We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affinity for Affinia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #141 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I swear by the Affinia group for clean, reasonably priced and well-located rooms in NYC. I've stayed at the Affinia 50, the Eastgate Tower and now the Shelburne. The location is great, a few blocks from Grand Central Station and subway access. It is a relatively quiet neighborhood with lots of cheap places to eat on Lexington and around the corner on Second. The room was clean and comfortable, and staffers were pleasant. We arrived at around 10 am and were able to check in immediately, which was nice. I had just two complaints. There was no door on the shower and it was hard to avoid splashing water on the bathroom floor. Also the walls were very thin. I was so exhausted from a day of walking that I slept like a rock, but the noise bothered my boyfriend a bit. Overall, very impressed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Penzgirl,
Thank you for your recent stay and providing valuable feedback .Thank you for your comments on our superb location, clean, comfortable rooms and pleasant staff.
Your comments are appreciated and assist us in improving our product and services.
We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely
George Drepaul CHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,243 - 3,247 of 4,966 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

We could not believe the quality of this hotel after reading all the glowing reviews. The furnishings were chipped and low quality, the room dingy, and there was significant mold in the shower. We asked for more towels and received, instead, a large bag of shampoo etc., so had to make another call. And the worst part? The hotel restaurant displayed a "B" health rating. We did not see another restaurant in all of New York that weekend, including Chinatown, that got a B. It was inconvenient to have to go elsewhere to eat breakfast. On the plus side, front desk service was excellent, and the location is indeed superb.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Momtravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Momtravels2,
Thank you for your recent stay and your valuable feedback. I am sorry your stay was less than perfect and your feedback will assist us to address the issues and service inconsistencies. It will be very helpful to me if you can identify your room number and I will personally inspect and follow up. We are already looking out for these deficiencies in our daily preventative maintenance program.
I am happy to report Rare Restaurant now have an A rating.
Thank you for the comments on excellent service and superb location.
Again, my apologies and hope to hear from you soon.
Sincerely,
George Drepaul CHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Really lovely Hotel, we were checked in by Anndy and he was very helpful and cheerful, he made the whole process very quick and easy. We stayed for St Patricks weekend and the city was very busy, however we were made to feel very welcome and the staff were always on hand. Our room was spotless we stayed in 1113 and even had a view of the Empire State Building. I've stayed in many different hotels in NYC and this is easily one the largest rooms I've stayed in - surprisingly big for New York.
Located between Grand Central and 33rd st subway stations and a short walk to 5th Ave and Times sq, its is a good location just out of the way of the hustle and bustle. I would definately recommend this hotel to my friends and family.
The only criticism I have is that we found it hard to control the temperature in the room at night and it was very warm. I wouldnt leave this put me off though as everything else was perfect. We ordered a taxi from the Bellman to bring us to the Airport at 6am and it even turned up 5mins early. lovely stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cocopopsb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Can't get much better for the price you pay. The location is perfect, the staff are lovely and the rooms are full of character, clean and a reasonable size.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeeWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Overall good experience. Room size was great for the price. My only issue was the room smelled like someone had been smoking in it. I didn't complain because I wasn't in the room long enough for it to bother me. The location is wonderful, just a short walk to Grand Central and other subway stops. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#177 of 471 in New York City
1,452 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 471 in New York City
453 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#88 of 471 in New York City
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#113 of 471 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#96 of 471 in New York City
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#40 Family Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $214 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing