We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Ranked #44 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Highly recommend this hotel. We have sent my in-laws twice for their anniversary. Great location, very nice service and very affordable for what you are getting. Rooms are a nice size compared to similar hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnsenEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear HandKj,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay that you have referred your in laws to hotel.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,604 - 1,608 of 2,366 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed here for my husband's 50th birthday and just could not fault it. Excellent service from start to finish and we would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in New York. It's central location made it an ideal base. Rooms were a really good size, there was even a coffee maker which was great. The Wheeltapper bar and restaurant were excellent. Having this hotel for a base was ideal and helped to make our week even more special.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Jennie G,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to read that you chose us for a special occasion, your husbands 50th birthday. I see that the stay was thoroughly enjoyed.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Stayed here in November, lovely hotel, really nice decor in room really clean. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Food in wheeltapper was really nice my only complaint was that the portions were too big!!!! Great place to stay in New York and really central, highly recommend

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Alison D,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Stayed here this week - just one night - room was very small for a queen room. Air con was incredibly noisy and empty mini bar inside in a large dresser reverberated all night on and off. I couldn't switch it off.

On the other hand - what will definitely bring me back to this hotel is the staff. The receptionist - a lovely Irish girl on a one year work visa made the difference to my stay. She was the star of the show when I needed some help - kind, helpful, poised - so well done Fitzpatrick's for recruiting quality staff. I will stay again.

Room Tip: Maybe ask about the room first - I will in future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gourmand60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Eileen O,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I apologise for the noise issues you had in the room but am happy to see that your found the staff to be helpful and poised.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I was a guest at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central Dec 8-11, 2012. This was my third visit to this hotel and my stay was perfect. Location, Location, Location at 44th Street and Lexington Ave, just steps away from Grand Central Terminal. I first learned of this Hotel via a recommendation from a friends husband who was in the Hotel business. I found the Staff friendly and helpful upon check-in. The room was clean, comfortable and of a good size for a NYC Hotel. The Fitzpatrick supplies complimentary robes during your stay, a nice touch, and they have nightly turn down service. Yes, a mint on the pillow and Saratoga bottled water at the bedside. Turn down service must be requested. I had a very pleasant stay.


Thank you Fitzpatrick Grand Central

Room Tip: I first stayed at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central when I was a resident of Connecticut. The Hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lionheart65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear lionheart65,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you have stayed with us numerous times and that you find the staff to be helpful and friendly.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#48 of 471 in New York City
1,377 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 471 in New York City
457 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#41 of 471 in New York City
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#46 of 471 in New York City
650 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
729 reviews
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#32 of 471 in New York City
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central

Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in New York City
#38 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#40 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $206 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing