We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,695)
Filter reviews
1,695 results
Traveller rating
923
483
161
80
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
923
483
161
80
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart barruth's chrisfront deskrooftop poolrittenhouse squarecity hallroom servicemarket streetwithin walking distancesuburban stationcity viewthe club loungewould highly recommend this hotelbed was comfortablebusiness triphotel is in a great locationhotel staff
Filter
Updating list...
783 - 788 of 1,695 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Spacious, clean room. Friendly, helpful, knowledgeable staff.
I really appreciated the large containers of shampoo, conditioner, body wash (I get so tired of those little bottles in most hotels, not to mention how bad they are for the environment!). However, please fill them with unscented toiletries. It's no doubt impossible to choose a fragrance that will appeal to everyone, and I found the smell cloying and too sweet. But that is a small niggle in what was overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogatogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia during the Democratic National Convention! It's wonderful to hear you were visiting our city during such a historic time and that you had a very enjoyable stay! I am thrilled that you appreciated the large containers of shampoo, conditioner and body wash as we are a "green hotel" and do what we can to help the environment. It's great that you found our team to be friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. I certainly agree with you and will pass along your compliments. Thank you again for stay at the Sonesta and we hope to host you next time you're in Philadelphia! - Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Great find, a nice modern hotel conveniently located in the center of the city. The room wasnt huge but it was nicely decorated. We were in Philly for a long weekend in the middle of a heat wave, when we checked in at the desk they let us know the pool closed in half an hour if we wanted to rush up and cool down. The pool is on the roof of the seventh floor so you get a strong breeze and interesting view south of the hotel. Its located just a few blocks from Rittenhouse square which is a great place to walk, eat and shop. We also walked across the bridge to UPenn one day and another walked to the historic part of town, no problem, even in the heat. The lovely concierge, and unfortunately I forgot her name, reserved us a table at the best italian restaurant nearby. She also arranged for us to get a gelati sampler, which was amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank evadninorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for an excellent detailed review! We really appreciate your time in sharing your wonderful experience during your recent stay with us. Our ultimate goal is to provide an outstanding customer service from check in to check-out and we are happy to know that we had succeeded. Reading your review is really inspiring and I am sure the Team would be thrilled to know that you had an absolutely marvelous stay at Sonesta Philadelphia. Looking forward to your next visit. - Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The hotel itself is nice. It's a great location and close to a lot of things to do and the access to transportation is good.

However, this was a bridal party of twelve and the one and one-half hour wait to check in was ridiculous. Check-in was at 4PM. We arrived at 5. We were not given a room until 6:30. We missed our dinner reservations and had to settle. The rooms were not ready when we got there. How does a hotel that has a check-out time of 11 AM not have rooms ready by 4PM when there are staff running around like crazy? After an hour wait we checked on the rooms again. One room was clean and the other was not and we were told we couldn't even load our things into one room to start getting showers. We could visit the pool though, we were told. How nice of them. After getting assigned the rooms, they were across the hall from each other and not adjoining as requested. When you have 12 young women in rooms across the hall from each other, it turns into a party in the hallway.....

Both rooms were very adequate as furnished. The beds and pillows are good. One room however, had water on the tiled bathroom floor behind the door like someone had peed or it had been sitting there a very long time because the floor was stained from it. The air conditioning in the same room did not work well at all. Being 100+ degrees and no adequate air conditioning makes for a long night. With the AC set on 65 and the fan constantly running, the temp didn't get below 74 all night. It was not good with so many people.

The "rooftop" pool was in fact only on the roof of the 7th floor. It is actually located on the 8th floor and located between two much taller buildings. The six foot chain link fence covered in location ads obstructed the view of the city.

Then we had to pay for parking, which of course, is expected. However, the rates are ridiculous!! $46 on the weekends for only 24 hours of parking. If you stay the weekend, you're going to pay at minimum $100 for parking. BE AWARE. We did however demand that it be comped because of the almost two hour wait to check in, and they did do that for us.

But we should not have had any problems and parking should have been included if you're paying almost $300 a night per room for a standard double room.

I would not stay here again. There are other options that are less costly and just as nice. I do have to say that the bellhop and doormen staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the even side on 9th floor are between buildings. Good luck with a view...
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Dear Tonya, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia during your bridal party. We were thrilled to be part of this special time and appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. Although our hotel is frequently sold out, we do our best to provide the quickest access to the guestroom. We do appreciate your patience as our housekeeping team is always working hard to ensure your room was perfect for you and your guests. It's great to hear you found our bellmen and doormen staff to be excellent and that you enjoyed your guestroom. I do apologize that the air conditioning was not working to your satisfaction. We wish we knew so we were able to correct it. We always ask our guests if they need anything, to please call down to the front desk so we can make sure you have a perfect stay. Regarding your parking comments, please know that the Hotel neither owns nor manages the parking garage; however, we do work closely with the garage management team to ensure that our parking pricing is competitive to other downtown Philadelphia hotels. And you might not have realized that we offer a great package on our website that includes overnight valet parking, so please consider selecting that package during your next visit so that you won’t have to pay the regular parking costs. Thank you again for your review and including us in your special bridal party! - Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We booked with another couple for a getaway weekend. The location is perfect. Check-in was quick and hassle-free. Our room was roomy and had top-notch furniture and amenities. The ice-maker on our floor wasn't working and it took them more than a day to fix it which was the only negative I could say. The lobby bar was a great gathering place and the bartenders mixed quality drinks at a reasonable price. ALL the hotel team members were attentive and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Dear Paul, It was wonderful to read the compliments you shared about our property during your couples getaway weekend and that all of our team members were attentive and friendly! I will certainly share your wonderful compliments with them and it's great to hear you had a great time in the Art Bar and that you were very comfortable in your guestroom. We are looking forward to your next visit with us. Again, thank you for sharing how "great" we are. With Regards, Jordan Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

So I stayed at the Sonesta in Philadelphia and the stay was nice. The room was nice and clean as well as cozy. My family and I ventured down to the Art Bar where we were greeted by Carlton and the rest of the staff. He was so friendly and helpful. Though the menu was limited, he still made us feel like we were at a 5 star restaurant. Overall it was a great time. Thanks Sonesta

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lonnieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Dear Lonnie, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia. We are pleased you were comfortable in your guestroom and found it to be clean and cozy and that Carlton made such an impression and made your Art Bar experience more enjoyable. I will make sure he is recognized for his outstanding service. Thank you again for your 5 star review and we hope to host you again soon. - Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews