We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

I stayed at this hotel during the summer.
The room was small. The breakfast was basic and you have to take it to your room. I was on the first floor so this was a little tricky. However, I think you get exactly what you paid for.
Nice location and friendly staff are the positive aspect of this review.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarakC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    51
    69
    28
    49
See reviews for
44
91
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alta, Wyoming
Level Contributor
189 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

I booked over the phone and got a "deal" for $70 a night by the person working at the front desk, that included our 2 dogs. We arrived later that evening and were told the person working earlier did not know the rates, so we were charged another $10... so with tax, we ended up paying $91 a night.

The room was pretty trashed. it wasn't filthy, but the walls and carpet were not very clean. My guess is we got the room that they put people with dogs in.. which to some extent is expected, however... the bathroom was used as a cage by someone earlier with dogs, and had chuncks of door and wall missing, as they were chewed to shreds, along with a TP holder that was gone. This room really should not be rented in the condition it was in.

The bed was firm, but do-able. Internet did not work, as they did not pay their bill (this is what it said when you tried to log into the hotel connection). Technical problems was the excuse from the front desk.

It's a tough call for the cheapest lodging in Mammoth, as rates are rediculous all over town for such crummy accomodations. It's really about what you can afford and are willing to put up with more than anything. My suggestion is, pay a few more bucks for a better place... if you are really broke, and can get a room here somehow for under $65 a night... it might be OK for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtnmanlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mammoth Lakes hotels

Mission Viejo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

When in the Mammoth Lakes area and you are looking for a 'no frills - great value' stay, look no further. I had stayed at another 'value oriented' lodging in the past and was turned away by the trend of negative input. The Econo Lodge has the best franchisee -- 'Kenny'! He is personable, responsive to requests, and in this business environment, very professional. The ammenities were clean, TV was perfect, and the hot tub was the best in Mammoth. Warm rooms with hot water, the hot tub was a great meeting place and new friends to discuss the days' skiing adventures with, and was walking distance for Village nightlife - ( a shuttle is available for those who do not want to walk 4 minutes ). It does not get much better than this! PS - I did not know Kenny prior to this visit so check it out for yourself!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toddanthony1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenny55, General Manager at Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thank you for your great stay at EconoLodge. We do appreciate your business and visit to our hotel. See you Soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

We have stayed at most of the hotels and condos in and around Mammoth as we are season pass holders for the mountain. On this particular trip it was myself and 2 friends. We were going to be arriving in Mammoth late and decided since we would only be staying at the hotel for a few hours we would take a chance on the Econo Lodge Wildwood Inn since it seemed reasonably priced.

We booked the room online and upon arrival we were charged an additional $38.75 in fees and taxes. When we entered the room we were immediately greeted with a strong odor of urine. We thought it could have possibly been animal urine since they allow pets at the hotel but after pulling back the sheets it appeared someone at one time had not made it to the bathroom. This bed was not used by after learning of the urine stains.

It was also freezing in our room. This was mainly because of a broken window and the several inches of snow on the window seal and floor. This snow was not melted and had been accumulating for who knows how long. The room was at least 32 degrees and the unmelted snow was proof.

We notified the front desk and since they refused to do anything about the window (since it was after midnight) we requested additional blankets. They seemed bothered that we were asking for additional blankets and once provided it was obvious the blankets had not been washed. They smelled like a mixture of cigarette smoke, garlic and anchovies. The front desk clerk instructed us to fill the hole in the window with a bath towel and they would have someone fix it in the morning. Wow, this was a great idea and it did stop the snow from coming in the room. Tape and cardboard also would have been a good choice and preferably before we arrived.

We were very disgusted in the way we were treated and the quality of our room but decided to stick it out since we only needed somewhere to sleep for 5 hours or so. We all put on our snowboard clothing and slept in that using only the blankets that did not smell like death.

Sometime around 2:00 AM we heard noise at the front door and people talking loudly. Then our door opened and we jumped to our feet. The two guys that had just opened our door looked as shocked as we did. It was later learned that they were staying in the room next door but somehow their key managed to open our door. Since my group was all guys we laughed it off. We later questioned, what if this had been our wives staying in the room and the two guys who had opened the door were not decent people.

While getting ready in the morning I was lucky enough to find a dead mouse behind the trash can in the bathroom. For some reason none of us even seemed surprised by this.

By the way there was a heater in the room and it did run the entire time we were there. The snow was still on the floor when we left so I guess it’s safe to say that it didn’t work.

We complained to the front desk clerk while turning in our keys in the morning. He did apologize for the “less than desirable stay” and offered a 20 percent discount on our next stay. (There wont be a next time, trust me.)

Leaving this experience behind us we had a great breakfast at the Good Life Café and an awesome day on the mountain.

If you are used to staying in unsecured transient camps this might be the place for you. If not I would look elsewhere.

If you must stay here avoid room 113. Its bottom floor in the middle of the building.Maybe this room is only handed out to those who book online at a discount.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snowsurfer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenny55, Manager at Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
I really don't know if this review belong to this hotel or not still we would say sorry for your experience. After reading your review it seems like there was nothing right with the room at all. Also, we were sold out this past president weekend and none of the guest have complained or brought to our attention about window being broker or anything. Also, we don't have room No. 113 therefore it seems like this review must be for different hotel or something. We know very well that we can't rent room that is not been made up. Yeah sometimes housekeepers do make mistakes but the management of EconoLodge knows how to take care of the problems. Still on behalf of, EconoLodge we are very sorry for your stay whereever it was.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2010

I have stayed here many times and have always had a very positive experience. I've greatly enjoyed the hot tub under the stars which always seems to be kept at just the right temperature. Other hotels at which I've stayed in the area--that would be nine others--rarely managed to provide this simple feature in any sort of reliable way. The rooms with double beds are exceptionally spacious and a number of the single rooms upstairs have lovely views. The continental breakfast is on a par with other hotels in Mammoth. What is exceptional here, apart from the price, is the warm and welcoming ambiance and especially attentive service.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_RCronyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#21 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 km away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.0 km away
The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resor...
#25 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
1.1 km away
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
#12 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.1 km away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn
Address: 3626 Main St. (SR 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Econo Lodge Wildwood Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price range (per night): $116 - $238
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Wildwood Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Econolodge Mammoth Lakes
Econo Lodge Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing