We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waldorf Astoria New York
Nearby Hotels
US$170
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)
US$186
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$123
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$217
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$118
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Conrad New York(New York City)
US$401
US$374
Conrad.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (11,572)
Filter reviews
11,572 results
Traveller rating
4,666
3,153
2,083
1,080
590
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,666
3,153
2,083
1,080
590
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbull and bearpeacock alleyiconic hotelpark avenuenew yorkart decoroom servicebeautiful lobbyan upgradechrysler buildingone bedroom suitecorner roomgrand central stationrockefeller centertimes squareoscarsnyc
Filter
Updating list...
3,818 - 3,823 of 11,572 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2015

I stayed here for 5 nights on a business trip, so convenience for my office was the main driver for booking the hotel. The lobby is an experience in its own right, with an amazing ceiling and plenty of historic knick-knacks to keep a visitor entertained. However, I had to wait to check-in and check-out, and the queues at some times were quite long. My room was distinctly average - clean and comfortable but very tired, in need of freshening up. Concierge service was first-class - friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. An ok location for a business trip, but not a romance spot.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
Thank looptail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget M, Assistant Director of Front Office Operations at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Dear looptail,

Thank you for your review. It was disappointing for our team to read that, in your words, your experience here was not as expected. While I am pleased to read that you were impressed by our service, location, lobby, and our historical element, it is clear that we were unable to leave you with an overall feeling of luxury.

We understand that no one likes to wait to check in or out, and while we are proud to have so many guests visit our reception to check in every day, I apologize that you were inconvenienced by a line. The process at the front desk is designed to be relatively quick, with the provision of payment method, assignment of the room and little else normally necessary. I don't know what would have created such a lag.

I would like to share that we are currently planning for a restoration of our property so that every detail will match the highest standard of luxury. We hope for the opportunity to share the results of this work firsthand with you in the future.

My best,
Bridget Moore
Assistant Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2015

Really nice place. Beautiful lobby. Lunch is pricey (about $30 for a salad or a burger) but very tasty. Bull n Bear is a great bar, a NYC landmark. Beautiful place in the heard of NYC. I'll be back...

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget M, Assistant Director of Front Office Operations at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Dear Todd,

Thank you for your kind review! It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest, and that you were able to visit our Peacock Alley & Bull & Bear Prime Steakhouse outlets.

Our goal is to provide the best possible services and amenities so that our guests won't want to leave. I hope that when you did check out, you left with a yearning to return. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to the Waldorf!

My best,
Bridget Moore
Assistant Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Waldorf as we were getting married in New York and wanted something extra special so we immediately thought of the Waldorf-astoria! The size of the rooms is something that you will struggle to find elsewhere in New York. As you walk into the lobby you definitely get that wow factor, which is what we wanted. But as you can imagine, based on the age of the hotel, there is limited modern facilities. If they were to invest or provide services that some modern hotels are now starting to offer, such as include wifi/coffee machine with your room rates the waldorf would see no equal. Saying that, everything is available but just expect to have your wallet take a hit!
All the staff are polite and will help if you have any queries but you are definitely treated in a swift and efficient manner, which is more than you could hope for in most hotels, but in a hotel with the reputation of the Waldorf I would expect them to try and go that extra distance to ensure your stay is the best it could possibly be.
Fantastic hotel and is definitely an experience but in some ways it is just not quite there...
Just to be clear, I am being picky, but I think you can be with a hotel that wants,and should be, in the upper elite

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget M, Assistant Director of Front Office Operations at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Dear Chris,

Thank you for choosing the Waldorf Astoria as your host for your recent visit to NYC for your wedding! We have a long history of being the backdrop for events of significance and it was a treat to see that you'll always have fond memories of the small part we played in celebrating your marriage.

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to post about how you felt the "wow factor" as soon as you walked in our entrance, and I appreciate your review as it provides feedback that I need to re-evaluate guest needs and make the necessary adjustments to our offerings.

We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to the Waldorf in the future, as it would be a pleasure to help recreate the magic of your wedding night.

Yours in service,
Bridget Moore
Assistant Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2015

I have just returned from a wonderful and very snowy New York ,we stayed at the Waldorf Astoria for 6 night's . We arrived on the Sunday after a very long delay due to problem with our plane (we were actually due to stay 7 night's ) and we were obviously very tired after our delay and transatlantic flight , but we found check in very quick and efficient and within minutes we were in our room. Our room was huge and very clean ,and the bed's were so comfortable ,we were on the 11th floor and our room was on the corner of the building so we had different view's from each window! The hotel is like stepping into the past with lot's of old photograph's of famous people in the hallway's ,we were so pleased to see photo's of our late Queen Mother and also photograph's of Edward and Mrs Simpson who had graced this iconic hotel many year's ago ! We ate breakfast every morning in Oscars restaurant and the food and service was excellent ,we also had Dinner at the Bull and Bear and lunch at Sir Harry's Bar all a little pricey (due to poor exchange rate of the British pound ) but well worth the price ! We stayed at the Hotel during the January snow and saw New York sleep due to the ban of car's on the road's on the Monday evening ,but we found life goes on and all the staff coped very well. We are already looking at staying at the hotel in 2016 so you can see how much we enjoyed staying here ,from the wonderful location to the fabulous staff this is a wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank maureendavies55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget M, Assistant Director of Front Office Operations at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Dear maureendavies55,

Thank you for taking the time to craft your wonderful review of the Waldorf Astoria New York. It sure is nice to cozy up in a spacious, comfortable room after a long flight, after a warm, hospitable welcome to an iconic hotel, isn't it?

I greatly appreciate your kind words as to your room, from our comfortable beds to the great views you enjoyed from your corner accommodation. It is also delightful to read that you were able to take in elements of our historical significance and experience the ambiance in all three of our restaurant outlets.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2016! In the meantime, keep in touch with the Waldorf NYC by following us on social media.

Yours in service,
Bridget Moore
Assistant Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2015

This hotel is a landmark in its own right. I have stayed at the Waldorf many times and my experience is almost always the same - the beds are comfortable, rooms usually a decent size - but it just feels so dated. The shower is always difficult to adjust and get the proper tempature. Staff are great and the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget M, Assistant Director of Front Office Operations at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Dear PK88,

Thank you for your continued loyalty and patronage to the Waldorf Astoria. It is a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed our comfortable beds and spacious accommodations in the past, and that you came back on a recent occasion to enjoy them again.

Your comments on our staff and location are also much appreciated. Note that I did not glance over your mild comment as to our need for a little TLC. While many of our rooms at the moment have renovated in the past few years, I would like to share that we are currently planning for a full restoration of our hotel to its former grandeur in the future. We hope to share our bright future with you!

Yours in service,
Bridget Moore
Assistant Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews