We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continued to avoid the issue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2017

It is clear that even the response to my concerns is not understood. The 5 transactions held on my card were NOT the $250 for essentials. It was 5 transactions that were not authorized and were Joy's accidental mistakes for running my card, to a tune of over $1500.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pearlbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

This is the second review you've posted in a few days' time, and I certainly apologize that you continue to experience frustration over your funds not being released back to you. The hotel released its authorizations nearly a week prior to your posting this second review, but financial institutions do not immediately release holds on their end after a business releases its hold(s). I hope you've spoken directly with your card's issuing bank, and if anyone from your bank has any questions for our team, please direct the bank representative to call our Accounting Department. It is my hope that this issue will be resolved quickly for you! -Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017

Great rooms, very comfortable. Friendly Staff. The only thing is that the Valet can take a while. Front Desk amazing. The location is excellent, we were able to walk everywhere we wanted. The pool is super nice. Breakfast restaurant could be better.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Daniel, thank you for the wonderful rating of your recent stay with us at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown Rittenhouse Square! I'm delighted that you enjoyed the friendly, helpful service from our terrific team as well as the new look and new vibe of our well-appointed, recently redesigned guestrooms. Guests love our seasonal rooftop outdoor pool, an oasis on a hot day (the pool has recently closed for the season, and will re-open over Memorial Day weekend). The hotel indeed boasts an iconic location in the heart of Center City, with so many dining and shopping choices within easy walking distance, along with many major attractions. I apologize that the valet parking service was slow during your visit; the hotel neither owns nor operates the private parking garage adjacent to our entrance, but we certainly recognize that when poor service occurs there, it reflects upon the hotel. Regarding breakfast, our In-Room Dining menu offers a more robust selection of food choices than does Artbar, so perhaps Room Service is an option for your next stay. I look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit the City of Brotherly Love! -Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

This is a centrally located hotel with contemporary decor. The front desk staff are very nice, the room was roomy, comfortable and clean. The bar, just off the lobby, acts as the breakfast area in the morning and is fairly sterile, noisy, with a lot of hard surfaces. No fabric or carpeting so sound reverberates. There isn't an actual kitchen so breakfast food prep is on display with loaves of bread and packaging material stacked in view. Not appealing, but the breakfast food tasted fine and was modestly priced. Easy 5 minute walk to Rittenhouse Square restaurants. The Phlash shuttle stop, which loops around all Philly's major attractions, is less than 2 blocks away. Very convenient.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MFranklin2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us recently at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown Rittenhouse Square, and for providing detailed feedback about your experience as our guest. We've recently completed an extensive property renovation, so our guestrooms and public space boast a modern look and vibe, and feature plush new bedding and furnishings. We are ideally located in the heart of Center City Philly as you've noted, so there is an amazing array of restaurants, shops, and attractions within steps of our location. Regarding breakfast options, our In-Room Dining menu offers a more expansive menu than Artbar, and our website features a few packages that include breakfast in order to add value to your stay. I certainly look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit Philadelphia! -Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This was my fifth trip to the Sonesta in 2017. Just as all the others, the stay went off without a hitch. The front desk staff is amazing as well as the folks that are stationed near the bell desk. Greeted very warmly upon my return. Rooms are quiet and the beds and pillows are very comfortable. If are staying in Philadelphia and want to be close to shopping and restaurants then this is the perfect hotel. If you are an Elite member of the Sonesta Travel Pass program you will have access to an outstanding concierge lounge for breakfast or some great offerings at dinner. The staff in the lounge was beyond helpful. Only visited the lounge once on my last visit, but the service was even better than my last stay. The City View rooms do offer nice views, but a bit smaller than the other rooms. But if you want to see Philadelphia from the privacy of your room, then these make for a great choice. Looking forward to my next stay. Trying to swap with another person I work with to travel back to the Sonesta in November.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Chris, thank you for your loyalty to our team at Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square! We appreciate our return guests, and as you've suggested, the Sonesta Travel Pass program provides strong benefits to frequent guests, including room upgrades, faster high-speed Internet service, and free travel possible at any of our 56 U.S. locations. I'm glad that you've experienced continuous service improvement during your visits; we strive to be friendly and helpful all the time but recent trainings have focused upon taking our service delivery to another level. On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to your next visit to Philly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

My daughter and I traveled to Philadelphia for an event, and we decided to add an extra night so we'd have time to relax and enjoy ourselves. We chose the Sonesta primarily for its location and what seemed like a reasonable price for its location, and were entirely satisfied on both counts. As many people have mentioned, it is right downtown, just a block or two from Rittenhouse Square, and we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go, including from Suburban Station when we arrived (we took the train from the airport - very simple). Our room was spacious and clean, and the beds really were exceptionally comfortable. Staff was uniformly pleasant and helpful. Only two cons: we ate breakfast in the Art Bar Sunday morning, and while the food was good, the service was extremely slow, which was a problem as we had to leave to catch a plane. Also, our room had a tub/shower combination, and the bottom of the tub was slick as glass when it was wet, with not even a single grab bar. Even for an able-bodied person, it felt precarious. These two things aside, we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spidersilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us recently at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown Rittenhouse Square, and for sharing your feedback about your visit! I'm glad that you enjoyed the hotel's ideal City Center location, within easy walking distance from both Suburban Station (SEPTA regional trains) as well as 30th Street Station (Amtrak), and of course steps from an amazing array of shops, restaurants, and attractions, including the famed Rittenhouse neighborhood. It's great to read that our team provided friendly, helpful service as well. I apologize that service in Artbar the morning of your departure was slow; I will be sharing your comment with our food and beverage management team. It certainly is unusual for one of our tubs to be so slippery; I hope you reported this issue so that we can take preventative actions to prevent anyone from falling in that guestroom tub. We appreciate your feedback, and we look forward to hosting you the next time you visit Philly! -Jordan C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,489 reviews
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,346 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown

Address: 1800 Market St, Philadelphia, PA 19103-3725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#26 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $208 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 439
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Best of Philly during your stay at our convenient and newly refreshed hotel. The only hotel located on Market Street west of City Hall we are surrounded by Philadelphia's most prominent businesses, hospitals, universities and government offices. The hotel is located just blocks from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, Amtrak's 30th Street Station and Philadelphia's historic sites and attractions. The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Liberty Bell, National Constitution Center, Independence Hall & Philadelphia Zoo are just a few of the Philadelphia attractions to experience during your getaway. Walk to Center City businesses, fine dining, upscale shopping, nightlife, museums, Rittenhouse Square. Experience professional sports and concerts at the nearby stadiums. Relax at our seasonal outdoor rooftop pool with views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing