We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2017

The desk clerks, concierge and everyone is very helpful. the rooms are nice. Quiet. Comfortable. The location is great - good restaurant choices. Good place to stay if business takes you to the area. The room service did a good job - as I was ordering at a busy time.

Room Tip: My room was fine - away from the elevator and up near the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vegasrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Rob, thank you for staying with us recently at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown Rittenhouse Square. We have the ideal location and great amenities for business travelers. The hotel is located on the west side of Market Street in the hub of Center City, surrounded by hundreds of offices and headquarters. Our recently redesigned guestrooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, plenty of lighting and electrical outlets (and a USB port), a coffeemaker, and, of course, Room Service. We are steps from an exciting array of dining, shopping, and attractions as well. Thank you for sharing your experience with the business travel community--we hope to host you again the next time you visit Philly for business or leisure! -Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 55 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

This is a modern hotel with an excellent mattress. I slept really well and found the bed extraordinarily comfortable. The room had a refrigerator and modern features. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
Thank kimberlycX8536SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Kimberly, thank you for the great feedback about your recent stay with us at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown Rittenhouse Square! I'm glad that you enjoyed the new look and new vibe of our recently redesigned guestrooms, which offer modern amenities and plush new bedding and linens. Guests have raved about the comfort of our new beds, and many guests have ordered the same bedding for their homes! I'm pleased that the friendly, helpful service from our terrific team was another highlight of your stay. I look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit Philly! -Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We had a great stay. The hotel is in a wonderful location, easy to get everywhere. They have a pool that is nothing special but was great to have it open at the end of September. The bar staff was very nice and friendly. The Concierge is amazing - very helpful, gave great recommendations!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
Thank 553jenac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us recently at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown Rittenhouse Square. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, thanks to the helpful, friendly service from our Concierge team, the hotel's iconic City Center location that makes it convenient to walk to so many wonderful places to dine, shop, and visit, and of course our seasonal rooftop outdoor pool. The unexpected warmth of late September allowed us to keep the pool open through the last weekend of the month, providing an oasis from the unusual warmth of early autumn. I hope you'll choose to stay with us again the next time you visit Philly! -Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

My third time at the Sonesta. Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, great restaurant (Ruth Chris' Steakhouse), easy check-in and check-out., great internet connectivity, comfortable bed, very nice lounge.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
Thank christophersK8955XK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown Rittenhouse Square on three different occasions--we really appreciate our repeat guests! I'm especially glad that you've experienced a consistently wonderful experience during each of your stays, and s you've suggested, that experience results from the hotel boasting such a friendly, helpful team that is eager to drive guest satisfaction. We've recently completed a $35 million property renovation, and guests gave about the plush new bedding and linens in our guestrooms. We've also recently improved the speed and connectivity of our free Wi-Fi service, which connects up to 6 devices per guestroom; Sonesta Travel Pass members receive upgraded service with faster speeds and support for up to 10 different devices. Ruth's Chris Steakhouse opened on our lobby level in June 2016, and provides a delicious dining experience in a beautiful new space. On behalf of all of us at Sonesta, I look forward to hosting you many more times! -Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

I had nothing but problems from the beginning. The manager didn't do anything to resolve any of the issues, she had a very casual attitude about any of my concerns. The front woman Joy held 4 different amounts of transactions on our credit card and after she did that she said she couldn't release them. They totaled over $1500 which put me in a situation where I could not eat because of the hold on my card and we were traveling to Maryland the next day and my card did not get resolved for 7 days. The room was not ready at check in time and she told us we had to wait in the bar for an hour -- which we did. I had a $25 credit for being a Sonesta member, but she refused at check out to give it to me. When we got to our room, it was a handicapped room, which we did not request. The manager, Tianna, was also very unhelpful and said nothing could be done. We were also not told that valet parking was a requirement and she would not tell us how much the valet parking was going to cost per day until the end of our stay. I asked for their both supervisors and when I contacted Suzette, I had the same "we don't care" attitude. My room was pre-paid by my company and they seemed to be very confused about this issue too. Because we were in a handicapped room (which we did not request) there was one chair and a small unlit desk that I could not work at. My dress, which was floor length for one event, was wrinkled because the closet was half-sized due to the handicapped nature of the room. Internet was very slow.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
1  Thank debrasL686RU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Ms. Debra, Thank you for staying at Sonesta Philadelphia and I am so sorry to read your review. Our team does out utmost best to ensure all guests receive the warm and friendly service that Sonesta is known for and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. Regarding the hold on your card, please know that at check-in, all our guests are required for an incidentals hold. This hold is set at $250 for security, as well for guest's convenience as it may cover any charges during the stay including possible charges from our in-house restaurant, Ruth Chris Steakhouse. Please know this hold is refundable at check-out and depending on the guest's bank, the guest will receive the returned funds within 7-10 business days if not sooner. Also please know the incidental hold and all parking costs are posted on our website, under "our hotel" and mentioned at check-in. We share this information as often as possible because we certainly don't want our guests to be surprised with any "hidden" fees. Although our hotel is frequently sold out, we do our best to provide the quickest access to the guestroom upon arrival. We do appreciate your patience as our housekeeping team is always working hard to ensure your room is perfect for our guests. We take great pride in our recent $30 million property upgrade as our guestrooms offer about 325 square feet on average, which is comparable to the typical size guestroom at other City Center properties. Please reach out to me directly as I'd love to discuss your experience further so we can make it up to you. I'd love to welcome you back as I'm confident you'll have a perfect stay. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention and I look forward to hearing from you. Warm Regards, Jordan Cooper, General Manager, jmcooper@sonesta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,484 reviews
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,346 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown

Address: 1800 Market St, Philadelphia, PA 19103-3725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#26 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $210 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 439
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Best of Philly during your stay at our convenient and newly refreshed hotel. The only hotel located on Market Street west of City Hall we are surrounded by Philadelphia's most prominent businesses, hospitals, universities and government offices. The hotel is located just blocks from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, Amtrak's 30th Street Station and Philadelphia's historic sites and attractions. The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Liberty Bell, National Constitution Center, Independence Hall & Philadelphia Zoo are just a few of the Philadelphia attractions to experience during your getaway. Walk to Center City businesses, fine dining, upscale shopping, nightlife, museums, Rittenhouse Square. Experience professional sports and concerts at the nearby stadiums. Relax at our seasonal outdoor rooftop pool with views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing