We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Nearby Hotels
US$128
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$178
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$125
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$189
US$177
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$186
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$173
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Windsor Suites(Philadelphia)
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,581)
Filter reviews
1,581 results
Traveller rating
852
455
152
77
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
852
455
152
77
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart barruth's chrisfront deskrooftop poolrittenhouse squarecity hallmarket streetroom servicewithin walking distancecity viewwould highly recommend this hotelbed was comfortablebusiness triphotel is in a great locationenjoyed my stayvalet parkingfew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 1,581 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Great rooms, very comfortable. Friendly Staff. The only thing is that the Valet can take a while. Front Desk amazing. The location is excellent, we were able to walk everywhere we wanted. The pool is super nice. Breakfast restaurant could be better.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Daniel, thank you for the wonderful rating of your recent stay with us at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown Rittenhouse Square! I'm delighted that you enjoyed the friendly, helpful service from our terrific team as well as the new look and new vibe of our well-appointed, recently redesigned guestrooms. Guests love our seasonal rooftop outdoor pool, an oasis on a hot day (the pool has recently closed for the season, and will re-open over Memorial Day weekend). The hotel indeed boasts an iconic location in the heart of Center City, with so many dining and shopping choices within easy walking distance, along with many major attractions. I apologize that the valet parking service was slow during your visit; the hotel neither owns nor operates the private parking garage adjacent to our entrance, but we certainly recognize that when poor service occurs there, it reflects upon the hotel. Regarding breakfast, our In-Room Dining menu offers a more robust selection of food choices than does Artbar, so perhaps Room Service is an option for your next stay. I look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit the City of Brotherly Love! -Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

This is a centrally located hotel with contemporary decor. The front desk staff are very nice, the room was roomy, comfortable and clean. The bar, just off the lobby, acts as the breakfast area in the morning and is fairly sterile, noisy, with a lot of hard surfaces. No fabric or carpeting so sound reverberates. There isn't an actual kitchen so breakfast food prep is on display with loaves of bread and packaging material stacked in view. Not appealing, but the breakfast food tasted fine and was modestly priced. Easy 5 minute walk to Rittenhouse Square restaurants. The Phlash shuttle stop, which loops around all Philly's major attractions, is less than 2 blocks away. Very convenient.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MFranklin2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us recently at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown Rittenhouse Square, and for providing detailed feedback about your experience as our guest. We've recently completed an extensive property renovation, so our guestrooms and public space boast a modern look and vibe, and feature plush new bedding and furnishings. We are ideally located in the heart of Center City Philly as you've noted, so there is an amazing array of restaurants, shops, and attractions within steps of our location. Regarding breakfast options, our In-Room Dining menu offers a more expansive menu than Artbar, and our website features a few packages that include breakfast in order to add value to your stay. I certainly look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit Philadelphia! -Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This was my fifth trip to the Sonesta in 2017. Just as all the others, the stay went off without a hitch. The front desk staff is amazing as well as the folks that are stationed near the bell desk. Greeted very warmly upon my return. Rooms are quiet and the beds and pillows are very comfortable. If are staying in Philadelphia and want to be close to shopping and restaurants then this is the perfect hotel. If you are an Elite member of the Sonesta Travel Pass program you will have access to an outstanding concierge lounge for breakfast or some great offerings at dinner. The staff in the lounge was beyond helpful. Only visited the lounge once on my last visit, but the service was even better than my last stay. The City View rooms do offer nice views, but a bit smaller than the other rooms. But if you want to see Philadelphia from the privacy of your room, then these make for a great choice. Looking forward to my next stay. Trying to swap with another person I work with to travel back to the Sonesta in November.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Chris, thank you for your loyalty to our team at Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square! We appreciate our return guests, and as you've suggested, the Sonesta Travel Pass program provides strong benefits to frequent guests, including room upgrades, faster high-speed Internet service, and free travel possible at any of our 56 U.S. locations. I'm glad that you've experienced continuous service improvement during your visits; we strive to be friendly and helpful all the time but recent trainings have focused upon taking our service delivery to another level. On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to your next visit to Philly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

My daughter and I traveled to Philadelphia for an event, and we decided to add an extra night so we'd have time to relax and enjoy ourselves. We chose the Sonesta primarily for its location and what seemed like a reasonable price for its location, and were entirely satisfied on both counts. As many people have mentioned, it is right downtown, just a block or two from Rittenhouse Square, and we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go, including from Suburban Station when we arrived (we took the train from the airport - very simple). Our room was spacious and clean, and the beds really were exceptionally comfortable. Staff was uniformly pleasant and helpful. Only two cons: we ate breakfast in the Art Bar Sunday morning, and while the food was good, the service was extremely slow, which was a problem as we had to leave to catch a plane. Also, our room had a tub/shower combination, and the bottom of the tub was slick as glass when it was wet, with not even a single grab bar. Even for an able-bodied person, it felt precarious. These two things aside, we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spidersilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us recently at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown Rittenhouse Square, and for sharing your feedback about your visit! I'm glad that you enjoyed the hotel's ideal City Center location, within easy walking distance from both Suburban Station (SEPTA regional trains) as well as 30th Street Station (Amtrak), and of course steps from an amazing array of shops, restaurants, and attractions, including the famed Rittenhouse neighborhood. It's great to read that our team provided friendly, helpful service as well. I apologize that service in Artbar the morning of your departure was slow; I will be sharing your comment with our food and beverage management team. It certainly is unusual for one of our tubs to be so slippery; I hope you reported this issue so that we can take preventative actions to prevent anyone from falling in that guestroom tub. We appreciate your feedback, and we look forward to hosting you the next time you visit Philly! -Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

It is a perfect hotel for business or leasure stay. I higly reccomend it. Modern ambiance and great amenities. My room was clean and I was very pleased with the amount of lighting all over. Easy access to transportation or just walking around to the museums.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
1  Thank Polina67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for choosing Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown Rittenhouse Square, as well as for the lovely feedback about your experience as our guest! We host plenty of business travelers and leisure guests alike, and the modern look and vibe of our recently redesigned guestrooms, featuring contemporary amenities, stylish furnishings, and plush new bedding is ideal for anyone visiting our iconic location in the heart of City Center Philly. There are so many great places to shop, dine, and visit within steps of our hotel, and as you've suggested, there are SEPTA and bus stops surrounding our location in case our guests wish to explore further-away neighborhoods outside of our downtown location. We appreciate the warm comments about your experience, and I certainly hope that we will be able to host you again soon! -Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews