We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Christmas engagement at the Waldorf=Astoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #259 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My partner and I decided to spend Christmas in New York so we treated ourselves to the Waldorf=Astoria as it’s a famous and iconic hotel.
I booked a 4night stay through our Travel Agent (Thomas Cook) and booked a King Deluxe room. I emailed the Waldorf a couple of weeks before our visit to confirm our booking details and the Waldorf responded very quickly to advise that we had a Queen room booked, I queried this with them because I booked a king room with the Travel Agent and the Waldorf responded to my email very quickly again and confirmed they had changed the room to a king deluxe.

We were on the 16th Floor. Room 1642
The room is how we expected it as we have read previous reviews on trip advisor.
Yes it’s a tad dated but it is an old/iconic hotel.
The bed was SOOOOOOOO comfortable and the bathrobes and bath towels were very fluffy and soft.
We had a nice view from our room

The staff are VERY friendly.

My partner proposed to me on Christmas eve (YaY) and he had contacted the concierge to arrange champagne and rose petals to be in the room that evening.
My partner said they were very helpful with contacting the florists etc.
The following night (Christmas day) we returned to the room to find a complimentary bottle of champagne with strawberries and chocolates courtesy of the Waldorf as a congratulations.

There is a starbucks in the hotel, the queue for a coffee in the mornings were very long. Apparently we were the 1st couple to say ‘Happy Christmas’ to the starbucks staff on Christmas day. That’s quite sad isn’t it.


The location is awesome!!!!
We were able to comfortably walk to the big attractions such as Times Square, the Rockefeller, Grand Central Station and Broadway


Again I must express how helpful the staff were and made this a very pleasant stay.

Photos attached

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracey1983uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,035 - 8,039 of 11,541 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

We spent 5 nights here for our anniversary trip to NYC. The hotel is an old building with what some might describe as dated decor, however, this just adds to the charm. We upgraded to a suite (500R) and we were really pleased with the accommodation. High ceilings, loads of space, yet modern plasma TV in both the bedroom and sitting room, although we hardly watched TV as there is so much to do in NYC.
What sets the hotel apart though is the service, especially the breakfast team, who can't do enough for you and are always around to top up water, orange, coffee etc.
The location is brilliant as well, only a couple of blocks from 5th Avenue and there are copious restaurants and bars within easy walking distance.
Would definitely return to NYC and will probably book the Waldorf again as we really enjoyed the whole experience.

Room Tip: The rooms to the back of the hotel may be quieter, street noise though in an busy city centre has to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKSAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My second visit to the Waldorf Astoria in several years confirmed by initial impression; which is that the hotel is ultimately lacking. The building itself is a wonderful historical landmark and the foyer is a fascinating place to feel the history and just watch the ebb and flow of New York society. However as a place to stay the Waldorf falls short. The rooms have the same historical ambience and are acceptable. It must be hard to deal with the sheer volume of guests however the service, while courteous, lacks any sincerity. On both occasions I have felt that the staff are just too busy to provide the kind of service that most will expect from a hotel of the Waldorf's stature and reputation. Having stayed twice I feel no need to return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brett044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at the Waldorf for two nights at the end of our trip after a longer stay in another New York hotel. There is no doubt that it is a beautiful property that is worth a visit, however, there is a constant feeling that the staff are only happy to serve you whilst they wait for someone more "important" to catch their attention. This was not the case in the other (more expensive) New York hotel that we stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ozmumwith12yrold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

What can i say about this luxury hotel it really was a holiday that we will never forget, the staff was amazing, any thing needed from room service to concierge (graham ) was our guy and he directed us to some top places to eat from Xmas day in a very good steak house Benjamins good menu and great wine. We had another fantastic meal at the bull and bear which is underneath the hotel and the service was second to none........I have read some reviews saying that its a little run down i just think for a hotel as old as it is its in great shape it is old but i think it adds to character truly a brilliant stay .......

Room Tip: i think most rooms where good just dont get one near an ice machine that would do my head in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dannydappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#93 of 469 in New York City
2,376 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#82 of 469 in New York City
3,558 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#105 of 469 in New York City
1,204 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#55 of 469 in New York City
755 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#108 of 469 in New York City
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in New York City
#177 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $433 - $2,441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing