We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, modern rooms with very comfortable beds and pillows. Beautiful bathroom with thick towels and a magnifying mirro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Lovely, quiet, modern room with very comfortable beds and pillows. Beautiful bathroom with thick towels, bath rug and even a magnifying mirror. My only complaint is the Wi-fi issues and the lack of free, readily available coffee in the morning. Free coffee is a standard amenity in any motel/hotel.

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank elizatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia! It was wonderful to read the compliments you shared about our property and our newly updated guestrooms. I do apologize that you had difficulty connecting to our complimentary Wi-Fi. Please know we are currently upgrading it for greater bandwidth and faster speed as we know how important it is to always be connected. Regarding your Coffee comments, please know there is a coffee machine in every room with complimentary options for your enjoyment. Coffee and breakfast is also available for purchase in the Art Bar and In Room Dining. You also may have noticed, on our website under "offers" we have the "Bed and Breakfast" package which includes breakfast with the guestroom. It is popular as our guests find it to be of great value. Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to host you again soon! - Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 514 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2016

Spacious, clean room. Friendly, helpful, knowledgeable staff.
I really appreciated the large containers of shampoo, conditioner, body wash (I get so tired of those little bottles in most hotels, not to mention how bad they are for the environment!). However, please fill them with unscented toiletries. It's no doubt impossible to choose a fragrance that will appeal to everyone, and I found the smell cloying and too sweet. But that is a small niggle in what was overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogatogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia during the Democratic National Convention! It's wonderful to hear you were visiting our city during such a historic time and that you had a very enjoyable stay! I am thrilled that you appreciated the large containers of shampoo, conditioner and body wash as we are a "green hotel" and do what we can to help the environment. It's great that you found our team to be friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. I certainly agree with you and will pass along your compliments. Thank you again for stay at the Sonesta and we hope to host you next time you're in Philadelphia! - Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Great find, a nice modern hotel conveniently located in the center of the city. The room wasnt huge but it was nicely decorated. We were in Philly for a long weekend in the middle of a heat wave, when we checked in at the desk they let us know the pool closed in half an hour if we wanted to rush up and cool down. The pool is on the roof of the seventh floor so you get a strong breeze and interesting view south of the hotel. Its located just a few blocks from Rittenhouse square which is a great place to walk, eat and shop. We also walked across the bridge to UPenn one day and another walked to the historic part of town, no problem, even in the heat. The lovely concierge, and unfortunately I forgot her name, reserved us a table at the best italian restaurant nearby. She also arranged for us to get a gelati sampler, which was amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank evadninorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for an excellent detailed review! We really appreciate your time in sharing your wonderful experience during your recent stay with us. Our ultimate goal is to provide an outstanding customer service from check in to check-out and we are happy to know that we had succeeded. Reading your review is really inspiring and I am sure the Team would be thrilled to know that you had an absolutely marvelous stay at Sonesta Philadelphia. Looking forward to your next visit. - Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The hotel itself is nice. It's a great location and close to a lot of things to do and the access to transportation is good.

However, this was a bridal party of twelve and the one and one-half hour wait to check in was ridiculous. Check-in was at 4PM. We arrived at 5. We were not given a room until 6:30. We missed our dinner reservations and had to settle. The rooms were not ready when we got there. How does a hotel that has a check-out time of 11 AM not have rooms ready by 4PM when there are staff running around like crazy? After an hour wait we checked on the rooms again. One room was clean and the other was not and we were told we couldn't even load our things into one room to start getting showers. We could visit the pool though, we were told. How nice of them. After getting assigned the rooms, they were across the hall from each other and not adjoining as requested. When you have 12 young women in rooms across the hall from each other, it turns into a party in the hallway.....

Both rooms were very adequate as furnished. The beds and pillows are good. One room however, had water on the tiled bathroom floor behind the door like someone had peed or it had been sitting there a very long time because the floor was stained from it. The air conditioning in the same room did not work well at all. Being 100+ degrees and no adequate air conditioning makes for a long night. With the AC set on 65 and the fan constantly running, the temp didn't get below 74 all night. It was not good with so many people.

The "rooftop" pool was in fact only on the roof of the 7th floor. It is actually located on the 8th floor and located between two much taller buildings. The six foot chain link fence covered in location ads obstructed the view of the city.

Then we had to pay for parking, which of course, is expected. However, the rates are ridiculous!! $46 on the weekends for only 24 hours of parking. If you stay the weekend, you're going to pay at minimum $100 for parking. BE AWARE. We did however demand that it be comped because of the almost two hour wait to check in, and they did do that for us.

But we should not have had any problems and parking should have been included if you're paying almost $300 a night per room for a standard double room.

I would not stay here again. There are other options that are less costly and just as nice. I do have to say that the bellhop and doormen staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the even side on 9th floor are between buildings. Good luck with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Dear Tonya, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia during your bridal party. We were thrilled to be part of this special time and appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. Although our hotel is frequently sold out, we do our best to provide the quickest access to the guestroom. We do appreciate your patience as our housekeeping team is always working hard to ensure your room was perfect for you and your guests. It's great to hear you found our bellmen and doormen staff to be excellent and that you enjoyed your guestroom. I do apologize that the air conditioning was not working to your satisfaction. We wish we knew so we were able to correct it. We always ask our guests if they need anything, to please call down to the front desk so we can make sure you have a perfect stay. Regarding your parking comments, please know that the Hotel neither owns nor manages the parking garage; however, we do work closely with the garage management team to ensure that our parking pricing is competitive to other downtown Philadelphia hotels. And you might not have realized that we offer a great package on our website that includes overnight valet parking, so please consider selecting that package during your next visit so that you won’t have to pay the regular parking costs. Thank you again for your review and including us in your special bridal party! - Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We booked with another couple for a getaway weekend. The location is perfect. Check-in was quick and hassle-free. Our room was roomy and had top-notch furniture and amenities. The ice-maker on our floor wasn't working and it took them more than a day to fix it which was the only negative I could say. The lobby bar was a great gathering place and the bartenders mixed quality drinks at a reasonable price. ALL the hotel team members were attentive and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Dear Paul, It was wonderful to read the compliments you shared about our property during your couples getaway weekend and that all of our team members were attentive and friendly! I will certainly share your wonderful compliments with them and it's great to hear you had a great time in the Art Bar and that you were very comfortable in your guestroom. We are looking forward to your next visit with us. Again, thank you for sharing how "great" we are. With Regards, Jordan Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,481 reviews
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,346 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown

Address: 1800 Market St, Philadelphia, PA 19103-3725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#26 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $210 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 439
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Best of Philly during your stay at our convenient and newly refreshed hotel. The only hotel located on Market Street west of City Hall we are surrounded by Philadelphia's most prominent businesses, hospitals, universities and government offices. The hotel is located just blocks from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, Amtrak's 30th Street Station and Philadelphia's historic sites and attractions. The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Liberty Bell, National Constitution Center, Independence Hall & Philadelphia Zoo are just a few of the Philadelphia attractions to experience during your getaway. Walk to Center City businesses, fine dining, upscale shopping, nightlife, museums, Rittenhouse Square. Experience professional sports and concerts at the nearby stadiums. Relax at our seasonal outdoor rooftop pool with views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing