We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Review of First Watch

First Watch
Ranked #35 of 775 Restaurants in Dayton
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Diner, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: First Watch specializes in delicious creations freshly-prepared to order. Their fresh, award-winning Breakfast, Brunch and Lunch dishes are made using only the best ingredients without the use of heat lamps or deep fryers. The best part is their creative menu features traditional favorites like omelets, pancakes, salads and sandwiches.
Reviewed 26 August 2016

I must begin by stating that breakfast is a big deal to both my husband and I . Except when we are out of town we choose not to go out for breakfast. I enjoy making everything from pancakes, Eggs Benedict, omelets etc....
Looking for a place to have breakfast in a area that we are unfamiliar with is always stressful. As this will set the tone for the day. First Watch was an awesome find for us.
The eggs were done to perfection. My omelet was not dry or runny. The coffee is outstanding. My husband loved his pancakes.
The prices were so reasonable. I wish there was a First Watch in every town.
The only negative thing was since , I am gluten free I brought my own English muffin with me. There are no gluten free rolls or toast offered on the menu and they would not toast what I had brought.
Cant wait to go back to Ohio to to eat at First Watch!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jiminysuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassi C, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Thanks for giving us a try! We're happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your meals with us but are sorry that we don't offer any gluten free breads at this time. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2016

I had not been to First Watch for several months. There is a new menu and they have eliminated my favorite dish. Service was ok, but I had to ask for a refill on my soft drink. That is always the way I gauge the quality of service.

Thank timesharetraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassi C, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Thank you for your recent visit and for this feedback. We are very sorry that you are disappointed in our recent menu changes and that you received poor service during your visit. We take our food and service very seriously so it is upsetting to hear that this is how your visit went. We hope that you will come back and give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Tis a day with a rain forecast.

No matter the location, First Watch is first class.

My SUV requires the annual Ziebart, and we observe the extremely light traffic near the Dayton Mall at 9:15 AM.

My wife suggests as a trade for the drop off at Ziebart, that she be treated to breakfast at First Watch (post hoc ergo propter hoc.)

First Watch is arguably the best breakfast restaurant in the Greater Dayton Metropolitan area. We find the management Assiduities of First Watch always result in an excellent breakfast or lunch.

The guileless, interesting, and small menu offers my wife too may excellent choices. She: The Veg’d out omelet - House-roasted Crimini mushrooms, zucchini, onions, tomatoes and broccoli with Cheddar and Monterey Jack; He: The Parma Hash - Two eggs any style atop a hash of fresh, seasoned potatoes, Italian sausage, house-roasted Crimini mushrooms, onions and tomatoes with melted Parmesan, mozzarella and fresh herbs.

Service is first rate, and an attractive ambience invites a re-visit.

The tariff is appropriate for the fare.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SavantIII_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleni K, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Thanks for stopping by! We're happy to hear that you enjoy our restaurant and love the wide variety our menu has to offer. We can't wait to see you and your wife again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

I really like the food here and meet friends who have a group meet on Saturday mornings. The staff knows the group and treats us very good. I ordered the cranberry-walnut pancakes and potatoes cooked well done and they were great. The coffee also is very good. I recommend this restarant. There is also one at Town and Country shopping center in Kettering.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TripPhotographer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleni K, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Thank you so much!! We're so glad you and your friends enjoy your Saturday breakfasts at First Watch every week, and we look forward to seeing you tomorrow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

What a find! My family and I enjoyed 2 breakfasts at First Watch on the Colonel Glen Highway in Fairborn.
The first time, we walked right in and were seated promptly. However, as one would expect, our second visit on Father's Day was very crowded with 30-45 minute wait. Nonetheless, Service was superb!
Our Server arrived as soon as we sat down and took our beverage and juice order. The restaurant is exceptionally clean with open views of the spotless kitchen depending upon your seating arrangement. The menu is excellent with a multitude of "fresh" food items offered including quinoa, veggies, oatmeal etc as well as traditional breakfast selections.
We ordered basted eggs with avocado toast, Eggs Benedict (outstanding). The Parma Skillet Hash was less appealing. The Lemon Ricotta Pancakes were fabulous as was the Chile Chorizo Omelet. Everyone was pleased.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleni K, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Thank you so much, Anita!! We totally appreciate your visit with your family and the time you took to write this great review. We're glad you all enjoyed your breakfast, especially those fluffy Lemon Ricotta Pancakes. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed First Watch also viewed

 

Been to First Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing