We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay--Hotel Stanford, NYC”
Review of Hotel Stanford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Stanford
Ranked #305 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 11 July 2006

In June, my 2 college-aged daughters, myself, my friend, and her college-aged daughter stayed at the Hotel Stanford. We were very pleased with our stay. The location was the BEST! Close to many things. We walked to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building and even Central Park to name a few. A subway station was close by which we also used. We had no problems with check in and check out. The room we had consisted of 2 double beds, a couch that rolled out, and a small refrigerator. There was plenty of room for all 5 of us. The bathroom was also clean. When we called for extra towels and washcloths and they were always promptly delivered. We had the continental breakfast which was ok. It consisted of pastries, toast, bagels, cold cereals, and some fruit. Get there early for the best selection. On our last day our flight did not leave until 7pm and they locked up our luggage after we checked out which allowed us a few more hours to tour the city. We felt very safe staying there and touring NYC. We had a great time and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

818 - 822 of 1,684 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2006

Just returned from a very pleasant 6 night stay at the Stanford. This mother-daughter trip to NYC was a graduation gift to our daughter. Shopping, sights, and shows were the focus of our trip - and we wanted a hotel that was conveniently located, safe, and clean. Not only did the Stanford meet our expectations, it exceeded them. How so??? Two reasons ... #1) The STAFF were amazing. Everyone from the front desk staff, to the doormen, to housekeeping was responsive to our every request and eager to offer assistance. On one stop by the front desk, my daughter asked about where she might get a hair appointment in the neighborhood. Without hesitation, the desk clerk picked up the phone and arranged an appointment with her stylist for that same day. On a daily basis, the staff provided us with information and assistance that made our trip go smoothly. #2) The LOCATION - on 32nd W between Broadway and Fifth Avenue! Subway station at the corner, Macy's around one corner, the Empire State Bldg around the other --- and, an added bonus for our Korean-American adoptive family ... the Stanford is smack in the middle of Koreatown! Wonderful Korean restaurants and shops all along 32nd St. Within a day of our returning home, we were recommending the Stanford to others in the Korean-American adoptive community. We'll definitely return to the Stanford.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank CADSMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2006

Overall good hotel for NYC,excellent location very clean rooms and a nice bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Zestforlife44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2006

My friends & I booked this hotel for our April visit to march in the protest. We got one of the larger rooms, for 3 (two doubles & a sofa pull-out). Check-in was quick & easy. The room was clean, comfortable, & quiet. My only complaint was the very slow elevator. It was also larger than the room we had at the Avalon when we stayed there in February. The hotel is in the middle of Korea Town, between Broadway & 5th Avenue on West 32nd Street. Although it offers a free breakfast, we never ate there since we either got up too late or had to be elsewhere at breakfast time. The Brooklyn Bagel Cafe on the corner of 5th & W. 32nd is a good place to stop & they have 2 internet terminals upstairs where you eat. The Empire State Building is around the corner. There are 2 drugstores & a Starbucks (if you must) within one block of the hotel on 5th Avenue as well.

For an interesting cultural experience, get the body scrub & massage combo at Spadium a couple of doors down towards Broadway from the hotel. :) Apparently they don't get too many Americans because one of the guests spoke with me in the sauna & asked how I liked America.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WolverineDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2006

I just got back from NYC after staying at the stanford for 4 nights. It was pretty much what I expected. The rooms were decent sized..and it was clean. Nothing fancy or extra but fine for getting ready in the morning and sleeping at night. The staff was very helpful and nice. The breakfast in the moring was good..a lot of bagels and bread...I wish there had been some fruit or other things like that...but it was included and got us on our way. I would stay here again if I was looking for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank chevrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#337 of 471 in New York City
2,840 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#302 of 471 in New York City
2,656 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#367 of 471 in New York City
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Radisson Martinique on Broadway
Radisson Martinique on Broadway
#236 of 471 in New York City
4,841 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#281 of 471 in New York City
1,894 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#324 of 471 in New York City
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stanford

Address: 43 West 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10001-3805
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $128 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stanford 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Stanford NYC is a boutique urban retreat offering 124 cozy rooms and suites. Each one is beautifully equipped to meet the needs of Manhattan business and leisure travelers with plush, premium bedding, Bath & Body Works amenities and 42-inch plasma televisions with cable channels. Designed with the idea that today’s guest seeks out authentic connections to the cities they visit, Hotel Stanford offers warm, friendly pied-à-terre moments from New York City’s most famous attractions, restaurants and shopping, including the Empire State Building, Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Theatre and Garment Districts and Times Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing