We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Scientific adventures await.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Franklin Institute

The Franklin Institute
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Philadelphia CityPass
Ranked #16 of 431 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Founded in honor of America’s first scientist, Benjamin Franklin, The Franklin Institute is one of America’s oldest and premier centers of science education. The museum is known for blockbuster exhibits, a bevy of interactive ongoing exhibitions, and one-of-a-kind theatrical experiences. Today, the Institute continues its dedication to public education and creating a passion for science by offering new and exciting access to science and technology in ways that would dazzle and delight its namesake.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Westampton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Scientific adventures await.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Special exhibits year round. Permanant exhibits like the walk-through Beating Heart.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,204
    546
    220
    96
    59
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I liked the oval theater that feaures movies that has to do with the earth.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I liked the oval theater that features movies that has to do with the earth.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinosaurs Exhibit - incredible!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Just awesome! Lots of fossils of massive proportion - weighing tons! I feel lucky to have been able to see them before the exhibit leaves on April. I am able to understand their existence millions of years before my time. Honestly, I'm glad they are extinct, or I would never have had a chance of survival. It took me about an hour to see this exhibit - worth my time. No photography, though, but there are photographers who will take your photos for extra dollars. And both the IMAX and the 3-D theaters show dinosaur movies, also for additional cost.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank BMGPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cool Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Lots of neat stuff to do and see, great for adults and children alike.

Helpful?
Thank Meg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lots of hand on learning for kids big and small!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We have two kinesthetic boys (5 and 8) who love moving and touching and playing with everything. This was a great outing for us. We went whole hog and did the special dinosaur exhibit and and imax film about dinosaurs. The kids had a blast. We found it was good to break up the day by looking at things and then sitting for the imax movie, then seeing more exhibits, then seeing a short film in the planeterium. It was expensive, but for what we got, it was well worth it. I do think that 5 is about the youngest I would take a kid there as I'm not sure how much they get out of the museum if they are younger than that. And I would go for the day. Don't try to jam in another Philadelphia site. You'll miss out on the myriad of things the museum has to offer.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank schussles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Franklin Institute also viewed

 

Been to The Franklin Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing