We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$155
US$125
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$140
US$111
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Independent Hotel(Philadelphia)
US$132
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$142
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$178
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$165
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$132
US$127
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$137
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,653)
Filter reviews
1,653 results
Traveller rating
893
475
159
79
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
893
475
159
79
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart barruth's chrisfront deskrooftop poolrittenhouse squarecity hallroom servicemarket streetwithin walking distancesuburban stationcity viewwould highly recommend this hotelbed was comfortablebusiness triphotel is in a great locationhotel staffenjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
744 - 749 of 1,653 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2016

I recently needed a block of rooms for a large meeting (150 people) being held in Center City. Sonesta Hotel was extremely accommodating in setting aside the rooms and making the arrangements. They provided an excellent room rate for all of those attending. Check in and billing for all the attendees went smoothly.

The newly remodeled bar was an excellent place to hang out at night and the new Ruth Chris Steak house attached to the hotel was top notch

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0neywes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia and choosing our hotel for your large meeting! It was wonderful to read the compliments you shared about our property and thrilled everyone was comfortably accomodated and everything went smoothly. I will certainly share your wonderful compliments with our team. We also appreciate your kind words about the Art Bar and our new Ruth's Chris Steakhouse - we think they are excellent and top notch places as well! We are looking forward to your next visit with us and hope to host your meeting again! Again, thank you for sharing how "excellent" we are. With Regards, Jordan Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

A great central location, and within walking distance to all the main tourist stops. The hotel is very clean and the staff are very helpful. The room was fine and the beds extremely comfortable. The only real dissapointment was the soundproofing of the Windows which was not great, interrupting sleep with the sound of city traffic in the early hours.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesTW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Dear James, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia! It's great to hear that you enjoyed our central location and was able to walk to the many tourist stops nearby. I'm glad you found your guestroom and bed to be comfortable - we like to think of the beds as a little slice of heaven! We do apologize that you were interrupted by the noise as the hotel is located in Center City, the heart of downtown Philadelphia. However, always feel free to let the Front Desk know so we can do our best to make sure you have a quiet and peaceful night as it's very important to us that our guests are well rested! Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you next time you're in Philadelphia! - Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

The hotel is centrally located to almost every thing. Nice rooms with beautiful designs. the Staffs are very helpful especially George who made our stay great. even though i booked a room with 1 queen bed, i ended up in a king bed after George learned that my husband and i had a very bad day which gave us so much relieve and moreover far from the elevator. i will surely come back again.

Room Tip: the 23rd floor was very quiet and clean
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenziepaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia. We are pleased George made such an impression and made your stay with your husband great! I will make sure he is recognized for his outstanding service. Our ultimate goal is to provide an outstanding customer service from check in to check-out and we are happy to know that we had succeeded. We are thrilled you enjoyed your guestroom and our central location and thank you for the kind compliments! We look forward to hosting you again when you're in Philadelphia! - Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Lovely, quiet, modern room with very comfortable beds and pillows. Beautiful bathroom with thick towels, bath rug and even a magnifying mirror. My only complaint is the Wi-fi issues and the lack of free, readily available coffee in the morning. Free coffee is a standard amenity in any motel/hotel.

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank elizatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia! It was wonderful to read the compliments you shared about our property and our newly updated guestrooms. I do apologize that you had difficulty connecting to our complimentary Wi-Fi. Please know we are currently upgrading it for greater bandwidth and faster speed as we know how important it is to always be connected. Regarding your Coffee comments, please know there is a coffee machine in every room with complimentary options for your enjoyment. Coffee and breakfast is also available for purchase in the Art Bar and In Room Dining. You also may have noticed, on our website under "offers" we have the "Bed and Breakfast" package which includes breakfast with the guestroom. It is popular as our guests find it to be of great value. Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to host you again soon! - Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Spacious, clean room. Friendly, helpful, knowledgeable staff.
I really appreciated the large containers of shampoo, conditioner, body wash (I get so tired of those little bottles in most hotels, not to mention how bad they are for the environment!). However, please fill them with unscented toiletries. It's no doubt impossible to choose a fragrance that will appeal to everyone, and I found the smell cloying and too sweet. But that is a small niggle in what was overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogatogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia during the Democratic National Convention! It's wonderful to hear you were visiting our city during such a historic time and that you had a very enjoyable stay! I am thrilled that you appreciated the large containers of shampoo, conditioner and body wash as we are a "green hotel" and do what we can to help the environment. It's great that you found our team to be friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. I certainly agree with you and will pass along your compliments. Thank you again for stay at the Sonesta and we hope to host you next time you're in Philadelphia! - Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews