We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the beds - too die”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #258 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2015

ok so pros and cons to this institution. Its a HUGE huge hotel - almost too big. When we arrived there was no one at the door to help with luggage ( not good) but we were upgraded immediately at check in, the hotel is dated for sure but has old world charm. The beds - the beds - I have never slept in a bed like at the Waldorf. They are simply the best beds in the world. If you don't mind old world charm with an amazing bed you'll love it here - the customer service could use a little kick in the pants depending on who you speak to. All in all I do love staying here tho.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank kaok39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget M, Assistant Director of Front Office Operations at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Dear kaok39,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Waldorf Astoria! We frequently hear from our guests that their nights' sleep in our beds and some of the most (if not THE most) enjoyable nights of sleep ever, and it is wonderful to learn that this was your experience. It is also wonderful to learn that you enjoyed your upgrade upon arrival. We wish we could do this more often!

We should have had a doorman in place to help you with your bags; it sounds as if you came in through the Park Avenue entrance and with heavy bags our goal is the motor court. Our responsibility is to direct the driver properly in this case. I apologize for any confusion or inconvenience there.

We appreciate you taking the time to write the review and recognize the mild comment on service- need to focus on that at all times! We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Waldorf in the near future.

Warm regards,
Bridget Moore
Assistant Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,797 - 3,801 of 11,542 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2015

I stayed here for 5 nights on a business trip, so convenience for my office was the main driver for booking the hotel. The lobby is an experience in its own right, with an amazing ceiling and plenty of historic knick-knacks to keep a visitor entertained. However, I had to wait to check-in and check-out, and the queues at some times were quite long. My room was distinctly average - clean and comfortable but very tired, in need of freshening up. Concierge service was first-class - friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. An ok location for a business trip, but not a romance spot.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
Thank looptail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget M, Assistant Director of Front Office Operations at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Dear looptail,

Thank you for your review. It was disappointing for our team to read that, in your words, your experience here was not as expected. While I am pleased to read that you were impressed by our service, location, lobby, and our historical element, it is clear that we were unable to leave you with an overall feeling of luxury.

We understand that no one likes to wait to check in or out, and while we are proud to have so many guests visit our reception to check in every day, I apologize that you were inconvenienced by a line. The process at the front desk is designed to be relatively quick, with the provision of payment method, assignment of the room and little else normally necessary. I don't know what would have created such a lag.

I would like to share that we are currently planning for a restoration of our property so that every detail will match the highest standard of luxury. We hope for the opportunity to share the results of this work firsthand with you in the future.

My best,
Bridget Moore
Assistant Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2015

Really nice place. Beautiful lobby. Lunch is pricey (about $30 for a salad or a burger) but very tasty. Bull n Bear is a great bar, a NYC landmark. Beautiful place in the heard of NYC. I'll be back...

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget M, Assistant Director of Front Office Operations at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Dear Todd,

Thank you for your kind review! It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest, and that you were able to visit our Peacock Alley & Bull & Bear Prime Steakhouse outlets.

Our goal is to provide the best possible services and amenities so that our guests won't want to leave. I hope that when you did check out, you left with a yearning to return. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to the Waldorf!

My best,
Bridget Moore
Assistant Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Waldorf as we were getting married in New York and wanted something extra special so we immediately thought of the Waldorf-astoria! The size of the rooms is something that you will struggle to find elsewhere in New York. As you walk into the lobby you definitely get that wow factor, which is what we wanted. But as you can imagine, based on the age of the hotel, there is limited modern facilities. If they were to invest or provide services that some modern hotels are now starting to offer, such as include wifi/coffee machine with your room rates the waldorf would see no equal. Saying that, everything is available but just expect to have your wallet take a hit!
All the staff are polite and will help if you have any queries but you are definitely treated in a swift and efficient manner, which is more than you could hope for in most hotels, but in a hotel with the reputation of the Waldorf I would expect them to try and go that extra distance to ensure your stay is the best it could possibly be.
Fantastic hotel and is definitely an experience but in some ways it is just not quite there...
Just to be clear, I am being picky, but I think you can be with a hotel that wants,and should be, in the upper elite

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget M, Assistant Director of Front Office Operations at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Dear Chris,

Thank you for choosing the Waldorf Astoria as your host for your recent visit to NYC for your wedding! We have a long history of being the backdrop for events of significance and it was a treat to see that you'll always have fond memories of the small part we played in celebrating your marriage.

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to post about how you felt the "wow factor" as soon as you walked in our entrance, and I appreciate your review as it provides feedback that I need to re-evaluate guest needs and make the necessary adjustments to our offerings.

We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to the Waldorf in the future, as it would be a pleasure to help recreate the magic of your wedding night.

Yours in service,
Bridget Moore
Assistant Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2015

I have just returned from a wonderful and very snowy New York ,we stayed at the Waldorf Astoria for 6 night's . We arrived on the Sunday after a very long delay due to problem with our plane (we were actually due to stay 7 night's ) and we were obviously very tired after our delay and transatlantic flight , but we found check in very quick and efficient and within minutes we were in our room. Our room was huge and very clean ,and the bed's were so comfortable ,we were on the 11th floor and our room was on the corner of the building so we had different view's from each window! The hotel is like stepping into the past with lot's of old photograph's of famous people in the hallway's ,we were so pleased to see photo's of our late Queen Mother and also photograph's of Edward and Mrs Simpson who had graced this iconic hotel many year's ago ! We ate breakfast every morning in Oscars restaurant and the food and service was excellent ,we also had Dinner at the Bull and Bear and lunch at Sir Harry's Bar all a little pricey (due to poor exchange rate of the British pound ) but well worth the price ! We stayed at the Hotel during the January snow and saw New York sleep due to the ban of car's on the road's on the Monday evening ,but we found life goes on and all the staff coped very well. We are already looking at staying at the hotel in 2016 so you can see how much we enjoyed staying here ,from the wonderful location to the fabulous staff this is a wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank maureendavies55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget M, Assistant Director of Front Office Operations at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Dear maureendavies55,

Thank you for taking the time to craft your wonderful review of the Waldorf Astoria New York. It sure is nice to cozy up in a spacious, comfortable room after a long flight, after a warm, hospitable welcome to an iconic hotel, isn't it?

I greatly appreciate your kind words as to your room, from our comfortable beds to the great views you enjoyed from your corner accommodation. It is also delightful to read that you were able to take in elements of our historical significance and experience the ambiance in all three of our restaurant outlets.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2016! In the meantime, keep in touch with the Waldorf NYC by following us on social media.

Yours in service,
Bridget Moore
Assistant Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#97 of 469 in New York City
2,377 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#81 of 469 in New York City
3,568 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#105 of 469 in New York City
1,209 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#53 of 469 in New York City
760 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#112 of 469 in New York City
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in New York City
#177 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $430 - $2,422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing