- microwave and fridge. Great central location. Room was nice and big and bed comfy!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Starla579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#112 of 468 in New York City
4,826 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#145 of 468 in New York City
1,282 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#190 of 468 in New York City
5,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#65 of 468 in New York City
5,015 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,976 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#96 of 468 in New York City
2,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $317 - $684
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing