We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean hotel, family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #130 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recommend asking for a high floor if it's available. We arrived and were assigned the 3rd floor room. It was clean and had a little view of the empire state building. However, at night it was very loud (people hanging out in front of hotel talking loud) and early morning trash truck noise. We asked for a room on a higher level, and after about a day, they were able to accommodate our request once a room opened on the 10th floor. Much better! . NYC never sleeps so there's a lot of noise! They offer a daily perk of $10 credit towards drinks or snacks, which my kids loved and picked out a treat every morning. It's a few blocks from Grand Central subway station which connects all over the city, so that's a big plus! On Sunday's there was a big street fair/flea market on Lexington, so it was great to be able to walk there within a few minutes time. Sarge's Deli is about a block and 1/2 away on 3rd and open 24/7. Great place to eat with the family! Staff was friendly and helpful, especially with the request for changing the room. Beds very comfortable, with plenty of pillow choices from their pillow menu, and blankets were soft. I am picky about my bed and pillow and they did not disappoint! Room was a decent size with 2 queen beds, so perfect for my family of 4 (2 kids ages 7 and 9). We had a slight view of the empire state bldg. (if we pressed our face against the window..LOL) but still, it was a nice room, with great staff and awesome location close to everything. Walking distance to subways, local deli for breakfast and Grand Central Marketplace, where my son enjoyed fresh sushi and of course Magnolia Bakery!

Room Tip: ask for a high floor to avoid a lot of street noise and early morning trash trucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Wine_Lovers225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Wine Lovers 25,

As the General Manager of the Shelburne, I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Please be assured I will share your insights with our executive team to follow up accordingly. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Shelburne the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 4,892 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I'm really disappointed after my stay in the hotel. It doesn't worth the price. It's confortable and well located but it has nothing special. And if you wake up early, forget the breakfast, it starts at 7 AM!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank avadjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear advadjam,

As the General Manager of the Shelburne, I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Please be assured I will share your insights with our executive team to follow up accordingly and can be reached at Jennifer.baldwin@denihan.com if you would like to discuss your experience in greater detail. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Shelburne the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were in town for the weekend to catch a few shows, eat some pizza, and do a little sightseeing. This is a beautiful boutique hotel in Murray Hill, which is away from the bustle (as much as one can get away) but still walkably close to Times Square (20 min.)

The rooms were well kept and looked fairly modern; it wasn't huge but fine by NYC standards, and our room had two queen-sized beds (most I had found had two full beds.) Which were very comfortable.

There's a daily facility fee, but everyone seems to charge one these days, and it lets you grab $10 of snacks out of the 1st Floor "pantry." Wifi worked well. There are nearby parking garages if you don't need daily in-out privileges. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockcreek_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear rockcreek_md,

As the General Manager of the Shelburne, I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Please be assured I will share your insights with our executive team to follow up accordingly. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Shelburne the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great location, with a busy inviting ambience. Happy with room, space and availability of bike rentals. Really looked forward to returning after 2 memorable and positive experiences in the past. So disappointed to be treated with disdain and such an attitude of superiority and condescension by 2 of the reception staff. Difficult to comprehend what ticks their boxes of good customer service when all they reflect is the gross inconvenience of having to check you in, or even answer a simple question. The supreme award of worst receptionist in my ever experience award goes to their late shifter, who really went out of her way to make me consider this hotel absolutely last, on any list, anywhere. Bad job, Affinia.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
4  Thank Phillip V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Philip V,

As the General Manager of the Shelburne, I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Please be assured I will share your insights with our executive team to follow up accordingly. I would like the opportunity to discuss your experience in greater detail and can be reached at Jennifer.baldwin@denihan.com. We do sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Shelburne the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved our stay at the Shelburne. We had originally booked The Dumont but were moved over after it was sold off and we were more than happy with the Shelburne. The rooms are huge and great value for money and the location is excellent, situated very close to so many places of interest yet far enough away that you can relax and rest. We didn't hear any traffic noise from our room aside from a couple of faint sirens.

We stayed in Room 1414 a one bedroom deluxe suite which had a separate bedroom with 2 very comfortable queens, a separate full size lounge room, a small kitchen and a lovely well appointed bathroom with all the products you could need. The room had ample storage space, comfortable amenities, ice in the fridge, and everything else we needed. This room was a little dark as it is at the back of the building,but made for a great sleep and does have plenty of lights and lamps.

Our room was cleaned immaculately by the staff and on several mornings we ran into Bibi in the hall who greeted us warmly and asked if we had any special requests for our room. We also received lovely notes from Bibi thanking us for our tip and wishing us a lovely day (a very special touch).

All the staff we encountered were so friendly and welcoming, but a special shout out to Denis who wished us well each morning and asked about our days plans, always with a huge smile.

The rooftop bar is an added bonus in this hotel. At night when you are exhausted but still want to enjoy a rooftop bar, it is so easy to just go upstairs and even on the nights when the bar closed early because it was quiet or raining, we still went upstairs and took in the amazing views. The drinks are pricey but expected for the amazing views and location. The guac and chips were pretty good too.

We didn't have a problem waiting for the lifts with the longest wait maybe two minutes in peak morning time. We didn't attend one of the wine hours but did notice that it was very popular. We also did use the Wifi and did find the speed to be really good at all times.

We found the location of the hotel excellent with great restaurants, diners and bagel stores very close by, as well as two markets within a couple of blocks. Grand Central less than 10 minutes walk, 33rd station approx 5 minutes, Empire State Building, Macys, Bryant Park, The Public Library, The Morgan Library (although being renovated), Madison Square Park & Flatiron all within walking distance.

As you can tell from all of the above, we were more than happy with everything about our stay and will definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed: August 2017
4  Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kim G,


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a five star review on TripAdvisor. As the General Manager of the Shelburne, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your extended stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#167 of 469 in New York City
1,372 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#98 of 469 in New York City
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#31 of 469 in New York City
371 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#149 of 469 in New York City
523 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#104 of 469 in New York City
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
#105 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $279 - $676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing