We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
90
80
61
35
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
80
61
35
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomeuropean stylepenn covegrounds are beautifulchowderrooms are smallwe stayed in a lagoon roomlodge roomscontinental breakfastnew ownershistoric buildingnice deckdrinks and appetizersenjoy the viewstep back in timemusselsromantic getaway
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

A beautiful, historic place at the heart of Penn Cove outside Coupeville on Whidbey Island. Stayed there for one night with family and enjoyed a beautifully decorated, quiet and comfortable room with a view to Mt Vernon and Penn Cove. Delicious breakfast on the terrace was a treat as well.

Service was good but we would have expected a bit more friendliness, thus a little minus in my rating. However, I am happy to recommend the place and will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

My wife and I spent the Memorial day weekend at Captain Whidbey Inn. We stayed in cabin #31 which is right on the water and nearest to the restaurant/bar. The accommodations are just what you would expect for a nationally recognized historic hotel. The cabin was clean and the housekeeping staff did a great job of getting in and cleaning when you were out of the room. We slept in one morning and were in the room later than normal. The house keeper always seemed to know when we would be gone even though we kept no schedule whatsoever. Sleep inns mixed with early ups. She always knew just when to come back without bothering us. A very nice touch.
The view form cabin #31 was beautiful with a nice deck, chairs and table. There is convenient parking for the cabins behind the main lodge which makes for easy transfer of bags. The room had a small fridge and microwave which made it nice for heating up snacks between meals. The food at Captain Whidbey Inn is excellent. Chef Ryan has been there for a number of years and we always make it a point to stop in for lunch or dinner when visiting the island. Chris our server did a great job of taking care of us both in the restaurant and bar. This place has a homey laid back feel perfect for unwinding in a beautiful waterfront atmosphere. We had a wonderful stay and will return again.

Room Tip: Reserve cabin #31 or #32. They are both on the water and very private.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainWhidbeyInn, Director of Sales at Captain Whidbey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for staying with us Rick. We are happy that you both enjoyed your stay and could relax and recharge on your schedule.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience as well. Chef Ryan loves what he does and Chris really enjoys his customers.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

I attended a beautiful wedding there this last weekend. There was a young lady I think she said her name was Kelsey, I just wanted to say she did an amazing job she was helping out with everything I know we asked quite a bit from that young lady and she had a great attitude about it all. She even helped watched our little ones. She made the day very nice for us parents and the reception was beautiful good event and great service. Thank you

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank kathylove1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainWhidbeyInn, Director of Sales at Captain Whidbey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you so much for letting us know about your great experience with your group. Kelsey is super attentive and generally knows just what her guests need, even when it's an extra set of parental eyes.

We hope to see you all again soon and wish Mr. and Mrs. much happiness!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

I've stayed at the Captain Whidbey Inn twice and enjoyed it just as much or more the 2nd time. It's relaxing, quiet and the employees are always super friendly. It's great whether using it as a home-base while visiting locations nearby like Coupeville or Greenbank farm or staying in for some relaxation! There is a tavern & restaurant conveniently located at the inn with good food. We really enjoyed the steamed clams and mussel chowder. There is plenty of room for a nice walk around the grounds or to sit in their flower garden. We stayed in the lodge & had a room overlooking the water. The bathrooms are European style, which worried me at first; however it was actually quite nice. The bathrooms were clean & there was never a time that they weren't available so I ended up not minding at all! I recommend bringing alcoholic drinks of your choice to have. The tavern drinks were expensive and not really that great for the price. We picked up a bottle of wine & some cheese from Greenbank Farm to have at the Inn. The inn server was happy to provide us with a bottle opener, dishes & utensils for our room. Save yourself the cost of expensive Tavern drinks! We will definitely return in the future!

Room Tip: Request a water view room
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MMolina98034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainWhidbeyInn, Director of Sales at Captain Whidbey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Inn and that you had an opportunity to explore the grounds.

I apologize that the cocktails in the Tavern were not to your liking and would love to know more. It's our goal to learn from our shortcomings, to make us even better at what we do. Please feel free to email us at info@CaptainWhidbey.com to tell us of your experience.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit and hope to wow you with our beverage improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

This is a wonderful Inn. !!!!!!!!!!! Beautiful grounds, breathtaking views, wonderful old Inn.
We stayed in a room with a renovated bathroom, very clean, deck with a view that looked as if it had been a landscape painting. It was so relaxing . Just what we were looking for as a get away from our hectic work schedule. We stayed Mon-Wed. Restaurant and tavern were not open but that was fine. We had wonderful meals in Coupeville at Toby's Tavern and Pizza Factory.
I highly recommend Captain Whidbey Inn!!!!!

If you are going whale watching in May be sure and check the schedule. We wanted to go on Tues. Most of the whale watching boats go out on the weekends this time of year.

Room Tip: No TV but had internet.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suepA4262HF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainWhidbeyInn, Director of Sales at Captain Whidbey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Sue, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back and stay with us at a time when you can experience our dining room or tavern.

Keep an eye out for our whale watching packages too... it will make your trip even easier, as we assist in taking care of the details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews